We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Paia
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
Incredible experience; would do again!

Great experience with these guys. Fantastic service, loved self guided nature, and easy downhill... read more

Reviewed today
Robbied2233
A Texan and Coloradoan zoom down Haleakala!

Actually have had the "Maui Sunriders" ride perhaps half-a-dozen times before, but this time took... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
John H
,
Humble, Texas, United States
Read all 598 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Paia
from $79.95
More Info
from $155.00
More Info
from $125.00
More Info
from $169.79
More Info
Reviews (598)
Filter reviews
598 results
Traveler rating
500
74
13
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
500
74
13
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews own pace sunrise tour self guided rain gear our tour guide kula lodge great equipment drop off point disc brakes staging area safety tips great ride other companies van ride pay attention haleakala volcano national park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 598 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2019

Really knowledgable staff, told us all about the area on the drive up and taught us how to safely ride back down. Beautiful scenic ride where you get to see multiple towns and so many good restaurants/shopping. Spoke to the owners at the end of the ride and they were so helpful and recommended some of the best places and things to do on the Island. You can really tell they care about the customers and want you to have the best experience possible

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Kitty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui S, Owner at Maui Sunriders Bike Co., responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the kind review! It was really nice to meet you and we're so happy to hear that the recommendations we shared with you worked out! We love to share our home of Maui with others and hope to see you out here again someday soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019

I have lived on Maui for 10 years and have never biked down Haleakala. I finally had the opportunity to bike down Haleakala this week, it was a GAME CHANGER! I was welcomed by Crystal and Jeff who turned out to be the new owners. They both have had quite the track record and continue to of biking all over the world which made me see their passion for Maui Sunriders more apparent. Their employees Rocco and Remy made the experience even more exquisite. I rode in Remy's van and I learned more about Maui on the 45 min van ride up than I have in a year!! Remy spirit is vivacious and super attentive to any of your needs and questions. Once we arrived at the dropzone, we were on our way down Haleakala. What an insane perspective it was being on a bike versus a car. I could go into detail of how I felt cruising down but I will let you experience that feeling mentally and physically on your own!! Thank you Maui Sun Riders for providing a new love for downhill biking. I highly recommend to locals and visitors alike!!! ps. You have the whole day to cruise around on your bike, take advantage of all the great shopping and good eats along the way!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank EricaSegerCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui S, Manager at Maui Sunriders Bike Co., responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2019

Thank you so much for joining us Erica! It was a pleasure to have you join us for our favorite bike ride on Maui! Hope to see you again for another ride!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2019 via mobile

Fun day riding down the mountain. Loved the ability to go at your own pace and stop for lunch, pictures and sightseeing. Rain gear is provided..and we needed it at the start of the ride. It was cloudy and rainy. The weather cleared though and everyone in the family enjoyed the excursion.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank MYRoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui S, Owner at Maui Sunriders Bike Co., responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

So glad you guys brought the whole family for such an great experience! Also happy to hear you enjoyed the day even with a little weather, nothing like fresh maui rain to create those rainbows! See you guys next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019 via mobile

It was lot of fun. We met at 900am and started the ride at 1030 as you have to go up on the mountain after safety briefing and wearing helmet.
26 miles of sheer fun. Mostly downstream the mountain and bike can speed up to 30-40 mph easily so have to be careful. Motorists are ge
nerally respecful.
Bikes
1. are good with disc brake
2. but have no gear since it is mostly downstream.
3. Do not have rearview mirror either on handle or helmet which can be really helpful.
4. Do not have speedometer can guide you.
5. Can use more comfortable seating.
The shop guys are quite knowledgable and helpful.
The tour is self guided and that way it is even better as you can go with your own pace and without any crowd around you.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank alexrotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui S, Manager at Maui Sunriders Bike Co., responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the kind review and the welcomed feedback as we're always looking for areas to improve! We hope you had a memorable trip and you'll visit us again next time! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2019 via mobile

Good downhill ride from near the top of the volcano. Went with a large group of adults and kids (youngest 4 years who rode on a trailer bike). Interesting couple of towns along the way. The reason only 3 stars is you start later (930 am) than other companies and can’t do the sunrise - I realise you are not permitted to ride in the national park up near the summit but we were a group of 15 on a private tour and were prepared to pay more simply to start earlier and see the summit in the van before descending to the NP boundary to start the ride - unfortunately we got a “can not” ... also be prepared for the hard sell on tipping from the guide Remmy - his pitch went on an on and on - I know this is the US but this one was fanciful ...

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank P8238GLmichaelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui S, Owner at Maui Sunriders Bike Co., responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing Maui Sunriders for your families visit on Maui. For private groups we would be happy to start earlier, however, yes - for now we are not permitted to enter the National Park. While we did offer this option for 18 years, we ultimately decided at this time we didn't feel that we we're passing on the best value to our customers. There are several other supporting reasons we went this route and we would be happy to share with anyone. Ultimately, I'm sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations on that and had I known that was your goal, I would have definitely recommended another operator on the island that does go into the park. Regarding our team, thank you for letting us know and we will have a discussion with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews