We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Butter rolls, Donuts, cream puffs - oh my!”

T Komoda Store & Bakery Incorporated
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Makawao
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Pukalani
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Butter rolls, Donuts, cream puffs - oh my!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This family owned bakery looks like nothing on the outside ... but inside are the best baked goods you ever had! Komoda donuts beat Krispy Creme's in a local taste test. Their butter rolls are usually gone by noon. Their dobash cake is fabulous, as are their cookies! "Komodas'" is an island byword for excellent baked goods!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    107
    27
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you don't love Komoda's, you don't know what a donut is supposed to be.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Okay, so tripadvisor emails me asking for more reviews, and I glance at their "suggestion list" and I am APPALLED that Komoda's doesn't have a solid excellent rating. Are you guys kidding me? The "sticks" and "glazed donuts" are probably the best in the world. We're not talking the sickly sweet puff balls that are popular at the place across from Kmart, we're talking about the perfect grease to sugar ration that satisfies the most discriminating donut connoisseur with some secret dough that must have been given to them by the gods. Yes, they are famous for their creme puffs, long johns, and rightly so, but even their cookies—rice krispie cookies are my favorite—are something you have to have around for snacks. Go for it, guys, but maybe I should tell you NOT to as you'll just make my wait in line longer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bajawajine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Tasty treats from a down to earth spot and local favorite”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This small convenience grocery store & bakery, located in the quiet ranch/cowboy town of Makawao, is right in the center of town at the intersection of Baldwin Ave, just north of Makawao Ave. It is in a low-key non-descript building, very easy to miss. Use G00gle Streetview to check it out.

Upon entry there are all kinds of groceries and miscellaneous goods for sale everywhere, and the bakery is just to your left. There are a variety of interesting bakery items on display, with the donuts on a stick, and the Portuguese malasadas with various fillings, being particularly notable.

This is a local place, not a tourist place. Their bakery stock and hours of operation are set by their own considerations, not by trying to appeal to the tourist trade. Go early in the day by 9-10 am to be sure of getting what you want, and be flexible. There is no wireless internet, trendy decor, tables or places to sit, nor a reward card program. They don't make lattes or gluten-free products. They'll take a credit card, but reasonably only if the purchase is over $10, so man up, don't be snarky, and pay cash.

Most people get it, and have very tasty food and a fun and interesting experience. For six bucks and change, we had a couple of coffees, one donut on a stick, and a couple of guava flavor-filled malasadas; which we enjoyed and shared as we strolled the streets of Makawao.

"Rant on" But for those trendy folks who bring a pretentious attitude into this local favorite, don't be expected to be greeted with obseqious service; and then subsequently complain about poor experience here or on Yelp, as some seem to do. "Rant off"

The Makawao area is in high ranch/cowboy country, and a complete change from the tourist coast scene. Definitely worth a visit.

Safe travels!

If you found this review informative, kindly click on the Helpful link below.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Western_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiku, Hawaii, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The best hamburger/sandwich buns I've ever had. They also have an item--donut on a stick that was delicious. They aren't always open when you want or need them to be, but always worth going back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Betsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Intoxicating!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have been to Maui a number of times, but had never made it to Komoda's Bakery. We will now never miss a chance to go! Traveling with our friends who had seen an article in their mainland paper about Komoda's we decided it was a must do. On arriving in Makawao (a really cool old town), we were not sure how to locate it. As luck would have it, we parked just down the street from the entrance. As I walked by the door, the heavenly smell of pastries and bread drew me into the place - and we all spent the next several minutes oohing and ahhing over the lovely goodies.

The article had specifically mentioned cream puffs. We left with a box of a dozen cream puffs, six chocolate and six vanilla - THREE each! While we did spread them out over the next three days, we were all making SURE that everyone only got THREE! They were so delicious! It was actually a good thing they Komoda family was taking a family vacation two days later or we would have all ended up on a diet of cream puffs! We also took home a dozen rolls which were absolutely delicious.

The ladies working in the store were the sweetest, beautiful ladies. It's a must return for us!! The old town and just as old store lent a charming, homey feel to our visit, and the cream puffs - well - you will have to try them yourself!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BRmauiEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T Komoda Store & Bakery Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to T Komoda Store & Bakery Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing