We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little hotel in Paia, Maui, HI”
Review of Paia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paia Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at the Paia Inn for just one night on the way to Hana on Maui. This is a small boutique hotel that just sounded so quaint online that we decided to try it. We got their least expensive room because it was the cheapest, even though it looked quite small in the photo and the hotel itself suggested we might want to upgrade to a slightly larger room. But we figured for one night it didn't matter.....and it didn't! This little hotel was delightful! Paia is a tiny town known for its "hippie", laid back style, and is a tourist draw so it is always very crowded. That was true at the hotel also. I think they only have 6 rooms in total, and very little space to park in back so it is OK to park behind the person who got there before you, and you just give your keys to the person at the desk so they can move the cars around if need be. The room was small but just fine for the two of us. Tiny little bathroom, just big enough for a toilet and shower. Bed was probably just a double but fine for the two of us and VERY comfortable. Little touches everywhere, from the classy furnishings to the paintings on the walls everywhere. Tina, the beautiful young lady at the desk (in the back of the building, not the front) helped us with our bags and made us feel right at home. It is just a short walk out the back of the building down to the beach with its spectacular views of the north shore of Maui and we even saw a whale spout off in the distance. The next morning in the cute little patio out back, the good-looking chef cooked up a great spinach omelette for us before we hit the road for our two day trip to Hana. This hotel is not cheap, but nothing in Paia is cheap, so I would splurge a bit and try this out.

Room Tip: Did not see the other rooms, but I believe ours was the smallest available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wisetrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 767 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

The property is exactly as advertised. The staff are warm and helpful. Our room was truly wonderful, beautifully decorated and clean. My boyfriend loved the AppleTV! Breakfast was amazing. The beach was steps away from our room, down a little pathway. The ocean itself is a bit cold and wavy, so we didn't really get in (we waited until we arrive at the beaches in Kihei and Wailea for some real water time). A great base to do the road to Hana and beat the crowds. An abundance of great shops, terrific restaurants (don't miss Milagros, Cafe Mambo, Paia Fish Market and Flatbread Co.), excellent coffee shops (Paia Coffee Co. just West of PI had the best in town, and we tried all of them) and one of the best health food grocery stores I've ever been too (rivaling those in L.A.), Mana Foods. Paia is a charming Bohemian town and I highly recommend it. Would definitely split my time between here and one of the resorts in West our South Maui to get the best of both worlds.

Room Tip: Splurge for one of the suites, the space is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsTravelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

The Paia Inn is a small location with a lot of personality and a personable staff. The rooms are quiet, comfortable, and have a personality of their own. We've been to Hawaii several times and were looking for a night away from the resort crowds. The Paia Inn was an experience above and beyond what we would have expected. We have stayed in a lot of nice places but this was by far our best. If you are looking for comfort and individualized attention, this is the place to stay. We will be staying at the Paia Inn on all future trips.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Room was very clean, good size and nicely furnished. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Beach out the back was beautiful and town is very cool. A short drive to Mama's Fish House, a great place for dinner.

Room Tip: Had a Jr suite (Rm 6)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chumlee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I was trepidatious initially, coming from the 4 seasons, to this little inn. However, once I arrived in the town of Paia, I was instantly set at ease! This place was amazing. So the downsides first: on a busy street (Hana Hwy), and next to a gas station, which inconveniently a gas odor will occasionally waft over to the hotel. The pros: adorable rooms, GREAT value, FREE/fast Internet (unlike the 4 Seasons I might add), a gorgeous beach with access to a long2-3 mile stretch of beach-- including the most beautiful turqouise waters and really fun/big waves for surfing/swimming etc. I'd say that Paia is more for the adventurous traveller.

The town is a little hippy-ish meets wealth-- there is "lululemon" store just a few feet from perhaps the best organic/co-op grocery store I've been to. The restaurants have great fare-- lots of locally grown, organic health options at a good price. The breakfast at the hotel is delicious.

In general, this is a great inn in a great town! Definitely would come back here, especially if traveling with people that like to hike/swim/surf. This is not the place for you if you want to lay on a beach chair and snap your fingers for a waiter to bring you chair-side cocktails, but if you love beautiful beaches, not too crowded or very developed town in a great-value cozy inn, this is your place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pc_seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We have, once again, booked at the Paia Inn in Maui...our little slice of paradise! My hubby and I were often on our own whiling away the hours basking in the sun and surf and reading our favourite books on the Inn's pristine private beach. The breakfast area is cute and cozy and the service extraordinary! The lovely energetic young ladies are a pleasure to deal with and the place is kept in immaculate condition. We honestly could not have asked for more! This will be our fourth visit with hopefully, many more to follow! If you are in season (the end of December was lucky for us) book the whale watching tour as it was absolutely spectacular...several humpbacks breached next to our boat and we saw calves and dolphins as well! Also, try Charley's (across from the hotel) great burgers and entertainment by local bands...we were extremely fortunate in spending New Year's Eve 2009 with Willie Nelson and his son Lukas...spent several hours grooving to the music...hardly able to believe how fortunate we were! We can hardly wait to return and this year, we are planning to learn how to surf!

Room Tip: We were fine with a standard room...not noisy at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vancouvertamsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is a fantastic property in a fantastic town.
If you don't mind small rooms the real value is in the petite room. It's tiny but all you'll be doing in there is sleeping and showering.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lomarlomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
19.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
509 reviews
17.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
13.9 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
16.9 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,085 reviews
16.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paia Inn

Address: 93 Hana Hwy, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Price Range: $214 - $2,086 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The postcard perfection of Maui’s North Shore (white sand beaches, raging waterfalls, stylish cafes, and world-class surfers) just got even better with the opening of the Paia Inn. This beach town boutique inn seamlessly blends modern amenities with the historic character of its building. In a nod to the town’s plantation trade days, the building’s exterior has retained its charm with tin rooftops and rustic hues; yet, the interior mixes contemporary island furnishings with the chic lushness of the W Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paia Hotel Paia
Paia Inn Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing