We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for a neighborhood bar in a cool town?”

Charley's Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Luna Place
Description: Paia maintains its small-town, old Hawaii charm, and is now a bustling destination with restaurants, bars, shopping, coffee and gelato. At Charley’s you never know who might be sitting next to you. It’s long been a favorite hang-out for surfers, adventurers, writers, hippies, rock stars, artists, business leaders, celebrities, and all types, looking to get away and find the ultimate in Maui hospitality.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Looking for a neighborhood bar in a cool town?”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This seemed like the place to find locals and visitors alike! It felt just like our local neighborhood bar except it is in paradise. They have a great brunch with HUGE pancakes. The rest of the menu was regular bar food but is still a great place to stop on your way in or our of Hana.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Taking_a_Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    279
    119
    42
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Hitting a better stride in their new breakfast menu”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Back with the same friend I last dined with for breakfast in October 2011.

Superbowl Sunday, about 930am. With the reduced number of tables the new owners choose to have, we had to head to the area just before the stage in the bar area. Benefit - much cooler away from the kitchen and the rare kona (hot & southerly) winds.
Excellent server, pleasant, good presence.
I had the omelet with spinach, feta, tomatoes and another veggie which slips my mind. Friend had the steak with eggs. She ordered it rare and it was quite that. In the past, she said that the steak came medium-well when she ordered it medium. So this time she thought rare would bring her a medium cooked. This chef got it right. Yet it was a bit too cool for her. Both come with choice a of breads as well as potatoes or sliced tomatoes.
The menus are now laminated, still one page. Which is such a big change from the old illustrated folder menus. (Photo provided of it.) The illustrations work well for international (Japanese, etc.) visitors.
Seems to be back to their old stride of service and quality foods.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Makalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruitland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Visited before reading the reviews - Interesting”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We drove from Kihei as Charley's was listed on other websites as the top breakfast plalce on Maui. It was too windy to sit outside at Kihei Cafe, so we thought we would check it out. It was interestilng to read others' reviews after we ate there. Seems like the uninitiated like us loved the place while the more experitenced are dissing the changes. Our experience was good overall. The were not overly busy on a Tuesday morning so it was puzzling why the service was slow. But, the Eggs Benedict was good with a lemony sauce that I think was made from scratch. My wife enjoyed her one large blueberry pancake. The taste she gave me was quite good. So, will we go back? Possibly, if we are over that direction. But, if not, Kihei Cafe serves a great breakfast for a little less money.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrettyGoodGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you love breakfest, it's worth the drive”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Great little town, lots to see and if you love breakfest, this is the place to go. Portions are outstanding and the service was great. Pancakes and omelets are huge. You might see Willie N...

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDSquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Willy was not there.”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Cool spot- but tired. Food very hit or miss. Very middle America style. Huge breakfasts for the 2500+ Calorie crowd.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank hohumMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charley's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Charley's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing