We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop for dinner after long drive back from Hana”
Review of Paia Fish Market

Paia Fish Market
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stop for dinner after long drive back from Hana”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had planned the day to drive to Hana early, make lots of stops and hikes, and make it back to Paia for dinner at the Fish Market. We knew it was highly rated but didn't carefully read the reviews. We were surprised when we walked in to see if was an "order, pick up, and grab a table" restaurant. My wife had fried Mahi Mahi and chips, and I had tuna sashimi. Mine was average but a good size portion for the money. My wife enjoyed hers, I tried both her fish and chips and both were very good. So was the coleslaw. The atmosphere is unique, small, crowded, you sit at basically indoor picnic table with a group of strangers. I like that, some don't. It was full so the wait was like a half hour to get served.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KAR1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,165
    576
    125
    32
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great into to Maui”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Just 15 minutes from the airport in Maui is the town of Pai'a. Corner of Hana High Way and Baldwin (center of town). Crowded, family style tables. Always a good sign. Get the Ono Burger. You will know you have arrived in Maui. Aloha.oi

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_W_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Pa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“always amazing”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Been there three times, last in Jan of 2014 - you have to get the opah sandwich. We've also had the ono, mahi, and opakapaka but the opah is the best. Soups are excellent as well. They do serve alcohol. Great atmosphere! They have a couple large tables with bench seating so you often sit with and meet other guests. Always fun.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Puernux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great Fish Tacos”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Went there for lunch ,must say very happy. The fish tacos were excellent, they came with fries and ordered cole slaw with it. Every thing was fresh! Felt very satisfied after lunch! ( which to me is very important) Would recommend to friends!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SteveLalaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Average Town, USA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Food and Great Service”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is a great restaurant. The wife and I will definitely return when we visit Maui. The food was excellent, and the atmosphere was just our style.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paia Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Paia Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing