We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three hits in a row”
Review of Paia Contemporary Gallery - CLOSED

Paia Contemporary Gallery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With a distinct focus within the abstract art world, Paia Contemporary Gallery features paintings, etchings, & sculptures by a core group of national and international talents.For a truly unique gallery experience visit our restored space in Paia, Maui Hawaii & for quarterly exhibit updates sign-in our contact page.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We vacationed in Maui in February 2013 when we first came across PCG while visiting Paia. We saw two lovely pieces but were a little hesitant to purchase them given they would need to be shipped thousands of miles to New Jersey (the pieces were very large too -- one being a tetraptych measuring 48" x 79"). However it soon became clear that the gallery's owner, Alexandro Goya, was not only a master of the artists he represents but also excellent in practical aspects of moving art from Maui to anywhere in the world. Our two purchases arrived about two weeks after we left the gallery, expertly crated and carefull packed with polystyrene foam board and bubble wrap. Also the entire experience was a joy. Alejandro is very low key yet enthusiastic.

Just a few weeks ago we purchased a third piece without seeing it in person. We were on the PCG mailing list and were alerted to a show highlighting the worrks of two artists -- one of whom was the artists who created our first two purchases. We never would have considered doing this but for the trust we have in Alejandro -- plus the many photos and videos he provided us.

Overall a class AAA gallery well worth a visit for those with an interest in contemporary art.

Thank GaryGreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 27 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

I bought a Painting from this Gallery and had it ship to Switzerland.

Everything worked out perfectly.

Thank danig20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

i'm a collector in California and i discovered this gallery while browsing online. I look at a lot of art. i could tell the pieces were incredible. i wanted an original piece, but there were primarily prints available. i was fortunate enough to inquire just while Alejandro Goya was finishing up a new piece (a triptych), that I could tell from the way he spoke about it, was a major accomplishment. it was a pleasurable experience to interact like that, strike a deal, and have the shipping done carefree. sure enough, when the pieces arrived, they were twice as nice!

Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

On our first visit to Paia, Maui we stumbled upon the contemporary art gallery. The owner, Alejandro was happy to tell us about the artists and their pieces. The art was beautiful and much more interesting than the kitsch pieces we'd seen in other towns.

The owner was also an artist. We found him to be interesting and helpful. He was an Argentinean who made Maui his home. Alejandro was happy to make recommendations on maui. He even pulled up a google map to show us the way!

A Paia must!

Thank Hurricanecoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This gallery represents some very good contemporary artist. I wish the artist's names were evident as well as the titles and prices of the pieces. There were several we were very interested in but but was difficult to get past the owner or staff person in the gallery that afternoon.

Thank seetheworld2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlejandroG G, Owner at Paia Contemporary Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear seetheworld2525,

Thank you so much for leaving us your valuable review on our TripAdvisor!

It means a lot to us and we really appreciate you taking the time to do so. It also makes me deeply happy that you think we represent very good contemporary artists and we had on display several pieces in which you were very interested in.

In response to your other feedback "I wish the artist's names were evident as well as the titles and prices of the pieces," I would like to respond the following in hopes to bring some light and clarity about this concern of yours.

When we first opened Paia Contemporary Gallery 6 years ago, we used to post large tags on the walls with the artist name, title, dimension, year & price. After a 3 paintings were stolen by some people from the street, might have been homeless that frequently walk into the gallery, we unanimously decided that we needed to remove the prices of the walls to prevent this from happening again. Thereafter no art was ever stolen again.

The second positive from discontinuing the large wall tags/stickers from our beautiful plastered walls, was that our smooth walls stopped getting sticker marks/glue that we couldn't remove. The solution was to purchase a P-Touch machine that prints less adhesive number tags that you probably saw next to the artwork on the walls and pedestals. These number tags refer to a complete price list that it is always available to our visitors and collectors that we openly share. Additionally, we have portfolio books on all benches [3] and table [1] that provides a full description of our artists, CV & images of their work page by page.

In regards to your second comment “but was difficult to get past the owner or staff person in the gallery that afternoon,” myself and coworkers are highly trained and completely aware about giving space without any kind of pressure. We encourage people to STOP, CONNECT & ENJOY THE CONNECTION as they please. We are here to make people happy by helping them find the right piece/s for them. We are friendly, enthusiastic and always try to ask the right questions to be able to help in the best possible way. It is a must for us to always remember to give enough space so art lovers have enough privacy to view and connect with the artwork at their own time.

Since I believe I haven't have the chance to meet you in person yet, I am very interested in continuing this conversation with you via TripAdvisor, email or phone. I hope we both have that second opportunity to connect so I may help you find the right piece for you without anybody standing in between yourself and the artwork that inspires you most.

Thanks again for your time and helping other travelers like yourself [and myself], find absolutely stunning artwork while traveling the world.

Respectfully,
Alejandro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paia Contemporary Gallery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing