We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food for the price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moana Bakery & Cafe - CLOSED

Moana Bakery & Cafe
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway
Transit: Bus - 35 - Haiku Islander. Get off in Paia and walk up Baldwin Avenue.
Seaside, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food for the price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I loved Moana Cafe! The food is excellent! This place is good for a romantic date night. Beautiful, large photos of the island decorating the walls. Excellent wine and beverage selection. Fresh pastries to choose from. I highly recommend eating here!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    33
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were in Paia between Xmas and New Years. We wanted a nice sit down dinner for 6. The Paia Fish Market and Flatbread were jammed and incredibly noisy. We just happened upon Moana. It had a great ambience and a good local musician. Most importantly--The food was outstanding from start to finish. Our group had a variety of soups, salads, appetizers, main courses, and desserts. It was the nicest dinner we have had in some time, not just in Hawaii, but anywhere. The soups were to die for.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delighful surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

For sure, one of our best meals on Maui, was lovely. The menu is varied and designed to enable tasting several dishes. We took advantage and ended up enjoying several smaller courses including savory butterfish and Korean style osso bucco. Yum. We arrived just prior to end of happy hour and enjoyed discounted drinks along with our meal. Highly recommend this little gem; unpretentious atmosphere yet sophisticated food at reasonable prices.
Added bonus was live music; one man and his ukelele. Lovely voice and inspired cover of "Let It Loose". Wonderful evening all around.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank twopals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quinoa salad...Sooo Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We visited this restaurant this morning. My husband had a Banana Mac Pastry which he thought should be a little flakier, however I had the Quinoa Salad which was delicious. The presentation was grand. I had to take a picture it was so beautifully presented. It had a scoop of delicious quinoa surrounded by very fresh greens, carrots, cucumbers, and tomatoes. On top of the quinoa was a piece of star fruit and a small piece of melon carved in the shape of a butterfly on top of it. It looked too good to eat but I could not resist.

I looked at the other plates of breakfast food that were being served at nearby tables and all were presented very nicely.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OCTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stopped here after getting up @ 3:30am to watch the sunrise from the top of the crater. Cold, tired and weary we stumbled upon the town of Paia and this great gem, Moana Bakery & Cafe. Breakfast was outstanding.!! Our group had the works...pancakes, french toast and omelets. All were excellent. The coffee and juices were also great. Our service was friendly and fast.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank payitfwd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moana Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing