We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive from tourist hotels”

Casanova Italian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Casanova Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Makawao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Baldwin Avenue
Transit: Maui Bus stops at Casanova parking lot.
Description: Often rated Best Italian restaurant in the State of Hawaii, Casanova is a staple of the lifestyle of Upcountry Maui since 1986. From early morning breakfast thru lunch and dinner and to late night clubbing and dancing on selected nights of the week, Casanova is the ritual destination of Maui residents and of visitors on their way back from Haleakala Crater. The Casanova experience is much more than its awards winning sumptuous authentic Italian cuisine. It's meeting and mingling with Maui folks in the very spot where they like to dine, meet and mingle. A must do when in Upcountry Maui.
CT
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worth the drive from tourist hotels”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We visited Casanova with some friends of ours who live on Maui. The experience is definitely local but the service and food competes with the best of Maui's "Tourist" establishments, but at an "affordable" price.

The menu is a mix of northern and southern Italy along with gourmet Pizzas. Wine list is pretty extensive for a smaller local eatery and fairly priced.

The restaurant is a 40 minute drive from the Wailea resort area but well worth the trip. They also have local musicians in the bar.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MauiMarkCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    147
    59
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Casanova Review”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have never had good service here. Several times we have left because no one came to the table after 30 min. Their location in Kahului is much better all around.

Helpful?
Thank CheriBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Our best dinner in Maui”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

After a long and winding trip up the volcano, we needed to grab dinner before heading back to the airport on our last day. We hadn't yet been to Makawao and I really wanted to go, and it was pretty much on the way back into town from the volcano. This is a really nice part of Maui, with rolling hills and lots of cattle grazing. The little town is very cute and worth a stop, as there are lots of galleries and little bistro-type of restaurants. We stopped at Casanova because I had seen an ad for it, and pasta sounded great after so much exotic seafood. It was happy hour (5-7) and I got a half-carafe of a mango margarita - for $5!

My husband ordered a margarita pizza and was able to add pepperoni to it, and I had the MOST amazing spinach gnochi. It was just the right amount of food with a totally appropriate price tag, and this dinner in a romantic little bistro in a cute little town was cheaper than most of our lunches at only $33. I know Maui is expensive, but I struggled with it the entire trip as we are used to visiting all-inclusive resorts (and I am cheap). So finding excellent quality with affordable prices in a quaint setting was the perfect ending to our vacation. Definitely worth the drive to the town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovessmalltowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
347 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Italian in Makawao”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Food is just OK and sometimes the service can be poor. Other times, both the food and the service are great. Go figure? It is a long drive from anywhere.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank The2TravelingFools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
174 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches for Haleakala trip!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This review is for the deli and not the restaurant. The pleasant lady made us some great sandwiches to bring to the summit for dinner. Worth the side trip before heading to the summit and make sure to check out the delish sandwiches!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ_Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casanova Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Casanova Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing