We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Nalu Kai Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nalu Kai Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean comfortable & spacious.
We booked last minute over the phone for one night & staff were very helpful & explained all that we needed to know.
On arrival you simply find your room which is a refreshing change.
Fantastic location - close to all the shops & restaurants.
Some may not like that there is a curtain only separating the room from the bedroom but gives a chilled out feel to the place.
Would stay again without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Salsdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    45
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
66
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in room number 4, a quite small room but enough for 2 people. Queensize bed and own bathroom. Refridgerator in room. Great location in town, short walk to the beach. Parking right outside at no extra cost. Cosy place in a cosy town!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SofieLindekrantz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaluKai, Manager at Nalu Kai Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Aloha Sofie and thank you for your review! We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our quaint little Paia town! We hope to see you back at the Lodge on another Maui trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalapaki Beach, Lihue
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in room 9, a one king bedroom plus living room & full kitchen. flew in with bikes found the yard area with waterfall perfect shady place to assemble. Plenty of room for bikes inside our room and with early starts to rides we enjoyed brewing our own coffee and breakfast in the room. Nice touches like great towels, stone shower, comfortable bedding, spacious benches & closets for clothes. Friendly staff energetic and talkative. Walk everywhere, restaurants, the fabulous food market "Mana" bike shop, retail stores; and the start of Cycle to the Sun race! This was my 2nd stay and I will be back, love Paia road to Hana and Haleaka, and the Nalu Kai Lodge!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaluKai, Manager at Nalu Kai Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Aloha Lis and thank you for your wonderful Nalu Kai Lodge review! We're always happy to host Cycle to the Sun enthusiasts and hope to have you stay with us for a 3rd time! We strive for that mellow relaxed vibe and are happy that you enjoyed it and our lovely North Shore. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

It was not easy to find a good accommodation in Paia for "last minute". As we were on a journey around the world, we were not able to prebook everything. Well, we chose Nalu Kai Lodge because they had vacancy and it was a good decision. Very warm welcome from the hosts and a very nice, quiet location in the middle of Paia. We can definitely recommend!
Hind: don't forget the key in the room as we did!! ;-)

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side facing sea are quieter we think
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thalaima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaluKai, Manager at Nalu Kai Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your review of our quaint little Lodge! We're happy we could accommodate you last minute and that you were happy with hosts and location. We think we're wonderfully located for any North Shore travelers and we're glad you agree! We hope to see you on your next Maui adventure. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nice little lodge,well situated in the centre of Paia which is a good location to discover the island of Maui, friendly and relaxed atmosphere, very nice garden hawaiian style with barbeque place available for the guests!!!. If your looking for a nice place with clean rooms this is the ideal accomodation for you, especially if you're travelling with friends or with your partner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoStern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaluKai, Manager at Nalu Kai Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of our little Lodge. We're glad you liked it and pride ourselves on having exceptionally clean rooms and grounds for our guests to enjoy. We love having international visitors to our famed North Shore and welcome you again the next time you visit Maui. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights here. We found it was a great place to stay in Paia, but don't expect much comfort. The room was small, almost all taken up by the bed. But we spent most of our time at the lodge outside in the common area (which we usually had to our own). The bed was good and clean, just like the shower.

The location is great. Just a short walk from te beach and just across the street for some nice resaurants. And for me the best thing was that is was just around the corner of Maui Cyclery, the best place to rent a bike to ride up Haleakala.

The lodge is right at the very busy intersection of Paia, but much to my surprise we hardly heard any noise from that.

The only downside was that there is no door for the toilet, just a curtain. So make sure you are ok with your roommate's odors before booking.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JanVanDijk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

One thing I lke about Trip Advisor is the ability to share information about small operations that may not otherwise get attention. This lodge does a great job of knowing what is important to a good stay and doing those things very well. It is minimalist - no air conditioning and the bath room is separated by a curtain. But it is super clean and creative in approach and furnishings. It has pretty common areas that encourage interaction between the guests. I loved sleeping with the windows open and waking to the sounds of the birds and the ocean. The sheets were good and the bed was very comfortable. I was there in off season so noise or parking was not a problem. Paia is a cute little town with good places to eat and awesome egg-free, dairy-free gelato. I only stayed two nights but I could have easily spent two weeks here doing nothing.
The internet didn't work in my room, so I had to go to the common areas to plan my day. I think other rooms were fine though, just something that needs adjustment.
Great place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
6.0 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
27.8 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
6.1 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
14.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nalu Kai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nalu Kai Lodge

Property: Nalu Kai Lodge
Address: 18 Nalu Place, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Paia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nalu Kai Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nalu Kai Lodge, Paia Hotel is In the heart of Paia town Charming boutique hotel Unique Hawaiiana atmosphere Affordable rates Oceanside - steps to the beach Simple, Spotless, & Comfortable rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Nalu Kai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nalu Kai Hotel Paia
Nalu Kai Lodge Paia, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing