We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”
Review of Moana Bakery & Cafe - CLOSED

Moana Bakery & Cafe
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway
Transit: Bus - 35 - Haiku Islander. Get off in Paia and walk up Baldwin Avenue.
2-2th-dox
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

It eas a reasonable priced exceelent meal! The ambience is modern and upscale. A mix of locals and tourist enjoying the tasty food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2-2th-dox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    33
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not as good as I thought from the reviews”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I read that this was one of the best bakeries on the island. To be fair we got there late and got cinnamon rolls baked many hours earlier. They only had a few choices. It was good but not great. I would try it again given the great reviews. The town is great don't miss strolling the streets in the evening after the boarders are out of the water and a part of the activity!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LenexaTraveler0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, TN
Level Contributor
181 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“good pastries”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stopped here to pick up some pastries before our trip to Hana. We tried muffins, sticky bun, strawberry/likoli cheese pastry. The last one was to die for. We got 1, tried it, then returned and bought 2 more.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twinkles200000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Forget the obvious, head straight to Moana”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was our favorite restaurant on Maui, (and Oahu for that matter.) The restaurant plays great vintage music in a comfortable restaurant in downtown Paia. Yulie, the owner, assisted us with menu choices and took a very personal interest in making sure we tried local favorites and their award winning mai-tai. (not kidding and it was perfect) We had dinner there once and breakfast twice. DO NOT miss the sticky bun with cream cheese frosting and macadamia nuts. Great coffee! Take home some pastries for breakfast if you can't make it back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Gem in Paia!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

After renting a small house in Paia for a few days we happened upon Moana's and ended up going back for 3 visits! The food is fresh, creative and sourced locally as much as possible. Tie that in with a great bartender and wait staff and we were sold!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BFMCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moana Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing