We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place - if you are ok with spartan lifestyle”
Review of Nalu Kai Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nalu Kai Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Here's what's great about Nalu Kai Lodge:
- very clean
- location, location, location
- big shower in comparison to otherwise very compact room
- good mattress
- not as noisy as we expected from warnings on Nalu Kai Lodge website (we had a room facing away from the road; wind and sounds from the waterfall covered road noise); though it is quite noisy when neighbours shower or flush toilet
- fridge in the room
- cute court area in garden setting with long table, hammock, BBQ, deckchairs, fairy lights and little waterfall
- upstairs terrace with 2 chairs and 2 deckchairs

what you might miss:
- there is no proper kitchen in the lodge;
- other than a BBQ, there are no cooking facilities
- limited amount of dishes available, e.g. no proper cups (only very small Styrofoam cups)
- no toaster (but kettle available)
- no table in the room (rooms are very small), just a chair
- bed room and bath room are separated by curtain only
- no AC, just fan

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank steffi_eggesin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaluKai, Manager at Nalu Kai Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your accurate description of our rooms and location. We try to portray ourselves as accurately as possible and state exactly what one gets in each room (no kitchens, directly in middle of town and town noises, etc) and definitely appreciate guest feedback like your own. We look forward to you staying with us again sometime.
Aloha,
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 149 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

This two-story lodge is steps from the main street of Paia, an old plantation town and the "gateway" to the road to Hana. It has a limited number of tiny rooms, but ours was spotless and well-decorated. We didn't hear road noise (we were around back) but we did hear noise from other rooms pretty clearly. Most people seemed to spend little time in their rooms though, so it didn't bother us. We appreciated the lovely patio in front with the fountain, seating area and hammock.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the road if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaRose46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaluKai, Manager at Nalu Kai Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Aloha Reviewer and thank you for your positive review of our little Lodge. We're happy you had a nice stay and look forward to your next visit to Maui. Aloha,
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We arrived peak season for Christmas Vacation. Paia is BUSY and the lodge is on the main route to HANA, so expect nose to tail traffic at times. This lodge is in the amazing location of the north shore which is still boutique and not as 'Touristy' as the south shore. There are 9 rooms and only 5 allocated parking bays (of which one is not available 2 nights a week due to garbage truck access), these bays are allocated on a 'first come first served basis', meaning, you could get a bay when you check in and when you return after a long day of sight seeing/surfing etc - the bay is taken. This is not great and for me, means it loses a star in rating. Paia is not the sort of place you can get to or from without a car, so it makes little sense to have such limited parking on site. There is parking on the road side, but the fantastically convenient location of slap bang in the middle of town and right on the Hana Road, means road side parking is impossible and really inconvenient. If you are ok with noise at night, the thin walls shouldn't bother you too much - Paia is a busy town right up to around midnite and there is other accomodations within a stones throw away which generate noise. That said, Nalu kai, has a quiet time, which the occupants here do observe - there is however, no accounting for the passing traffic and people outside. After 3 nights, we got used to the noise. The communal area is a great place to meet other travellers and swap stories, if that is your thing, otherwise, like us, you can keep yourself to yourself in your own space. Double bed is SMALL, so you may want to consider a twin if you like your space. The rooms are well kept and furniture is well suited to the compact size of the room meaning you can move around the room well without banging into anything. You can hear the ocean from the room and the dawn chorus is wonderful - reminds you that you are paradise. This is not a fairmont or four seasons, accept and embrace what it is and you will have a wonderful time...BE SURE TO GO TO ANTHONY'S OVER THE ROAD FOR BREAKFAST! AND MANA FOODS FOR YOUR ESSENTIALS.

Room Tip: room 4 was next to the gravel parking bay and has overlooking balconies from above which if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JESSICKAHgARNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

These rooms are small but really quaint. Very clean and comfortable. There is a nice sitting area in the middle where you can eat and enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. There is even a bbq grill you're welcome to use. The location is super. Right down town and a block or two from the beach. Great value for money.

Room Tip: I think they're all pretty cute
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ggeewwllss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

A bit quaint, not big, totally charming, just like Paia! Love this place! Quiet but right in the center of attractions: Paia Fish Market right across the street and the Flatbread Factory half a block down. Extremely friendly and helpful staff! Don't miss out!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lok-Kwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at the Nalu Kai Lodge for 3 nights and loved it. The location is amazing and the property is beautiful. Kelly was great and very helpful. We were really tired from our day exploring the Road to Hana (and the road past Hana) and used the grill/patio area to cook and relax one evening. The room was clean and comfortable. We use a white noise app when we sleep (at home and on travel) but I didn't notice a lot of street noise like others commented on while we were lounging around. I would definitely stay here again! I was actually sad to leave the comfort of Nalu Kai to head over to the resorts of Ka'anapali!

Room Tip: I like the location of Room 7 - back of the hotel, next to a lovely lanai area with lounge chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pomaikai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed here for one night before doing the road to Hana. Good head start location, and central in this quaint little town. Everything seemed well cared for. Room was nothing special, but certainly met my needs. There is gravel parking right outside the window, which is annoying when in bed, but I didn't find the street noise too bad.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingScott25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
6 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,103 reviews
6.2 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
566 reviews
20.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,184 reviews
27.8 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
3.8 mi away
Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nalu Kai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nalu Kai Lodge

Address: 18 Nalu Place, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Paia
Price Range: $153 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nalu Kai Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nalu Kai Lodge, Paia Hotel is In the heart of Paia town Charming boutique hotel Unique Hawaiiana atmosphere Affordable rates Oceanside - steps to the beach Simple, Spotless, & Comfortable rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Nalu Kai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nalu Kai Hotel Paia
Nalu Kai Lodge Paia, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing