We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique spot”

Charley's Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Luna Place
Description: Paia maintains its small-town, old Hawaii charm, and is now a bustling destination with restaurants, bars, shopping, coffee and gelato. At Charley’s you never know who might be sitting next to you. It’s long been a favorite hang-out for surfers, adventurers, writers, hippies, rock stars, artists, business leaders, celebrities, and all types, looking to get away and find the ultimate in Maui hospitality.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Unique spot”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

As with everything in this quaint little town, Charleys is unique. Service and food were very good. Great place to visit while in this area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan H, Owner at Charley's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks! Glad to know you found us just as unique as Paia itself. Hope you get a chance to visit again soon! - Jonathan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    279
    119
    42
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun place”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just down the alley from Charley's so we ate there several times. Service for dinner was pretty slow. The waitress had a tough time multitasking, but breakfast was delicious and the service was good. It's a cute place with a fun vibe. Good bar/tavern style food.

Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan H, Owner at Charley's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Teresa,

Thanks for your review. I'm happy to hear you found our breakfast delicious and appreciated our fun, lively atmosphere. We try to make Charley's just as fun and special as Paia itself. I appreciate your feedback about our server, and will pass it along to our staff so that we can improve going forward.

Thanks,
Jonathan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We loved this quaint place, had live entertainment, and good food. We loved the pizza, it was really good... and loved the fact that they had my cherry vodka... hard to find in Maui, lol.. Saloon style place with updated flair, would certainly love to go back!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kgirlee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan H, Owner at Charley's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks! We want all our guests to have as much fun as you. Next time you're in the mood for some cherry vodka, be sure to stop by!

Take care,
Jonathan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Picked up breakfast here at the start of our road to Hana excursion. My first moco loco was had here and it was very hearty and a great start to a long day of exploring.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank crystalene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan H, Owner at Charley's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks! I'm happy to hear you found our breakfast hearty and tasty. How was your excursion to Hana? I hope you had a wonderful time, and I look forward to your next visit.

p.s. its actually a Loco Moco(not Moco Loco) and is a favorite among locals.

Take care,
Jonathan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Food, Good Service”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Excellent food and a great selection to choose from. While on vacation in Maui I was told of a great eatery called Charley's Restaurant so we decided we should go down there for lunch the next day. A few minutes after we arrived we were greeted and shown to our table. The server wasn't extremely delightful, however, she was polite. The atmosphere was very engaging and the enormous guitar was very interesting to check out after the meal. Shortly after ordering, we were given our meals. Everyone enjoyed their food very much and we were pleased with the price. To summarize: the food was great, the service was okay, the atmosphere was intriguing and you may even see Willie Nelson as this is one of his favorite restaurants.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan H, Owner at Charley's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks for visiting us during your vacation in Maui. I'm happy to hear everyone enjoyed their meal. We know many of our guests are vacationing, so we try to offer our guests a fun and memorable dining experience. I appreciate your feedback about our service and will use it to improve going forward. I hope you had a fantastic time in Maui and get the chance to visit again soon.

Best,
Jonathan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charley's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Charley's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing