We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time! Individual freedom, not a group tour! Great!”
Review of Maui Sunriders

Maui Sunriders
Ranked #2 of 16 Outdoor Activities in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maui Sunriders offers self-paced Haleakala bike tours of the volcano in Maui, HI, including Haleakala sunrise bike tours and daily Maui bike rentals. With our self-paced bike rides, guests have the freedom to stop along the way at the many unique shops and restaurants in the charming towns on the route or just stop to enjoy the beauty of Haleakala. With our self-paced Haleakala sunrise bike rides, you can immerse yourself in the beauty and serenity of Upcountry Maui without the cumbersome restrictions of a large group.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great time! Individual freedom, not a group tour! Great!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Arrived at their shop at 3:30am, the payment, briefing, equipment sizing and selection took ~45 minutes as everyone needed to choose and size gloves, rain wear, backpack, helmet, etc. We left in the van at 4:15am took ~1.5 hours to drive up to the crater lots of info and sleep on the way up. Arrived at the crater just before 6am, sunrise was ~20min later. After the sunrise and picture taking, we got back in the van at ~6:45am, and went to the 6,500 feet starting point. Got the bikes off the van and started riding. If you drive fast you can get down in 1.5 hours, but most people took ~3+ hours as we would stop and eat and take pictures, etc. You go through numerous small quaint towns on the way down, lots to eat/drink/see. The whole trip down we peddled ~6 minutes, mainly to get through a few valleys. Got back to their shop and turned in the bike and gear, then went wondering in Paia. Our driver Natalie was the best!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lars_of_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    64
    12
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“One of favorite days on Maui”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My 16 year old son will tell you this was his favorite activity we did on Maui. Remy took us on an entertaining tour up to the crater and then we raced down the mountain through clouds and beautiful views. We stopped at a Lavendar farm and had a great lunch and margaritas in Makawao and ended up back in Paia. What a blast!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank knspr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This was the highpoint of out Maui trip...literally”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our guide/driver, Remy (like the cognac, which he was quick to point out) was an exceptional guide and driver. We were very well informed all the up to the top of Haleakela. We were equipped with everything we needed from rain gear to backpacks and bike locks. We were impressed that the helmets were full motocross style to offer excellent protection. This firm gets the highest recommendation from us.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank swedecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Exhilarating!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We booked the express tour online for $54.95 which was an awesome deal! Remy drove a van load of us up Haleakala and grave an amusing commentary along the way. He let us off jst before the park entrance and we were on our way down on our own, fully equipped with helmet, rain gear, and backpack provided by the company. We packed a picnic and pulled over by the side of the road by the rodeo grounds to dine with a horse and some cattle! The views are amazing and the highway is in excellent condition so it was a smooth ride. When we were done, we spent some time walking around Paia. It was a perfect day trip for our teenager!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank nevillcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great people”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Had a wonderful trip to the top of the mountain with plenty of time to look around and take pictures before starting the ride down. Highly recommend Maui Sunriders.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Sunriders also viewed

 

Been to Maui Sunriders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing