We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time and money well spent in Lahaina!”

Local Tastes of Maui
Ranked #8 of 13 Tours in Makawao
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come see the other side of Maui! Discover the treasures of the historic plantation towns! The walking tour visits either Paia on the North Shore or Makawao in Upcountry. Food samples and viewing work of local artists are included in the tour. You will hear the rich history of Makawao or Paia town while tasting the culinary treasures and experiencing the towns from a local perspective. Tour includes easy-listening audio device and discount card.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Time and money well spent in Lahaina!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

As first time visitors to Maui and food lovers, Cindy's tour of Lahaina was the perfect way to begin our visit. What could be better than two hours of meandering through a charming town sampling delicious, locally sourced and made food, while socializing with other visitors? Was a great experience, highly recommend. Cindy provided the group with headsets which enabled us to hear historical commentary while keeping up with the group at our own pace. The samples were plentiful (lots of yummy sweets to start the tour followed by savory selections at last few stops.) We knew exactly what we wanted to eat/buy more of during rest of our stay.

Support local business people and products by engaging in culinary enjoyment of any one (or all) of the towns where Cindy offers a tour--you won't be disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank twopals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    5
    1
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Tasty tour of Lahaina”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Cindi does a wonderful job of showcasing, small but excellent businesses in Lahaina. The business owners are all passionate about their food and it shows in their product. We went back to several of the businesses and they were happy to give us the 10% discount and in one case a larger discount for returning. We especially appreciated the headsets which allowed us to hear over traffic and while window shopping. This is the third food tour I've taken in 3 different states and by far the best tour value. Next trip we will try the Paia or Makawao tour or if time allows both.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MluH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
“Makawao Tour”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our third trip to the island of Maui and we were looking for a way to explore parts of the island we had yet to visit. Our tour ended up just being my husband and I (along with Cindi) which was fantastic. All the shop personnel were extremely friendly and we found several gifts to take home. All the shops are local merchants so you can feel good knowing you are getting a piece of the culture along with supporting the local econony. We had a great time learning the history of Makawao and sampling the best food of the island. We highly recommend this tour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Great Time”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was a great time with great Food. Cindy did a really good job explaining the history of Paia. We have been to Paia many times and always ate at the same place. Now we have lots of choices. Can't wait till next year to be able to try some good food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank babsisdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
“Great Morning in Lahaina”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The tour was great fun, informative, and introduced us to some wonderful businesses that we likely would have missed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Tastes of Maui also viewed

 

Been to Local Tastes of Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing