We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh top quality seafood - hamburger joint atmosphere”
Review of Paia Fish Market

Paia Fish Market
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fresh top quality seafood - hamburger joint atmosphere”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We went there for supper last October. The selection is good, the over the counter service is efficient and courteous and the portions are very generous.
The seared tuna was done to perfection and so was the salmon that my wife ordered.
The place is catering to the local crowd and fits well a more “bohemian lifestyle”.
It is probably the best place in Maui to have an excellent “top chef quality” seafood meal (without having to mortgage your home).
Family and friends followed our path to this place and were equally delighted. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,156
    570
    123
    31
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
calgary, ab
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oh hello there best fish and chips EVER”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This place was amazing! Great fish and chips. BUSY BUSY BUSY. You'll stand in line for 20 minutes to order, but the food comes up fast. Portions are huge, but you won't want to waste that delicious fish. My sister does not eat seafood. But, she had a taste of mahi mahi and chips - she LOVED it.

Now for the bad: We were charged a gratuity on the bill, which might be standard or maybe it was because there was 6 of us... wish I would have known before I put a tip in the tip jar. The grat fee was 15% or 18% (i can't remember) which I felt was extreme since you pick up the food at the window yourself. You're not actually waited on. I work in the service industry, as does my husband and we were a little put off by it.

The cooks dropped my sister's chicken burger patty on the floor - she saw this happen. Two of the cooks picked it up and then they moved to the side where she couldn't see them, and voila she had a burger less than 2 minutes later. She didn't eat it, but, she was forced to try the mahi mahi (off my plate) and loved it. So, it was a win in the end! Despite these things, we would go back! Again and again... So, that says something! It was so good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mandysmear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our timing was perfect - we grabbed a table as a group was leaving and after scanning the poster for endemic fish, promptly sidelled up to the counter to get our orders in. It was like a busy day at a hot dog stand! My generous helping of beautifully grilled fresh opa arrived while we met another group of travellers settling at our table. We always ate well in Maui, but this was probably our best meal in a completely unexpected and unpretentious setting! The prices were reasonable and the company was terrific. Plan your arrival carefully though, it gets very busy and the lines get long!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieAntonenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
247 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“After 3 trips to Maui we finally ate here”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Not bad BUT not as great as everyone says.
You place order at counter then try to find seating. I'd day grilled fish was better that fried fish and chips. Prices are decent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AKtravelers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
139 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“went more than once”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My favorite was the ahi sandwich, blackened with wasabi butter. so good! Worth the wait in line! Community tables are fun too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank peachesrsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paia Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Paia Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing