We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what cocka roach?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kuau Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kuau Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Paia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“what cocka roach?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

I had booked this trip in November and my wife had read a nasty review about some one finding cockaroaches at this B&B...so I had to do some strong persuading when my son offered discounts at the Hyatt Regency in Kaanapali. We had a most glorious relaxing time at Kuau Inn. The breakfast was just what you needed to start the day, fresh local papayas and bananas , a nice yard for getting the early rays as the sun crested Haleakala and a short walk to a most exclusive beach cove in Maui. The beds were cozy and even the Kona weather did not disrupt our sleep. We met great people, both staff and visitors during our stay. Every restaurant we ate at in Paia was wonderful.Lisa , the enthusiatic owner,has done a great job of restoring this old plantation home to its previous glory. Try it you'll like it.Oh, sorry, never saw that cockaroach.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scultury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    47
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
79
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2010

We just loved staying at Kuau Inn. We arrived and immediately felt comfortable in the beautiful "plantation" style home. Lisa has wonderful taste and the Inn was close to everything. The fresh grapefruits from the garden were a daily delight. Abundant and healthy self serve breakfast.....great local coffee.. delicious :):)
Lisa went beyond the call when we misplaced our Hana info. She diligently sourced and called the correct contacts which helped us immensely. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2009

Kuau Inn is excellent.In 30 years I've traveled dozens of times to top tourist hotels/resorts,Four Seasons,Fairmont etc.all over the world. The experience I've had at Kuau Innis the best I've had. The Inn is clean , safe, friendly. Lisa ,the owner, is terrific in suggesting activities. She is a local, knows everyone. Very pleasant ,helpful, accomodating. If you expect or need room service ,forget it.But if you are a relaxed friendly person, and want to get the truly lovely Hawaiian experience ,the Kuau Inn is for you. A unique experience. By the way I am also from Illinois and stayed a few months after the other person who gave a poor review....my experience could not have been more different. I stayed a week with 8 family members and did not want to leave !!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PorcelainArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

When I travel, I typically stay at bed and breakfasts, if possible. I have never written a negative review. Based upon the website and reviews, we booked the Kuau Inn. I must say the location on the island is great. It is quite easy to get about anywhere and I thoroughly enjoyed the nearby town of Paia, including the restaurants. However, the Inn was very disappointing. I never saw the host or anyone from the Inn during the entire stay. After we had packed the car to leave, my husband went back inside to check on something and apparently saw the owner. We never had any shampoo during the stay and there was no one to ask. The shower was unusable because there was no outside light that we knew of. The bathtub was old and rusty. I would not use it. The ceiling in the room was peeling and the blanket on the bed had a huge hole in it. A note in the rooms indicated that the windows should be closed during the day when we were gone. As a result, the rooms were incredibly warm at night when we returned. You should know that I like hot weather. However, it was almost unbearable. It took practically the entire night of open windows to cool the room. The rooms did not have any fans. With the open windows, you could constantly hear the traffic on the nearby, busy road. When we arrived at approximately 10:00 p.m. to check in, we found the house open and the rooms open. There were no locks on the individual rooms and we never received a key to the residence. As far as I know, the rooms and the house were open all day and late into the night. As a result, we had to take all of our valuables with us every day for security reasons. Finally, the website refers to critters being in the house because the owners do not spray. I do not mind bugs. However, there were bugs that looked like cockroaches running around everywhere. Finally, the phrase critters is an understatement. The website fails to mention that spiders the size of your fist (not kidding) roam in and out of the inn. They are quite fast, and you had to look constantly to make sure that you did not sit or step on one. If you go to Maui, I would recommend that you stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IllinoisTravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2009

We felt at home right away. When we arrived rather late in the evening from a very long flight it was easy to find our room. Our room was very clean with hardwood floors and the cool ocean breeze flowing throughout. In the morning for breakfast the kitchen was fully stocked with fresh fruits, breakfast foods, and coffee.

The location of this property is just 10 mins from the airport, 2 min drive to the downtown, and 3 min. drive to gorgeous Baldwin Beach.

We loved the service provided by Lisa Starr, the homelike setting, the proximity to the town and beaches. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetraveling05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provence, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2009

We’ve just returned home to France after a wonderful Maui vacation. Our favorite spot to relax and enjoy the beauty and warm hospitality of the island is the Ku’au Inn on the north shore, near the charming town of Pa’ia.

The plantation –style home and its four rooms are beautiful, clean, spacious and tranquil. The outdoor spaces are enchanting. You can sit on really comfortable furniture in the party patio and gaze out at lovely flowers, fruit trees, and an appetizing vegetable garden, or, in the evening, sip a glass of wine while watching the moon rise over the tropical trees. One of our favorite moments was having a shower outdoors in the most amazing (and luxurious!) open-air dual shower. We also loved the large kitchen, the hub of the house, where you feel truly at home creating your breakfast from a fantastic selection of ingredients and local fruit. Above all, Lisa and her team have created an atmosphere of charm, openness and serenity.

The location of the Ku’au Inn is perfect for visiting all of Maui. It’s just a mile from our favorite town, Pa’ia, which has retained its unique character and island charm and offers great shops, restaurants, galleries and beaches without feeling touristy. You can be at the airport or ferry port in Kahului in ten minutes or less, but Lisa Starr’s b&b is worlds apart from the glitz and hustle-bustle of the islands’ resorts. It’s conveniently located for experiencing the magic of dawn from Haleakala or hanging out in Upcountry and is a centrally located springboard for visiting West Maui or the Hana Coast. This is a great find!

  • Liked — relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnesegalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
7.0 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
27.3 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
5.8 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
14.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nalu Kai Lodge
Nalu Kai Lodge
#2 of 6 in Paia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuau Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuau Inn

Property: Kuau Inn
Address: 676 Hana Hwy, P.O. Box 791898, Paia, Maui, HI 96779-9733
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Paia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuau Inn, on Maui's rural north shore, is known for its classic Hawaiian hospitality. The comfort and style of Kuau Inn, and the friendly beach neighborhoods of Paia and Kuau leave you feeling like a part of the community. After many years of hosting visitors from all over, we have barely changed a thing- as advised by those who know- our very appreciated guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kuau Hotel Paia
Kuau Inn Paia, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing