We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Manager will make all the difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Makawao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We loved the design of the property although one side of it is on a busy road so if traffic bothers you ask for a room on the other side of the property. We had many difficulties with our stay which ended up making what I was hoping would be a relaxing unwind visit into a stressful start. I would mark the place down for that but having met the new manager on the last evening and watching her already implement much needed changes and be a visible presence I would say that this will end up fulfilling its promise for a great time away. You do need your own transport and currently you will need to organize lunch and dinner on the property at least 24 hours in advance

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank INGT310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumeriaMaui808, General Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear INGT310,

Thank you so much for your response.
It was a pleasure meeting you in the lobby the day after you checked in. Hopefully the remainder of your visit with us and in Hawaii was most enjoyable. We aim to provide the highest service levels possible and your comments are very important to us. Please let me know when you will next be returning to Maui and Lumeria so I can ensure that you are well taken care of.
I look forward to your return,

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Janis Clapoff
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 546 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I finished off our trip to Maui with a wonderful 3 night stay at Lumeria. The resort is a magical little piece of heaven that completely surpassed our expectations! The classes, the rooms, grounds, breakfasts and deep-feet lumi-lumi massage were all memorable. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dobermomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumeriaMaui808, Front Office Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Aloha Dobermomma,

Thank you so much for your review of our retreat center! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back here!

Mahalo Nui Loa,

- Lumeria Maui Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife researched a long time to find the right place to stay during our trip to Maui. We did not want a "mega-resort", but still wanted something with a feel of luxury. We also wanted something quiet and romantic. Lumeria was the perfect choice.

The rooms almost have a "cottage" feel to them, and there were hammocks right off the porch. The furnishings were nice and bed super comfy (or we were super tired). The bathroom has an awesome walk-in shower. There is no air conditioning, but you do get a ceiling fan. It cooled off outside quite a bit at night and there was a nice breeze, but I still got a little warm at night (even with the fan on high). It was not much of an issue in November, but in summer months it might be a bit more uncomfortable at night.

The resort is tucked away on a hill with beautiful views of the ocean, city lights and night sky. It is very intimate and quiet, with less than 20 rooms. We rarely saw other guests, and at night everyone respected that peace and quiet. Laying outside by the fire pit and looking at the stars quickly became our favorite way to unwind after a beautiful day on Maui.

We did not participate in any of the yoga activities, but there were certainly plenty of offerings. We kept busy with sightseeing in the local area. Lumeria is located very nicely for starting the "Road to Hana" or driving to the top of Haleakala for sunrise or sunset. There is also a ZipLine tour about 15 minutes away that was great fun.

The resort has a dinner every night at 6:30pm, with a set menu. A 24 hour notice is required, so if you think you want dinner there the first night of your stay, be sure to call ahead before your arrival. You can also order a box lunch. You get a small fridge in your room, so I would recommend stocking up on some drinks and snacks before you arrive.

We found plenty of great restaurants in the quaint towns of Paia and Makawao. Both are about a 10 minute drive, and both offer two distinct "feels" (Paia is a surf town, while Makawao has more of a "cowboy" feel).

There is not a lot of nightlife around the resort, and after 8pm, there is not much to do except relax. So, if that is not your thing, Lumeria may not be for you. But, if you are looking for some quality "couple" time, then you can ask for nothing better.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the ocean are very quiet, and the farthest away from the parking lot and pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JollyMon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumeriaMaui808, Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Chris L,

Mahalo Nui Loa for your review of Lumeria Maui! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we so appreciate your accurate and comprehensive review of our property, dining options, activities and the surrounding area. We love when couples stay with us, whether they are on a "couples retreat" together, on a honeymoon, or simply enjoying a vacation together, and we're so happy that our sanctuary offers such a peaceful and romantic experience for traveling couples!

We hope to see you here at Lumeria Maui again!

- Lisa Giegler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Lumeria Maui is the perfect place for a group to gather and Re-Treat. The staff, accommodations, facility, grounds, food...all was such a Treat! We had a group of 45 for 10 days and I can attest to the positive experience of all- it was an absolute pleasure. We have already booked our return for 2015.
Thank you for creating this perfect gathering spot on beautiful Maui!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumeriaMaui808, Owner at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Aloha Jen!

Thank you for your review of Lumeria! We were honored to have you here, and we look forward to having you back in 2015. We're so glad you enjoyed the property, facilities and food! Retreats like yours are why we do what we do, and it is such a pleasure to witness folks having such a wonderful and transformational time here.

Mahalo Nui Loa~

- The Lumeria Maui 'Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Lumeria is a magical place in every possible way! Our group enjoyed the wonderful food, fabulous yoga and excellent treatments! The staff was excellent and so friendly and helpful with our many events and dinners and we all had a marvelous time!

Room Tip: The rooms are all exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumeriaMaui808, Front Office Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Aloha Pam H,

Thank you so much for your review! We're so glad that the "Send Me On Vacation" group enjoyed our food, yoga and well-being treatments, and we hope to see you back here at Lumeria Maui in the future. We so appreciate you taking the time to tell us how we did.

Mahalo,

Tina Klapperich
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our stay was really great. We didn't have a lot of time but the 3 days recharged us and were awesome. The staff, the grounds, the room, the food and the location couldn't have been better. I hope we get an opportunity to come back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumeriaMaui808, Front Office Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Aloha Paul,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We hope you enjoyed your dinners here, along with your massages! Shaun said that he really enjoyed working with you, and wishes you all the best.
We hope to see you back here again!

- The Lumeria Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

For our first trip to Maui, celebrating our anniversary and birthdays, we wanted to avoid the typical high rise, high stress, high glitz one stop shop resorts and hotels that look the same in every city. We also wanted to have a natural experience of Maui. Lumeria was all that we desired and more. Everything is tastefully done at Lumeria from the buildings and rooms to the landscaping and every contact with the staff. The food served is excellent and locally grown and prepared, including fresh squeezed fruit or vegetable juices available each morning. The resort is in Up Country Maui so there is every opportunity to enjoy the mountain,valley and ocean both as views from the property or through leisurely drives through the countryside. There is lots to do and see in this part of Maui with excellent restaurants nearby, and you are close enough to the resort areas to visit them if you wish. We did that one day and confirmed that we were correct in choosing Lumeria as our home base. If you are looking for a relaxing, energizing, healthful vacation in Maui, Lumeria is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Make your reservation as early as possible then call and talk with the staff about your room prefere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMiltonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumeriaMaui808, General Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Aloha DMiltonG,

We are so glad that you chose to avoid the typical hotel/resort vacation, and came to Lumeria instead! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We aim to create an environment of "easy elegance" for our guests - our staff members take great care and pride in the work that they do, and and we are grateful that you had such an enjoyable experience here. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our fresh squeezed juices, the views from the property and the excellent restaurants in our vicinity! We are honored to be living in such a beautiful place with such abundance, and we are grateful to be able to share our home with folks from around the world.

Mahalo Nui Loa~
We hope to see you here again!

Lisa Giegler,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
13.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,176 reviews
24.9 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
15.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,212 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
14.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumeria Maui Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumeria Maui Retreat

Address: 1813 Baldwin Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-7710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Makawao
Price Range: $395 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lumeria Maui Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lumeria Maui, an educational retreat experience that will feed your body, mind and soul while connecting you with the authentic rhythm of Maui island. We offer a nourishing living campus of relaxing beauty for individuals and groups with daily classes and programs in yoga, meditation, healing arts, water sports and much more. Accommodations are included with all classes and programs. Relax, rejuvenate and connect with your unique self as you open your mind and feed your body and spirit. Immerse yourself in one of our signature programs - yoga and or detox/cleanse - inspiring a life in balance. Located on Maui's north shore, our restored historic buildings-with island and ocean vistas-have been designed to envelop you in an intimate, authentic environment. We encourage you to wander through our beautiful organic gardens, which supply our farm-to-table dining and our signature Lumeria Detox-Cleanse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lumeria Maui Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumeria Maui Retreat Makawao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing