We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil paradise on Maui's North Shore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Makawao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Lumeria Maui is located amidst tropical country roads a few miles from the quaint hippie surfer town of Paia. Unlike the row of resorts stacked one on top of the other in Wailea, Lumeria is the only resort on its stretch of Baldwin Avenue. Its location lends it a serene quality, conducive to relaxation after a long day of sightseeing. The rooms are decorated in the style of old world luxury (no television, air conditioning, nor landline telephone) with Aveda amenities. A gentle breeze and ceiling fan keeps the rooms cool. There is complimentary tea and kona coffee available all day, and the onsite cafe serves continental and made to order breakfast, as well as a selection of lunch items, and a reservation-only dinner (note that there is no alcohol available onsite, though you are welcome to bring your own). There are several classes available throughout the day, including yoga, sunrise meditation, and aromatherapy (all are complimentary to guests). The property also has a full service spa onsite, and the massages are particularly good. The staff is outstanding and will go above and beyond to assist with anything you need, from activity planning to dinner recommendations. Note that Lumeria Maui does not have beach access, though it does have a natural saline pool and two jacuzzis onsite. Overall, this resort is not for everyone (probably not good for families looking to be in the midst of beaches and lots of activity), but for those seeking a tranquil and lush retreat in a beautiful setting, its restorative qualities will ensure that you return home much more relaxed than when you left.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3C, which faces the courtyard at the back of the property. It was quiet and had a wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieTFer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 551 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We looked for a hotel near Halekala crator, wanted to climb up before sunrise. The location is the only good thing about this hotel/motel. Didn't get any drinks when we arrived or left before sunrise. For the high price they should offer a free good coffe and a fruit to go. When we returned after a few hours thirsty and hungry (no food on the mountain early morning) we were dissaponted to find that for breakfast they offer bread, bread and bread. With butter and Jelly and sweet muffins... only carbs and fat. For an egg you need to pay $10 before tax ! We paid $330 for six hours of sleep and went out for breakfast. Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shosh1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

An amazing property that is a must-see/experience on the North Shore. The decor and environment is truly unique and captures the essence of what a stay in Maui should be. Relaxed, luxurious and eco-conscious. Just walking around the grounds will leave you feeling more at peace. Yoga classes are extensive, if you can stop by on a nice day so you can do it on the lawn while overlooking the ocean. It's a surreal experience for any visitor/local. Dinner here is also amazing, a steal for a three-course meal at $40 - unheard of on Maui.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My business parter and I just finished leading a women's immersion retreat at Lumeria, Maui Retreat center. It was truly a wonderful experience all around, and we are so grateful for all they did to make it special. Thank you Lumeria to all of your kind and caring staff, to Steven who went above and beyond to take care of us, and to the owner Xoren, who personally made sure we had an exceptional experience from start to finish. We will definitely be back next year and will continue to bring groups here for years to come.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Breathtaking is the only way I can describe the atmosphere at Lumeria Maui! To do their comprehensive detox program for rejuvenation, weight loss, healing or meditative time out, was just glorious. I felt like I was in a world of my own from the daily activities/classes and spa healing treatments, to the labyrinth, pool, easy access by car to the beach, and superbly landscaped grounds, the detox experience here was like none other I have done. It really is a place that takes my breath away while doing good things for body, mind ans spirit. I look forward to taking regular breaks here to detox and recharge.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms near the magnificent lounge and foyer areas which were so beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neal h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at the Lumeria for three nights. Initial impression on arrival were positive, nice grounds, nice room, exactly as the website depicted. However that's where it ends. The whole experience was a letdown.
-Breakfast is not worth getting up for.
-They forgot to make up the room one day, and then trying to get fresh towels was very difficult due to no phone in the room and staff unable to deal with the request.
-No bottled water supplied in the room.
-Internet not working on first night.
-Paper thin walls.
In general this place failed to deliver, when you are paying so much you expect a lot more. Overpriced and overrated.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charlie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumeriaMaui808, General Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Aloha charlie b,

I am so sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We take guest feedback very seriously, and we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. We are addressing each of the issues you brought up to make sure that future guests don't experience the same issues. We will address what changes can be made with our breakfast crew, we have already addressed the wifi issue by installing more wifi ports ("hubs") around the property, and we have hired a housekeeping manager to ensure that rooms are cleaned and refreshed to Lumeria standards.

We sincerely hope that you might give us a second chance.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Steven Berger
General Manager
Lumeria Maui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I loved staying at this place. My room was perfect. I go on retreats quite frequently, mostly at monasteries and the like. This place was truly a TREAT. The queen four poster bed was very comfortable and my room furnishings were pleasing to the eye. There was internet and nice products to use in the bathroom. The stone lined shower felt like a retreat into and of itself. Xorin, the guy who created Lumeria, was around the property saying hello to everyone, a very friendly person, easy to talk to. The view of the ocean was outstanding. They have gardeners every day maintaining the beautiful landscaping. The land there is very healthy and full of aloha, the last day one of our retreat teacher's son found a chameleon which I found absolutely magical. I'll miss my nightly excursions to the hot tub to watch sometimes the clouds blowing in the wind and sometimes the stars and moon. So beautiful, I felt very special being there!!! This review really doesn't do it justice.

Room Tip: there are rooms that face out towards the ocean, with decks. although they do face the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chanmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
13 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
24.9 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
15.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,220 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
14.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumeria Maui Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumeria Maui Retreat

Address: 1813 Baldwin Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-7710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Makawao
Price Range: $396 - $643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lumeria Maui Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lumeria Maui, an educational retreat experience that will feed your body, mind and soul while connecting you with the authentic rhythm of Maui island. We offer a nourishing living campus of relaxing beauty for individuals and groups with daily classes and programs in yoga, meditation, healing arts, water sports and much more. Accommodations are included with all classes and programs. Relax, rejuvenate and connect with your unique self as you open your mind and feed your body and spirit. Immerse yourself in one of our signature programs - yoga and or detox/cleanse - inspiring a life in balance. Located on Maui's north shore, our restored historic buildings-with island and ocean vistas-have been designed to envelop you in an intimate, authentic environment. We encourage you to wander through our beautiful organic gardens, which supply our farm-to-table dining and our signature Lumeria Detox-Cleanse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Lumeria Maui Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumeria Maui Retreat Makawao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing