We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience with Kyle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zack Howard Surf

Zack Howard Surf
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience with Kyle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

You know a lesson is going to be legit when the lesson is at a no-name beach with only instructors around. My wife and I tried surfing for the first time with one of Zack's instructors, Kyle. He was very laid back, funny, and supportive. We both were able to stand within the first 3 waves. He did not over complicate things. A very quick and easy beach lesson, then we paddled out to the waves. While we were waiting for waves, Kyle would tell stories about his experiences and other interesting stories about Hawaii and Maui. We had a great time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank skibanana6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Patient, laid back and encouraging”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our 9 yr old girls really wanted to try surfing during our trip to Maui. Me - not so much. I was pretty sure I wouldn't be able to do it and that I would look ridiculous trying. Kyle was patient, encouraging and lots of fun. He doesn't overwhelm you with technical details, rules, etc. Just the basics and you are out and ready to go. We all had an amazing time - easily one of our favorite activities. Kyle was knowledgeable, safe and helpful. The only unfortunate part was that we did it toward the end of our trip. We all would have liked to do a second lesson with Kyle!
PS - we were all able to get up and going - very exciting!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kmjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Made Surfing Easy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband, son and I have all been raised in a beach community, however we have never been able to successfully grasp the art of surfing until our recent trip to Maui. We are thrilled to have been able to receive private lessons with Zack Howard. After a few simple instructions we were in the water and I cannot believe how fast we were all able to stand and surf.

Zack is a wonderful instructor, very professional and extremely encouraging. This was our first trip to Maui and we had an amazing time, but thanks to Zack, he made it very memorable. Mahalo-Fred and Christina Boyd, Virginia Beach, VA

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christinadrummboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was our first trip to Maui and our #1 priority was to surf. We did our research and also through word of mouth we picked Zack Howard. We originally booked through the concierge, but you can call him directly and book it. Zack teaches at multiple locations around Maui, including Lahaina. Our daughters (Ages 8 and 5) loved it!! We enjoyed the one on one instruction from Zack’s other instructors Nick and Lou. All four of us got up within the first 15 minutes. The waves were a little bigger on the first day, so Nick surfed with our youngest. However, the second day we went out she road on her own board. We were very proud parents seeing our girls surf and do it so well! We ended up going with Zack, Nick and Lou three times during our two week trip. Highly recommended!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloydblfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Success!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our family had a great time learning to surf. My husband and 3 older children (ages 19, 17, and 14) had Zack to themselves for their lesson (I noticed many of the other surf schools had much larger groups). He didn't waste a lot of time on the beach before getting everyone in the water. Everyone was able to stand up and surf on their first wave!!! Zack did a great job giving everyone pointers and letting them know when a good wave was coming. They all had huge smiles on their faces when their lesson was done. The beach was even nice and gave our 4 year old a nice area to play while I took pictures and everyone else had their lesson.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank thehoward6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zack Howard Surf also viewed

 

Been to Zack Howard Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing