We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic, authentic, quaint, lovely owners, wonderful way to start our time on Maui”
Review of Kuau Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kuau Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Paia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“fantastic, authentic, quaint, lovely owners, wonderful way to start our time on Maui”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our first time to Hawaii. Couldn't have asked for a better place to begin our exploration of beautiful Maui. The owners were all present the days we visited the inn, and it was a pleasure to meet Julie & Neil, and Brian & Karen. We loved the old wooden Hawaiian house, the rooms were lovely, the location so close to the quaint town of Paia (and the delicious Fish Market), and we especially enjoyed the fresh fruit and avocados from the owners' farm Up Country. They shared a lot of interesting information about the area. Our stay at the Inn was very relaxing and pleasant. We look forward to going again, and we tell all our friends they must visit too. Mahalo new friends! Linda and Brenda from Vancouver BC Canada

Room Tip: it's all good, mahalo Linda and Brenda
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    48
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
81
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Julie and Neil run this really nice 4-room inn just a mile past Paia town. I really enjoyed their friendly hospitality, the meeting other guests as they come and go, and the outdoor shower. I didn't shower inside once during my entire week-long stay! The only downside is road noise... The Hana "highway" - the main road on that part of the island - runs right by the house, and it is noisy, especially in the mornings. It's just a two-lane road, you do hear it. Aside from that, I can't recommend the Kuau highly enough, especially if you're looking for a great value and friendly atmosphere in Paia.

Room Tip: the upstairs rooms have more light & partial views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdwelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

First time to Hawaii and in great need of rest. I kicked off my trip in Paia, arriving in the morning, braving driving on the right hand side of the road to arrive safely at the Kuau Inn. I was greeted in a very chilled and welcoming fashion by Julie (one of the owners) who immediately offered a beach towel so I could spend time at the beach as soon as I wanted to. The house had real character and was incredibly clean. Loved having a help yourself breakfast and being able to eat when I felt like it. Both Julie and Neil were lovely and really helped to set the tone of having a relaxing time away - lots of good advice if asked. I would highly recommend Paia as a place to spend some time if you are not in to resort type towns - the food is amazing and the town has real character. The only negative was the traffic which was pretty constant but that didn't stop me from completely slowing down and having a great holiday. Oh - and as a foodie - awesome location as is walking distance to Mama's Fish House - a must visit restaurant.

Room Tip: I stayed in the downstairs room with the ensuite for a little added comfort, but the other rooms all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Spent 8 nights there in March and we had a great time. It was very relaxing and really enjoy the outdoor shower. Meet nice people. Paia being close made it very nice in the eveneing to try the different restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gorgelife51909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The perfect end to our trip. Not luxurious, no, but clean, comfortable, and so relaxing. There is a peaceful sugarcane field surrounding the farmhouse, a beautiful out-door shower, and not a speck of dust in the house. The rooms were quiet and the bed was comfortable. The other guests were also quiet, clean, and friendly. We loved staying here-- a retreat in the true sense.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousT72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

- Clean and comfortable room, good matras
- Friendly and nice atmosphere
- Along a busy road, you hear the cars all night long
- Sharing restooms and shower
- Free slow Wifi
- During my stay telephone were not working
- No cleaning during stay
- You definitely need a car

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Overall, this place is all you need while visiting Maui. The location is perfect! It is only a mile from Paia and just down the road from some great surf! The decorations were pleasant and not overdone. The kitchen area was open and inviting. My wife and I stayed in one of the upstairs rooms. It was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the breeze coming through the windows was priceless. There was a large living space with a large screen tv. (We never used it though.) There was also a nice porch area where we relaxed a few evenings after a long in the sun. My only critique is the inn keeper wasn't very friendly or inviting. A few times I felt like she was trying to make it a point that we were intruding. She wasn't around that much, so it didn't get too bad. A quick note about Paia. If you haven't been to Maui you may not like Paia unless you're looking for a small, surf town. It is not touristy in the way Kihei or Lahiana come off. Tourists come through here but there is limited lodging, so they don't normally stay for very long. In my opinion Paia has some of the best restaurants on the island - Fish Market, Flatbread, Mama's Fish House, Moana Cafe, Anthony's, etc. If you want a unique experience and to feel like you live on the island, stay at Kuau Inn and just relax in Paia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
7.0 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,058 reviews
27.4 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
5.8 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
7.2 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
533 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuau Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuau Inn

Property: Kuau Inn
Address: 676 Hana Hwy, P.O. Box 791898, Paia, Maui, HI 96779-9733
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Paia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuau Inn, on Maui's rural north shore, is known for its classic Hawaiian hospitality. The comfort and style of Kuau Inn, and the friendly beach neighborhoods of Paia and Kuau leave you feeling like a part of the community. After many years of hosting visitors from all over, we have barely changed a thing- as advised by those who know- our very appreciated guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kuau Hotel Paia
Kuau Inn Paia, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing