We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paia Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paia Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Perfect hotel! My husband and I have stayed here twice now, and every time we go back to Maui we will stay here. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. The beach is a very short walk away, and the breakfasts are delicious! The staff is always accommodating and will do everything to make your stay better. The one downside is that the parking can be kind of scarce, but the staff are very helpful telling you all the different parking options. I highly recommend it! Worth every penny! And make sure to visit Anthony's coffee across the street and the Flatbread pizza restaurant a couple doors down!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. The rooms off the courtyard are my favorite! There is one room that has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheIsKelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    122
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
92
493
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

Thank you TripAdvisor! Based on the reviews from others we selected the Paia Inn Hotel and couldn't be more pleased. Great location, service, suite, staff, location. Staff made us feel at home immediately. We had one of the Garden Suites unbelievable this was the best part of our trip. I would highly recommend the Paia Inn Hotel to anyone traveling to Maui

Room Tip: For any couple thinking of staying at the Paia Inn Hotel, the Gardens Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

There is only one other comparable property on the North Shore -- The Inn at Mama's Fish House. They are both great, fairly equal in price, both offer outstanding service and a genuine aloha spirit. I would stay at either in a split-second . . . BUT Mama's is several miles out of the town center, and at the Paia Inn, you don't even need a car to walk to breakfast, lunch, dinner, gelato, the beach, etc. AND one of the nicest front desk and back office support staffs you will ever meet. (Not to mention the owner!) Personally, I love Flatbread, the Fish Market, Moana Cafe, and actually EVERYONE in Paia so much that this is a "no-brainer." Go there!!!

Room Tip: Get a suite. I think some of the upstairs rooms have shared baths. No, no, no, I'm 57 and nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pexster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

We only stayed one night here, but would have enjoyed staying longer. Only concern for us was the Murphy's oil cleaner on the wood floor which made a sticky and sandy surface for us to walk on with our bare feet, especially after visiting the beach.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1951Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

From the moment we entered the wonderful courtyard of the Inn and were greeted with such a warm welcome we new we had found something special. The staff, especially Nina and Tina treated us like family. Our suite was amazingly unique and comfortable. The suite had an open air bathroom and every morning we would wake up to find fresh Plumeria flowers that had fallen from the trees onto the floor. Steps to the beach, shops and restaurants made it a perfect location. Definitely the place to be if you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of the typical resort scene and experience the true aloha spirit in authentic Hawaiian style. We had a chance to spend time with the owner, Michael, and found him to be completely charming and an amazing tour guide.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

We booked one night at this hotel so that we would not have to drive the road to Hana after a very early morning drive to the airport and a long flight. I found it on Expedia and expected just a very ordinary hotel. When we arrived, they showed us some wonderful, large suites. We picked one with its own courtyard, where we sat until late at night under an almost-full moon. Note that the suites do not show up on Expedia, and they are incredible bargains, at just $50 more than the regular rooms.

The staff could not have been nicer. They treat you like family. The town is delightful, like no town we've been to in Hawaii. There's nothing fancy, but cute little restaurants and an amazing grocery store, where we bought dinner to have in our courtyard. It seemed like we had gone back to 1950's Hawaii.

There's a small semi-private beach that was beautiful. Next year we will spend 3 nights here before going out to Hana. My wife was not happy packing up our bags the next morning after just one night in such a wonderful hotel. Oh, and the breakfast cooked to order at the hotel must be well-known around town. You would not know it was there from the street, but people kept coming in who were not hotel guests. It was one of the best omelettes we've ever had.

Room Tip: Call directly and ask about the suites. You won't find them on Expedia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjw125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

After spending a week in Kihei's chaos, my husband and I headed to the windward side of Maui. Just minutes from Kahului (and the airport) Paia Inn felt like a breath of fresh air! We stayed a lovely one-bedroom (bed separated by a wall - no door) with a kitchen; we had to walk a down a path to get to our room, so it seemed like we were "getting away." The room was very clean, well appointed, and comfortable. The bathroom was open air with a little garden and a tree growing next to the sink! We loved it! Paia is a funky little town with fun shopping and some amazing art. The food scene is very good for a little town. The beach is a nice, but the surf is a little rough for anyone with children (unless they're super good swimmers).

Everyone at the Inn was extremely helpful and pleasant. I can't say enough about their efforts to make our stay pleasant. I highly recommend this place for a little retreat from the world in the middle of Maui! It's not inexpensive, but this is Maui so we felt the price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms with a "town view" may be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaduckling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
19.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
27.8 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
17.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
20.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
6.0 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paia Inn

Property: Paia Inn
Address: 93 Hana Hwy, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The postcard perfection of Maui’s North Shore (white sand beaches, raging waterfalls, stylish cafes, and world-class surfers) just got even better with the opening of the Paia Inn. This beach town boutique hotel seamlessly blends modern amenities with the historic character of its building. In a nod to the town’s plantation trade days, the building’s exterior has retained its charm with tin rooftops and rustic hues; yet, the interior mixes contemporary island furnishings with the chic lushness of the W Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paia Hotel Paia
Paia Inn Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing