We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paia Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paia Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just finished 1 week at the beach house with my wife,son,daughter and her husband and 19 month old baby.5 restaurants within blocks. We lived on the outdoor porch, big screen TV, view of the ocean! Had a locked enclosed yard with a gate that went directly to the great beach! The sand was great, the water great and it was not crowded! The staff did everything they could to help us, even finding a cooler for us to take on one of our trips for food for the baby. In the master bedroom I opened the sliding doors and closed the screen and listened to the surf all night! We had 5 adults and 1 baby. I would recommend it..new dishwasher, new washer and dryer,microware, 5 lcd TV's, air conditioners in every room..what do you need!

Room Tip: beach house is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mccleskd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    116
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
87
469
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

After spending a week in Oahu on business, I decided to spend a day / night in Maui before heading back to the Mainland. I had originally planned to stay at the Westin all the way on the other side of the island, but after some advice, decided I was better served to stay a bit closer to the activities I planned on getting into in Maui.

Paia is a interesting little town, mostly a pass through on the "Road to Hana", but after spending 36 hours here, I came to realize that this is a town with a strong community and a laid back vibe. Really great place to wander around and chill - good restaurants and beaches as well.

The Paia Inn is a small boutique hotel right on the Hana highway, my room was a garden suite and was well appointed and comfortable - not as big or lavish as you might expect from the price, but the communal vibe and laid back attitudes made up for it. I knew I was staying in the right place when I got a phone call from the front desk asking if everything was ok - I was running late because of flight delays out of Honolulu, the woman told me she would be there until 8pm and wanted to make sure I had the number of the night bellman so there would be no issue. It was a nice touch.

The location is great if you 1) want to be on the road to Hana, 2) close to the crater and 3) are looking for an "anti-touristy" laid back beach town vibe.

I loved it here and would stay again when I come back to Maui - weather was not to great while I was here, but I was still very comfortable at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here for the first part of my honeymoon in April 2013. The hotel is located in Paia on the north shore of the island, and is surrounded by several outstanding shops and restaurants. Additionally, it's close to the airport and town. If you happen to book a suite with a kitchen, you make a quick trip to Walmart and stock up on some basics. It's also a great starting point if you want to explore the Hana Hwy.

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful when it came to attractions on the island and navigation. The hotel decor is new and contemporary but not stale or stuffy. The room amenities made it a very comfortable stay, and probably much different than one you'd receive at a big crowded resort. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almonte, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

A great jumping off point for the Road to Hana or the sunrise bike tour. This little Inn is detail oriented, from the finishing touches in the rooms to the hand written note welcoming you to Paia. We loved this place and wish we could have enjoyed more of its charms. The staff were amazing and incredibly helpful and thoughtful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you have never been to Paia, I highly recommend it as an alternative to the large hotels on the other side of the island. It is a funky town with a lot going on and it is a very low key alternative to the other side of the island. Everything is within walking distance and the restaurants, with the exception of Mama's Fish House, are relatively inexpensive and the twon also a wonderful local grocery store, packed with natural foods. The hotel also has a nice secluded garden, right next to a beach (during the week we walked for an hour and a half, up and down the beach, and encountered perhaps 50 people. We stayed in the two bedroom unit, and while very nice, it is not quite as romantic as the room shown on the website, which appears to be a small house on the property. The staff is VERY FRIENDLY and nice people ... so in my view, this is a much better place to stay than most of the large hotels, and it is less expensive.

Room Tip: I can only comment on the room that we stayed, which was a two bedroom unit and it was quite nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrknef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had two days in Maui and this was the perfect location with many great restaurants within walking distance. Paia is close to the airport and conveniently located to other activities around the island.

We stayed in the Garden Suite which was quiet and had plenty of room. The staff was very attentive and accommodating and the property was clean and a short walk to the beach. We found the wine shop down the street and enjoyed a bottle of wine on the patio both evenings before our dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kwhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great boutique inn. We stayed in room 14 with an outdoor shower as we requested. Met the resident tailess gecko. The room is charming and the staff go above and beyond to accomodate guests. Luggage was transported to the room faster than any other hotel. Spouse was not feeling perfect that day and so they brought complimentary Perrier to soothe her stomach. The breakfast and breakfast setting were divine. Definitely a place to return to on a future trip to Paia.

Room Tip: Choose an outdoor shower room. Very tropical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onlineprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
19.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
17.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
20.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
13.9 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 1,918 reviews
27.8 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paia Inn

Property: Paia Inn
Address: 93 Hana Highway, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The postcard perfection of Maui’s North Shore (white sand beaches, raging waterfalls, stylish cafes, and world-class surfers) just got even better with the opening of the Paia Inn. This beach town boutique hotel seamlessly blends modern amenities with the historic character of its building. In a nod to the town’s plantation trade days, the building’s exterior has retained its charm with tin rooftops and rustic hues; yet, the interior mixes contemporary island furnishings with the chic lushness of the W Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paia Hotel Paia
Paia Inn Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing