We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Surfers and Windsurfers Abound” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ho'okipa Beach Park

Ho'okipa Beach Park
Book In Advance
$141.00*
and up
Full-Day Maui Tour: Road to Hana Tour
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ideal for surfers and windsurfers.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
200 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Surfers and Windsurfers Abound”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

There was so much action with the surfers and winsurfers doing flips and reaching amazing speeds. I understand the waves will reach heights of 70 feet in December. The heights were much less than that during October, but still fun to watch.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    205
    21
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Actually we just stop by to see the Maui north shore, Ko'okipa Beach Park from a top or maybe overlook?. The beach look nice with mix turquoise color even from the top faraway we can see very absolute clear also mix activity on the beach such as swimming, snorkeling, surfing, wind surfing even some family do picnicking. The beach had everything from showers, restrooms, tables, etc for people use after that activity. Free parking & one way to beach so don't miss turn.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jalan2lagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Turtles, surfing, windsurfing, sunbathing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is one of the best beaches on the North Shore of Maui. We love watching the windsurfers, surfers, swimming, snorkeling, and people watching. Flush toilets, showers, garbage cans, picnic tables all make this beach a nice spot to spend the day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Candylandranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Turtle beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stopped here twice during our vacation. The first time we waded in the shallow pools and watched the surfers, the second we noticed a large turtle sunning on the beach, surrounded by people but without a care. A wildlife representative was there and told us that this turtle suns himself there every afternoon and tolerates the people well (though they ask that people give him some space).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank KKrabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Action Packed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We always go to watch the wind/kite surfers or surfers at this action packed beach. This trip we also got to see a monk seal that had stopped to take a break on his travels. They rope them off for their safety but we got great shots of him!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BryansBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ho'okipa Beach Park also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Ho'okipa Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing