We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful town, cute hotel”
Review of Paia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paia Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful town, cute hotel”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Amazing hotel of high standard in the beautiful, cosy hippy town close to the beach.
Wonderful experience although quite expensive for relatively small rooms and simple standards.
Great for a surfing or kite surfing holiday for younger people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toniboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    125
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
96
505
38
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We have waited years to stay at the Paia Inn. Had a garden room reserved, that got changed a couple times, they are undergoing a renovation and may be the reason. The greeting we got at the front desk was exceptional, we were shown to our one bedroom suite. Very nice accomodations, king bed, living room, dining room and a full kitchen with stainless steel appliances and granite countertop. The suite had two outdoor sitting areas, a little dark and closed in but very tropical. A short winding walk and there is a very nice each access, beach chairs and other water toys are available to use. This is a very nice stretch of beach, tons of turtles very close in. There are also lounge chairs on a grassy area for all guests to use. There is a very nice coffee area on the way to the beach, guests can pour a cup and choose a snack such as a biscotti to go with it. The Inn is in a great location, many restaurants close by, and a great coffee shop across the street (Anthony's). There are a few rough edges at this time, with the renovation going on, and some noise issues that they are working to minimize. This is a beautiful spot to spend some time, and all the staff we met were fantastic, knowledgeable and very helpful. If you want to visit Paia and take advantage of what this area has to offer this is a great place to stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank KBB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the Paia Inn for 2 nights in June. This was our second stay and we will definitely go back on our next trip to Maui. The hotel is a small, boutique hotel tucked right between the road and the beach. You would not expect to walk into Plumeria lined pathways to these nice, beachy bungalows. It is not fancy, but it is nice and they do lots of little extras for you like a coffee bar, beach towels, a beach bag for your use.
The suite was big, nice and clean. The only minus was that the safe was not secured to anything. We did not have any problems, but would have liked it if we had somewhere to lock our valuables.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleDtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a great place to stay while visiting Pa'ia. We dug the access to the beach. There are chairs, boogie boards, etc just waiting at the end of a short walk. We grabbed a pair of beach chairs and enjoyed the stars at night.

Our rooms were beyond clean and the amenities were exactly as you would expect from a boutique. Comfortable bed, great pressure in the shower and local lotions by the sink. Due to their popularity they are building on but this didn't affect us during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarliSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nor Cal
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Needed a place to stay for one night, on our way home from Lanai. What a great place, staff was very nice, hotel lobby is under some major renovations, can't wait to return and see what they have done. Rooms are clean, beach access is great! Center of town, Anthony's coffee is across the street, flatbread pizza in around the corner, recommend both! We will be back, next time for more than one night.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the street would be loud. FYI. Garden room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caseycami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just finished 1 week at the beach house with my wife,son,daughter and her husband and 19 month old baby.5 restaurants within blocks. We lived on the outdoor porch, big screen TV, view of the ocean! Had a locked enclosed yard with a gate that went directly to the great beach! The sand was great, the water great and it was not crowded! The staff did everything they could to help us, even finding a cooler for us to take on one of our trips for food for the baby. In the master bedroom I opened the sliding doors and closed the screen and listened to the surf all night! We had 5 adults and 1 baby. I would recommend it..new dishwasher, new washer and dryer,microware, 5 lcd TV's, air conditioners in every room..what do you need!

Room Tip: beach house is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mccleskd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

After spending a week in Oahu on business, I decided to spend a day / night in Maui before heading back to the Mainland. I had originally planned to stay at the Westin all the way on the other side of the island, but after some advice, decided I was better served to stay a bit closer to the activities I planned on getting into in Maui.

Paia is a interesting little town, mostly a pass through on the "Road to Hana", but after spending 36 hours here, I came to realize that this is a town with a strong community and a laid back vibe. Really great place to wander around and chill - good restaurants and beaches as well.

The Paia Inn is a small boutique hotel right on the Hana highway, my room was a garden suite and was well appointed and comfortable - not as big or lavish as you might expect from the price, but the communal vibe and laid back attitudes made up for it. I knew I was staying in the right place when I got a phone call from the front desk asking if everything was ok - I was running late because of flight delays out of Honolulu, the woman told me she would be there until 8pm and wanted to make sure I had the number of the night bellman so there would be no issue. It was a nice touch.

The location is great if you 1) want to be on the road to Hana, 2) close to the crater and 3) are looking for an "anti-touristy" laid back beach town vibe.

I loved it here and would stay again when I come back to Maui - weather was not to great while I was here, but I was still very comfortable at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
27.8 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
19.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
481 reviews
17.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,138 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
987 reviews
15.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paia Inn

Property: Paia Inn
Address: 93 Hana Hwy, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The postcard perfection of Maui’s North Shore (white sand beaches, raging waterfalls, stylish cafes, and world-class surfers) just got even better with the opening of the Paia Inn. This beach town boutique hotel seamlessly blends modern amenities with the historic character of its building. In a nod to the town’s plantation trade days, the building’s exterior has retained its charm with tin rooftops and rustic hues; yet, the interior mixes contemporary island furnishings with the chic lushness of the W Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Paia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paia Hotel Paia
Paia Inn Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing