We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lumeria = ReTreat Yourself”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Makawao
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Lumeria = ReTreat Yourself”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I loved staying at this place. My room was perfect. I go on retreats quite frequently, mostly at monasteries and the like. This place was truly a TREAT. The queen four poster bed was very comfortable and my room furnishings were pleasing to the eye. There was internet and nice products to use in the bathroom. The stone lined shower felt like a retreat into and of itself. Xorin, the guy who created Lumeria, was around the property saying hello to everyone, a very friendly person, easy to talk to. The view of the ocean was outstanding. They have gardeners every day maintaining the beautiful landscaping. The land there is very healthy and full of aloha, the last day one of our retreat teacher's son found a chameleon which I found absolutely magical. I'll miss my nightly excursions to the hot tub to watch sometimes the clouds blowing in the wind and sometimes the stars and moon. So beautiful, I felt very special being there!!! This review really doesn't do it justice.

Room Tip: there are rooms that face out towards the ocean, with decks. although they do face the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chanmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    80
    45
    22
    13
See reviews for
61
230
106
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rogue River, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The property is definitely gorgeous. Lots of flowering plants and the ocean view room we had was really well located on the property. Breakfast can be boring , but healthy with their farm to table mantra . Let's expand that Lumeria to locally produced to table.

The walls are paper thin as I and many other guest can attest to. Which can lead to loud and unnecessary noises. My wife would of appreciated some more hooks in the bathroom to dry towels and suits on.

The pool is not heated but I found it refreshing. Pretty decent hot tub.

The yoga room by the kitchen ., like others have said can have distracting noise.

Keep working at it Lumeria . Wish you luck.Mahalo.. I

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duckman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Situated in a magical location on Maui, reminicent of old world Hawaii and admist an active Farm to Table region, this hotel looks and feels great. Yet the team running the show behave less like a full service hotel and more like "visitor beware". Communication is not their strong suit; what s is creating a self contained, restful, and impeccable environment. Bring a flashlight as our room lighting was poor for late night reading in bed. Breakfast is included but there are no signs advising you of your options. Coffee and tea are plentiful and self serve. Spa services, which both myself and spouse indulged in, included a highly unique foot walking massage. Just call before you arrive to assure a space. The front desk is spotty. Make sure to get all you're suppose to from the desk , such as pool towels, robes and daily juices. Yoga classes are not always well timed for full day excursions of this rich and varied region.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivypivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The property is beautiful. Elegantly designed. The staff - the general manager - the front desk, the cleaners, chef and others are all outstanding. Friendly and efficient.
One feels like meditation in every spot in the area. Just a beautiful design.
The sitting areas - with amazing fire places - create spaces for conversations.
The shower floor is designed so that you get a foot massage while you shower.
So clearly 5 stars
But there are some weaknesses.
The rooms by the road are very noisy - non stop highway noise and cars being parked
The massage centre is simply horrible. Very bad experience. Over priced with low quality. Do not use.
For a conference, the main conference room while great for yoga is really bad for ppt and speeches - bad acoustics and lighting is really bad.
Extra blankets in the room would be nice
All in all an amazing place that is an antidote the poor city design that is maui.

Room Tip: Away from the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mystic18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

It is a very beautiful property and well worth a look if you want something different from the regular resort experience. The room I had was excellent with lots of natural light and breeze which meant the lack of air con was not an issue at all. The decoration of room and bathroom were really nice and this extended into the whole resort which is really well thought out.

I did not have a chance to take any classes but did have a fantastic massage while staying there and hope to return some time soon.

Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in December and were overall very pleased. We still dream about how relaxing and peaceful the property was and how it brought that out in us. The whispering pines with hammocks were a wonderful surprise, and overall the grounds were incredible. The building itself is also beautifully restored and a joy to explore and find spots to relax in. Lumeria certainly lives up to its promise of a relaxing retreat.

We had a room at the end of the the U-shaped building near the pool, which was great -- no one was walking in front of our room, and we spent a lot of time on the patio outside our room. Because there is no air conditioning, you basically have to leave the windows open at night to cool down, which was fine. Our first night was quiet and wonderful. However, on our second night, a group of maybe 6 friends checked in for a birthday celebration, and we heard them in the rooms around us talking and laughing and moving furniture (?) until well after midnight, then they moved to the pool/hot tub until probably 3am. It was impossible to sleep with their racket going on and we just got more and more frustrated.

So, with the wrong set of guests, this property is certainly not relaxing nor peaceful nor worth any price. I wish they would do more to encourage responsible, considerate behavior in guests, though of course everyone else staying there was great. You're taking a bit of unpredictable risk on whether you'll actually sleep or not at Lumeria, which is a really significant, unfortunate aspect of this otherwise incredible place.

Room Tip: It depends on the manners of the other guests. Hope you luck out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumeriaMaui808, Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Aloha Kevin G,

We are happy to hear that you found Lumeria to be relaxing and peaceful, enabling you to connect with that inside of yourself! We were hoping that folks would appreciate the hammocks in Whispering Pine Forest, and we're so glad you enjoyed them!
We're so sorry to hear that your stay at Lumeria was marred by the experience of noisy and impolite guests. We are grateful that folks who stay with us are generally pretty self-selected, seeking the peaceful, relaxing, sanctury-like atmosphere that we offer. Our goal is for the ambiance on property to naturally suggest a calmer, quieter way of being while guests are here, much like you experienced. Occasionally, however, we do get groups of louder guests. When possible, we will work to put parties of people in rooms farther away from other guests. We are also working on a set of gentle suggestions for daily behaviors for folks while on retreat. These suggestions will be placed in all in-rooms binders.
We so appreciate your feedback - the issue you bring up is a good one, and is very important to us. Our mission is for all of our guests to experience a tranquil, relaxing, rejuvenating experience here, and encouraging responsible, courteous behavior is very important.

Mahalo Nui Loa ~ We hope to see you here again!

- The Lumeria Maui Reservations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

OK, we had the Ali'i Suite (which was quite beautiful), so we had no experience with any other guest rooms. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The food was just OK, but there were two exceptional restaurants nearby, Mama's Fish House and Haliimaile General Store. My wife said the yoga instruction was superb. We'd stay there agin in a minute (assuming we could get the same suite).

Room Tip: The Ali'i Suite is quite remarkable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronkaplanphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
24.9 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
15.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
13.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
452 reviews
14.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
15.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumeria Maui Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumeria Maui Retreat

Property: Lumeria Maui Retreat
Address: 1813 Baldwin Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-7710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lumeria Maui Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lumeria Maui, an educational retreat experience that will feed your body, mind and soul while connecting you with the authentic rhythm of Maui island. We offer a nourishing living campus of relaxing beauty for individuals and groups with daily classes and programs in yoga, meditation, healing arts, water sports and much more. Accommodations are included with all classes and programs. Relax, rejuvenate and connect with your unique self as you open your mind and feed your body and spirit. Immerse yourself in one of our signature programs - yoga and or detox/cleanse - inspiring a life in balance. Located on Maui's north shore, our restored historic buildings-with island and ocean vistas-have been designed to envelop you in an intimate, authentic environment. We encourage you to wander through our beautiful organic gardens, which supply our farm-to-table dining and our signature Lumeria Detox-Cleanse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Lumeria Maui Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumeria Maui Retreat Makawao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing