We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy! and delicious food”

Casanova Italian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Casanova Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Makawao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Baldwin Avenue
Transit: Maui Bus stops at Casanova parking lot.
Description: Often rated Best Italian restaurant in the State of Hawaii, Casanova is a staple of the lifestyle of Upcountry Maui since 1986. From early morning breakfast thru lunch and dinner and to late night clubbing and dancing on selected nights of the week, Casanova is the ritual destination of Maui residents and of visitors on their way back from Haleakala Crater. The Casanova experience is much more than its awards winning sumptuous authentic Italian cuisine. It's meeting and mingling with Maui folks in the very spot where they like to dine, meet and mingle. A must do when in Upcountry Maui.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Classy! and delicious food”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We didn't realize it was a fancy restaurant until we went in. White tablecloths and beautiful decor. Fortunately for us it was Happy Hour so our drinks were cheap and plentiful. A carafe of Mai Tai or of wine were only $5 each! The Spinach Gnocchi with both red and white sauce was reasonably priced for a fancy place here on Maui (about $14), and it was delicious. Warm bread was served with oil and balsamic vinegar and we got free refills on it from the friendly bartender. We will definitely go there again!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    155
    63
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food, Great Service, Good Value”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had dinner twice in this little restaurant in a small town on Maui called Makawao, very near Pukalani. It is in the beautiful hills and is worth the drive.
The service is prompt and friendly. The food is great. And if you get there in time for Happy Hour, you get a generous carafe of wine, or Margueritas, or beer for $5. Excellent wine. The price is comparable to Italian restaurants anywhere.
They have a nice little garden between the building and the fences on two sides which you see through ceiling to floor glass. Gives it a nice ambience. Very relaxing.
Recommend it for a leisurely, delicious dinner, with a nice drive in the country.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 905terryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best value on Maui and great food”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

It may be off the beaten path but it is really worth the drive. A 4 course meal for two for $60!!! with a good choice of salad, pasta, main course and tiramissu(?) for the desert with the house wine being a good Tuscan Chianti. Delightful service and probably the best meal out during our 2 week stay on Maui.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 181717Mitchells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good fish”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

always order the fish in all the restaurants - have never gone wrong. beautifully cooked. great service and good location.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank karedian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best dinner”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We ate out for more than two weeks on Maui, but our favourite dinner was at Casanova Italian Restaurant. We had four courses and every course was consistently excellent. It was the right amount or food for us, because we took advantage of an option to share a four course meal between two people. The price of the meal and the wine was very reasonable by Maui standards. The service was friendly, well informed and timely.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank FurtherAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casanova Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Casanova Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing