We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in a two bedroom cottage...really liked it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Mama's Fish House
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed in a two bedroom house/cottage before 2009. The cottage was very roomy, had a nice size kitchen, a private yard, driveway to park in, and nice size living room. The house itself did not have a view, but was a very short walk to the ocean. We took some beautiful pictures here, but did not stay and play at this beach area....was a bit rocky if I remember correctly. We had a very nice stay at Mama's, and used the included kitchen utensils to cook wonderful breakfasts each morning before we headed to other area's of Maui for the day. This was a great, more roomy place to stay with a family, but if you want to be close to the action, you might not want to stay here, or realize you will have to drive to it. We stayed here until the dates opened up for another place we stayed in Lahaina. Also---just a tiip: we stopped at Costco and stocked up with food to cook at this house before we arrived.
Mama's Fish House restaurant is very charming, and I would recommend trying it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suntravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 207 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed in the two bedroom beach cottage and it was perfect for two couples. A nice porch and hammock were perfect for relaxing. The house comes with beach chairs and a cooler and you can walk right out to the beach from the cottage. Definitely the best accomodations we had while in Hawaii. The staff was very nice and accomodating, but don't expect room service or plan on seeing the staff during your stay. They are available if you need them, but they pretty much leave you alone unless you need something (which we liked!).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hwbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

After a long flight into Kahalui from Memphis, TN, we love that the last bit of energy we have can be spent picking up a few groceries in Kahalui before the short drive to Mama's. The staff is always welcoming and very helpful - we've never requested anything that was not provided with a smile. The rooms - we have stayed in two different rooms over the past 3 years - are cleaner than ANY hotel I have ever stayed in; the furnishings may be more "homey" than the Westin, but very comfortable. Husband looks forward to the homemade goodies that the cleaning staff leaves. The Inn offers the use of chairs and other items for the beach that is just a few steps away. The beach seems to always have people (all beaches are public in HI) but everyone is nice and polite - it is very quiet and protected so that even small children are able to walk into the water. The restaurant is, of course, absolutely great. Try the Pink Floyds!!!! We look forward to returning in Jan 2011!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadeInMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

My wife and I recently spent three nights in one of the Junior Luxury Suites at the Inn at Mama's Fish House.

As someone else said, there was a really nice welcome basket on check-in, filled with fresh local fruit, banana bread, and a small package of Kona coffee. This provided us with an absolutely wonderful breakfast the next morning. Unfortunately, they did not replace the fruit on the following days.

Given the relaxing location and the variety of amazing food at Mama's Fish house, with just a couple of pieces of inexpensive fruit, they could really have created a captive audience. One could really enjoy kicking back and relaxing there for several days without the need to go anywhere else. Unfortunately, without room service of any kind, and with a kitchenette that is little more than a cramped wet bar, you are basically forced to leave the room every day. We then found that once we had left and started exploring the island, time goes by pretty quickly, and we ended up canceling meals we had originally planned to have there.

There is a very beautiful beach near the "Beachfront Cottages", but its are not as private as one might think based on their web page. The beach is right next to the busy pathway to the restaurant, and is center stage for the view from Mama's Fish House. Hardly an ideal place to snorkel, at least for us, and as a restaurant patron, I'm rather glad my view of the ocean wasn't disrupted by a bunch of people from the cottages.

The food at Mama's Fish House was absolutely amazing and we whole heatedly recommend it as a "must-do" any time you find yourself on Maui without a bunch of children. However, Mama's Fish House and the Inn are run as separate businesses, and we found that charging the meals to our room and getting the discount they offer was a real hassle, and detracted from what was an otherwise nice experience.

In summary, the room was very beautiful and comfortable, it was very clean and relaxing, and despite the above complaints, my wife and I enjoyed ourselves immensely. The proximity to Mama's Fish House was really nice, but... the lack of amenities and service kept this from really being the "experience" we expected based on the room rate and the fame of Mama's Fish House. While we will definitely go back to the restaurant, we are not as likely to stay at the Inn, and we can't really recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MazXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We had a two bedroom oceanfront. Spacious, clean, nicely decorated. Would have preferred an exhause fan in the bathroom. Would have loved two bathrooms. Very comfortable beds. Nice lighting. Good fans and airconditioning. Washer and dryer for guest use with laundry suplies free on site. Wonderful balcony/lanai. Overlooked sandy beach through palm trees. Full kitchen. Don't miss eating at Mama's Fish House. Terrific meal. Mama's was voted number 2 restaurant on Maui, best fish and best Hawaiiana. Inn guests get a nice discount at dinner. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qtips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We were fortunate to be upgraded to a Luxury Junior Suite which was just amazing and we would gladly have paid for this room now that we know how great it is. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom amazing. Great shower and a beautiful bath. The private beach out the front of the restaurant was excellent for snorkelling. Had dinner at Mama's and would definately recommend this. It is expensive but well worth it. Paia is a groovy little town with lots of good restaurants and art galleries. Can't wait to come back and visit!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeywhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

We stayed at the Inn at Mama's on Feb 13th @ 14th 2010. The cottage was good. There is a queen bed, full bath, a kitchen/dinning/living room and a private patio.
It was very clean and has a full size fridge and kitchen.

At night the geckos love to hang out by the heat from the outside light so... When you're on your way back from your fabulous meal at Mama's Fish House (make reservations) remember to look up for the local geckos.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milehighclub-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
7.1 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,104 reviews
27.4 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
1.3 mi away
Nalu Kai Lodge
Nalu Kai Lodge
#3 of 6 in Paia
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
562 reviews
18 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,102 reviews
4.7 mi away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#2 of 2 in Makawao
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mama's Fish House

Address: 799 Poho Pl, Paia, Maui, HI 96779-9708
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Paia
Price Range: $310 - $964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn at Mama's Fish House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Called, "The Hawaii of your dreams!" By Sunset Magazine, the Inn at Mama's Fish House is just steps away from the ocean on a secluded white sand beach. Providing the same warmth and charm you'll find in our award-winning restaurant, each cottage embodies traditional elements of Polynesian decor, local wood working, spectacular flower arrangements, and beautiful artwork. The casual comfort of the Inn at Mama's Fish House exemplifies the Aloha spirit of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn at Mama's Fish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Mama`s Fish House Hotel Paia
The Inn At Mama's Fish House Paia, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing