We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise...100%”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Mama's Fish House
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I took 2 sisters to the Inn...just for 1 night...as a special treat and had asked for the very best they had to offer. We had the beach house ground floor . It was delightful, spacious, and had the BEST view of the sweet little beach, with shade nearby and heavenly palm trees...you gotta try it, for the utter relaxation of the place. In place was a hammock...and you fall into the restaurant nearby, which closes in good time so you will not be disturbed by its guests.
One niggle....I heard those above us on the upper floor getting up very very early, and it woke me up...but the rest of it, including a special greeting card for one sister which I had asked for when I had booked, and delicious fruit and banana bread and coffee left for us, all made the stay heavenly

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 205 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

We spend five nights at the Inn, and loved many things about it. First was the location -just down the street from Paia, one of the most fascinating places in the state! Second, the was suite itself, with everything we wanted at our finger tips. Third, the proximity to the Hana Highway saved us made that trek less arduous. We LOVED it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QuincyKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The one-bedroom cottage called "Manini" was very comfortable with all the amenities of a home, with a full kitchen and two private landscaped patios, including a barbeque. The cottage style was very traditional with the nostalgic charm of old Hawaii. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and their beach is one of the most picturesque settings on Maui. The ocean there has a natural break water, so the beach shore is calm and friendly for young children to play on.

We found this place to be absolutely beautiful... what really sets the Inn at Mama's Fish House above everywhere else, is their employees. They are ALL the nicest people that we have ever met and stayed with! Everyone there, from the office personnel to the service staff, was so friendly and helpful. They made us feel very welcome, just like family. Very sweet Aloha!

Mama's Fish House Restaurant is breathtakingly exquisite and the perfect place for special occasions or a first-class meal. The prices are higher than other restaurants in the area, but the food quality, the friendly service and the ambiance is the finest. Our dinner was the BEST meal that we have ever enjoyed on Maui. They also have two beautiful bar areas to enjoy, for that special tropical drink, or a local beer. Their signature Mai Tai is wonderful, and their Chocolate Martinis are to die for!

We loved this Inn, and we will certainly return again on our next visit to Maui!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TAE_Auburn_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

So many great aspects to staying at the Inn. The location is 10 minutes (most) from Kahilui (OGG) Airport on Maui. Although central to every direction you could want to go in Maui, you are in one of the most beautiful Hawaiian setting imaginable with a lovely protected beach in front of you. We were stunned when we turned the corner in the evening to find the restaurant (as always) very full and quite active. We could not hear any of it from our room. The rooms are tucked away just enough for you to enjoy the view, not hear or see the Fish House crowd and still enjoy a private beach setting. We have eaten at the Fish House on prior trips but this was our first experience staying at the Inn. Instead of staying in one place in Maui as we usually do we thought we would try several boutique hotels in more remote areas as we made our way around and through Maui. Walking around the beach steps from your door at Sunrise with your just brewed coffee or rocking in the hammock listening to the waves was perfect!

The staff were all attentive. All of the staff was kind, smiled and seemed to have the Aloha spirit. Ashley when we checked-in showed us around and took the time to answer questions and make suggestions for our first evening in Hawaii after 12 hours of travel. The room had lovely fruits on arrival and the inn uses local crafted soaps as a nice touch. The flower arrangements in the rooms, yes in the rooms, were phenomenal tropical pieces of artwork. Truly a lovely touch I have yet to encounter in any of the other hotels we traveled to in our 2 plus weeks. We did stay in some higher end spots ("Preferred Hotel and Leading Hotel") and never did we see flowers in our rooms - let alone like the ones here. So we were in a downstairs unit with a family above us with very rowdy children. The staff noticed the noise level from the screams and foot stomping and discreetly let the parents know. We did not ask - they just did this because it was the right thing to do!

No swimming pool, but the beach has a sand alcove great for smaller children. You are also 5 minute from the town of Paia with Mana Foods, Flatbreads Pizza and whatever else you might need. Yes, Paia has changed. There is even a Dakine (I believe one of two in the world) store for those of you in need of surf gear.

Staying at the Inn, you must of course eat at the Fish House. This dining experience was of course - as always - one of the best. Yes, pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank far_away_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My favorite restaurant on the Island is Mama's Fish House, so I took a leap of faith and selected one of the luxury suites available, which was named the "Opah". The room was very elegant with extremely high ceilings with beautiful floor to ceiling draperies. The moldings were elegant with extraordinary panels that were reminiscent of old Hawaii. The furnishings were of the best quality, as were all of the bath amenities. There was a nice mini bar and kitchenette set up.

The suite had an enclosed patio which was nice in the morning. The unit is about a two minute walk to the ocean. The service in the room was minimal, meaning, towels and bedding were not replaced, nor were the rugs vacuumed during my stay. Please note that once you find the unit (quite difficult at night), bring a flashlight as it is very hard to read the key pad that holds the key. Also, park in the assigned spot designated for the cottage.

The biggest surprise came when I tried to make a reservation for dinner. Guests do not seem to have a priority when it comes to seating times, however, there is a 15% discount for Inn guests. Even with the discount, I found the prices were really over the top. I have been a regular visitor to this restaurant for years, but this may be my last visit. The food is excellent, but when you see a 6 oz piece of fish starting at 50 dollars it does make me think twice about returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salli715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed here years ago on my honeymoon and always meant to write one here. We chose to stay here for a couple of days rather than spend the whole time in kaanapali and there were some advantages. First, we were close to dinner :). Second, better to go to and from Road to Hana which we did over two days. Third, we got see Paia and Makawao which are probably underrated. Makawao had some nice shopping which put me back a bit between galleries and pictures bought but we spent some decent money on the stores there. The Suite was nice. I liked having a fully enclosed patio. We had a junior suite I believe and thought it was very well done. I like this room more than the view we had at the Sheraton. The beach here isn't that great but the views from the beaches a mile away were very good. We actually stayed in June 2009 but that's not a choice. It was a nice alternative from the chain hotels.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank frostfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed in the Opah junior suite at Mama's as part of our honeymoon and loved every minute of it! It was our first time to Hawaii and Mama's more than surpassed all our expectations. The suite itself was beautiful - huge room with king sized bed, modern kitchen, lovely bathroom with amazing walk in shower, large tub and double sinks. The welcome pack with delicious banana bread and fresh fruit was very much appreciated. The room was spotless and the maid service very good - fresh flowers and several fluffy towels were left everyday.

The beach is small, but lovely to sit out on and relax. Although the fish restaurant is right behind the beach, we didn't find it noisy or intrusive in any way.

Paia is a great base if you're visiting Maui. There are lots of nice restaurants and interesting shops to browse around. We were busy every single day and Mama's was the perfect place to come back to and relax. We visited Wailea whilst we were on Maui and both agreed that we were glad we had opted for the quieter Paia and for Mama's inparticular.

We would recommend Mama's to anyone visiting Maui and would love to return one day!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouiseLeyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
1.3 mi away
Paia Inn
Paia Inn
#1 of 1 in Paia
757 reviews
27.4 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
18.2 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,073 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
533 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nalu Kai Lodge
Nalu Kai Lodge
#3 of 6 in Paia
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mama's Fish House

Address: 799 Poho Pl, Paia, Maui, HI 96779-9708
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Paia
Price Range: $311 - $964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn at Mama's Fish House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Called, "The Hawaii of your dreams!" By Sunset Magazine, the Inn at Mama's Fish House is just steps away from the ocean on a secluded white sand beach. Providing the same warmth and charm you'll find in our award-winning restaurant, each cottage embodies traditional elements of Polynesian decor, local wood working, spectacular flower arrangements, and beautiful artwork. The casual comfort of the Inn at Mama's Fish House exemplifies the Aloha spirit of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn at Mama's Fish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Mama`s Fish House Hotel Paia
The Inn At Mama's Fish House Paia, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing