We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike Ride Down Haleakala Volcano”
Review of Maui Sunriders

Maui Sunriders
Ranked #2 of 14 Outdoor Activities in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maui Sunriders offers self-paced Haleakala bike tours of the volcano in Maui, HI, including Haleakala sunrise bike tours and daily Maui bike rentals. With our self-paced bike rides, guests have the freedom to stop along the way at the many unique shops and restaurants in the charming towns on the route or just stop to enjoy the beauty of Haleakala. With our self-paced Haleakala sunrise bike rides, you can immerse yourself in the beauty and serenity of Upcountry Maui without the cumbersome restrictions of a large group.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Pleasanton, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bike Ride Down Haleakala Volcano”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had a great tour guide, Remy, who drove us, and our bikes, up to the top of Haleakala. The views from up there were spectacular, and the ride up was fun-- Remy joked and quipped the entire way up and shared funny stories of his young family. The ride down was a blast-- the equipment was well maintained and safe and we were able to stop in various towns on the way down to walk around and explore. It was an overall great experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    63
    12
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Incredible experience!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Maui many times before but have never done the sunrise bike adventure. What a wonderful experience. From the moment we left the shop (yes at 3:30 in the morning), Joe told us all about the things we would see as well as a ton of information about the volcano.

As promised, it was Very cold at the summit but well worth it! The sunrise was spectacular. The crater had cloud formations all around and it looked like a moonscape.

The bike trip down was AWESOME! I'm SO glad we decided to do the self-guided trip. We were able to stop anytime we wanted for as long as we wanted. We stopped at little fruit stands... We stopped to smell the flowers... We stopped at the Kula Lodge for breakfast (the pancakes with the coconut syrup was worth the wait)... We stopped to take in the fragrance of the eucalyptus forest and the lavender fields... We stopped and checked out the shops in Makawao... In other words, we got our money's worth!

If you plan this trip for the first day or two after you arrive, the early hour is doable and a must do!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lonemadrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun on 2 wheels”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

If your somewhat adventurous this is a must do. You have to wake up pretty early in the morning, but its worth it! Up the mountain in a van with the bikes on top and a very informative driver just in time to see the sun rise on Haleakala. No words can explain this. A great ride down the mountain and banana pancakes with cocoanut syrup at a restaurant on the way. What a great day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Windingbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunrise tour is pretty good”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Did the sunrise tour in late August. It was pretty cold up at the top of Haleakala Volcano. The wind was particularly killer, but it was definitely a beautiful sunrise. Our guide, Remy, was quite entertaining during the van rides, too. Being able to go at our own speed down the mountain was great. Plenty of opportunities to stop and check out the scenery and stop for breakfast at a sweet little place in town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good family activity”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Good price, good service, good equipment, but most of all, self-paced is the way to go. Don't believe that self-paced is less safe because a guide is not with you...the opposite is true. On our ride down, we saw the "guided" tours speeding past us at an unsafe safe speed and packed too closely together. If one person lost control, there would have been a bad pile up. We had kids with us and they were fine but would have felt really uncomfortable if we had to keep up with a pack of other cyclists and a guide simply rushing to get to the bottom. We spent a relaxing time riding down, stopped for lunch along the way and had a great day. BTW, we did express tour b/c didn't think kids wanted to get up at 2AM.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Sunriders also viewed

 

Been to Maui Sunriders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing