We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Boutique hotel, small town charm, a hidden gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paia Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paia Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Almonte, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel, small town charm, a hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

A great jumping off point for the Road to Hana or the sunrise bike tour. This little Inn is detail oriented, from the finishing touches in the rooms to the hand written note welcoming you to Paia. We loved this place and wish we could have enjoyed more of its charms. The staff were amazing and incredibly helpful and thoughtful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    122
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
90
490
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you have never been to Paia, I highly recommend it as an alternative to the large hotels on the other side of the island. It is a funky town with a lot going on and it is a very low key alternative to the other side of the island. Everything is within walking distance and the restaurants, with the exception of Mama's Fish House, are relatively inexpensive and the twon also a wonderful local grocery store, packed with natural foods. The hotel also has a nice secluded garden, right next to a beach (during the week we walked for an hour and a half, up and down the beach, and encountered perhaps 50 people. We stayed in the two bedroom unit, and while very nice, it is not quite as romantic as the room shown on the website, which appears to be a small house on the property. The staff is VERY FRIENDLY and nice people ... so in my view, this is a much better place to stay than most of the large hotels, and it is less expensive.

Room Tip: I can only comment on the room that we stayed, which was a two bedroom unit and it was quite nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrknef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had two days in Maui and this was the perfect location with many great restaurants within walking distance. Paia is close to the airport and conveniently located to other activities around the island.

We stayed in the Garden Suite which was quiet and had plenty of room. The staff was very attentive and accommodating and the property was clean and a short walk to the beach. We found the wine shop down the street and enjoyed a bottle of wine on the patio both evenings before our dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kwhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great boutique inn. We stayed in room 14 with an outdoor shower as we requested. Met the resident tailess gecko. The room is charming and the staff go above and beyond to accomodate guests. Luggage was transported to the room faster than any other hotel. Spouse was not feeling perfect that day and so they brought complimentary Perrier to soothe her stomach. The breakfast and breakfast setting were divine. Definitely a place to return to on a future trip to Paia.

Room Tip: Choose an outdoor shower room. Very tropical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onlineprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in RM12. The 3BR oceanview suite on the website. The pictures are extremely accurate, it was a beautiful suite -spacious and well thought of. I would have given a perfect score for this suitee except for 3 major items that affected my decision to score a 3 for value:
1. WIFi service wasnt high speed as published and expected. We were constantly getting kicked off so our connection was often interrupted
2. The published TV and appletv service and amenities didnt work At ALL which was a disappointment. We spent our nights in our room hoping they could have fixed it during the day but our stay ended and we didnt have a chance to use the tv at all.
It is not to say though that the staff were extremely helpful and tried to check on the issue and continued to follow through but with the amount we were paying for the room you would think that the management would think that Absolutely EVERYTHING is working as it should.
3. Last issue - a small thing but for future improvement i think it must be mentioned. The maid service was ok and daily BUT didnt thoroughly cleaned and washed the kitchen wares used. Placed used items in the dishwasher and left it without getting it cleaned. The coffeemaker was left uncleaned on all days. Again, small items but since we were paying for $450/night i expected impeccable service cleaning.
Overall, i loved the hotel and staff and would recommend and come back BUT will make sure the issues i mentioned are addressed :-))

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PinayExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our family rented the Beach House (#13) for four nights. We wanted to move in and make it our home. You can hear and see the waves from the lanai. The 3 bedrooms accommodated our 5 visitors perfectly. The cottage is beautiful, nicely decorated, and tech eqiupped with fast wi-fi, Sonos, Apple TV. Easy access to the beach with gear made available from the Inn. The kitchen and grill allow for at-home meals (after a trip to Mana Foods for groceries). And the w/d were useful to have. The staff were delightful, helpful, and accessible when we needed assistance. The Inn is centrally located in Paia providing easy walk to restaurants and shops. The Inn provides passes to Upcountry Fitness, about a 10 minute drive away in Haiku. Thought that might be a hassle, but turns out to be an easy drive to a local gym in a true Hawaiian upcountry village. Looked forward to it each morning. We enoyed our stay in Paia and feel smart that we discovered Paia Inn. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5329970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Paia Inn after a week at Waikiki and a week at Ka'anapoli. What a great way to chill after two busy weeks. The hotel and staff are wonderful. We stayed in unit 9, which had a full kitchen, king bed, sitting area and private patio. A small apartment instead of a hotel room. The beach area was also great. There were a couple small issues with supplies for the room which the staff handled in a prompt and friendly manner. In fact I can't say enough about the staff. Without a doubt, the friendliest and most helpful group I've ever dealt with at a hotel. And the towns of Pa'ia and Hana are such a relaxing change from the busy tourist areas of Lahaina and especially Waikiki. We plan on visiting Hawaii again in two years and the Pa'ia Inn will definitely be apart of those plans.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom42758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
19.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
27.8 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
17.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
20.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
16.9 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paia Inn

Property: Paia Inn
Address: 93 Hana Hwy, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The postcard perfection of Maui’s North Shore (white sand beaches, raging waterfalls, stylish cafes, and world-class surfers) just got even better with the opening of the Paia Inn. This beach town boutique hotel seamlessly blends modern amenities with the historic character of its building. In a nod to the town’s plantation trade days, the building’s exterior has retained its charm with tin rooftops and rustic hues; yet, the interior mixes contemporary island furnishings with the chic lushness of the W Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paia Hotel Paia
Paia Inn Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing