We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Place To Eat In Paia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe des Amis

Cafe des Amis
Ranked #6 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Mediterranean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
1 review
“The Best Place To Eat In Paia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We always visit this restaurant when we are on Maui. The food is so good, I just love the organic chicken curry served with mango chutney and rice, and for dessert a chocolate crepe. All the food is home made, you can tell. The service is relaxed but friendly and the courtyard setting is the perfect place to people watch and soak up the amazing atmosphere of Paia.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JOHN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    177
    27
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fresh and fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Curried shrimp or chicken or beef or vegetarianor fish... if you enjoy these dishes over rice with chutney and fresh tomato salsa, this restaurant is worthy of a vsit. Decor is casual but the attention to the food is not. Finish off your meal with a crepe made from lime and cane sugar, strawberries and cream or bananas and chocolate. Service is good and friendly.
The other food on the menu looks delicious - mediterranean influenced salads and platters for appetizers or a lunch meal - but I have not been able to get beyond my above listed favourites.
Located near Baldwin Beach where you can watch wind-surfing, Paia is a town that takes you back to a very laid back Maui. The road up country continues from Paia so a visit to the restaurant can be a destination or a continuation of other activities

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Halekulani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Connecticut
1 review
“Great service, even better food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

I had a lovely evening at the cafe. Delicious food!!! I loved the happy hour prices. And the waitstaff was really friendly. I would love to go back again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jennifer f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Whatever corner of Maui you're in....end up here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

After living on Maui for 3 years and returning time and again to Cafe Des Amis for breakfast lunch and dinner I am finally getting around to writing a much deserved review. Cafe des Amis is a place that gets it right. There are few of these on Maui. Being from Seattle where food snobbery abounds I found this place unpretentious and yet originally delicious.
First, the food. The crepes are hands down the best I've had. The crepe itself is the perfect consistency and not rubbery and thick like other places I've tried. The fillings such as spinach feta and the lentil are amazing. Complex flavors and the right apportionment of ingredients lend to a great taste. I think it's genius that all savory crepes come with a salad. The Kula greens and homemade vinaigrette are a great pairing for the crepes. The platters, both mediterranean and meat, are a meal in themselves and are consistently fresh and yummy. I love the ratatouille and hummus!!!
I've had every curry and though each is unique they are all superb. The beef in the beef curry is obviously slow cooked and can be pulled apart with a spoon. I love mixing the vegetable curry and chicken curry (1/2 & 1/2) so I don't have to choose. Don't forget the spicy chutney!!!! The portions of food are large but I never leave feeling like ive had a gut bomb. The ingredients are fresh and many are local and/or organic.
Finally, for the coffee. I drink all kinds, but the coffee here (lavazza) is hands down the best I've had on the island. Great cappuccinos. My husband keeps it simple with the drip (no cream) and loves it.
Ambiance and Service
If only all restaurants had outdoor seating......Sitting at this sweet cafe out in the courtyard with umbrellas, teak tables and Balinese styling can make time pass too quickly. I've spent many an afternoon on the bench table chatting away, drinking sangria and before I know it hours have passed. It's so relaxing and a great vibe. The inside is fun too, especially when it's raining and the place is crowded. It feels like a quaint cafe on the Mediterranean where all the locals hang out and chat about their adventures.
The servers and cooks are awesome. There are several who have been there for a long time and are always friendly and fun. They all appear to be friends with each other which keeps the vibe really light. I'd often observe them sharing responsibilities and being helpful to not only guests but each other, which seems rare for restaurants.
Overall, this is a great spot that I wish someone would emulate where I live now. It's got all the essentials of a great place to eat and relax. It's definitely a must-do if you're on Maui.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EndlessSumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yummy crepes and fresh salads, sweet non-commercial atmosphere. Loved by locals and tourists.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

I can't pass through Paia without stopping for one of their curried veggie or Brie and apply crepes. Great place for relaxing, meeting a friend and people watching. Walking distance to beach.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Swanji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe des Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing