We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Peace Of Maui(Makawao)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$153
$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$229
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$595
$577
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$359
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$529
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveler rating
399
104
63
25
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
104
63
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga classesfarm to tableup countryspa treatmentsmana foodsfire pitbeautiful propertyincluded breakfastwhispering pinespool and jacuzziminute driveyogurtceiling fanheaven on earththere is no air conditioningrooms are smallnorth shore
Filter
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 611 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I had an amazing 9 day experience at Lumeria. Lumeria truly worked its magic on us and we returned home renewed. There was so much to enjoy at Lumeria including the skillful and fun yoga and meditation classes as well as the relaxing pool/jacuzzi that we had to ourselves or shared with a few. The grounds were stunning! I was grateful for each day I passed or walked through the lawn with the beautiful Buddha sitting at the end and the view of farms beyond. There were so many flowers and trees to enjoy all in such a serene environment. The whispering pine forest was right outside our door and we fell asleep to its sounds. While all of these things were special to our trip, we felt most taken care of by Lisa, the new GM as well as Xorin. Lisa helped us with so many things and truly went out of her way to make sure we were well and supported. We know you and Lumeria will thrive! Namaste...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 02115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Lumeria lived up to all our expectations and more! Our family of four spend three nights at this luxiourous, heavenly and peaceful retreat in July. Tina at the front desk was extremely helpful. Our room was ready before check in time as requested. We were in one bedroom suite that was quite spacious with a day bed in the front room big enough for our two kids (12 and 9). The grounds are absolutely well manicured and inviting. Kids loved the pool and the spa. Because the property is quite small, we had the pool and the restaurant (for breakfast) to our selves many times. We took one yoga class as a family and the hubby did couple by himself. Only wish the classes were held outdoors on the beautiful lawn while were there. We ran into Xorin most days on the property and exchanged pleasantries. He inquired about our stay as I was checking out on the last day. We drove into Paia for dinner every night as we weren't sure how the kids would respond to pre-set dinner menu at the restaurant. Breakfast (included as part of the stay) was simple but delicious. Tina also booked stand up paddle board lessons for the kids and they had a blast.

If you want to escape the mega resorts and still be within 30 minutes from the heart of Maui North Shore, Lumeria is your place! The mountains surrounding the property are magical! I cannot wait to go back and see what new things they have in store!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyBagsRAlwaysPacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We took a flyer on this hotel because we found it while searching for places to stay in the area. We like the hilly parts of Maui and enjoy a break from the bustle of tourism. The Lumeria has completely lived up to expectation and even surpassed it. There is no way to capture 'the feeling' of a place with pictures and only few, talented writers, can do it with words. All I will say is -- a MUST STAY if you want to de-stress, re-invigorate or simple enjoy unbelievably beautiful surroundings. The care and attention to detail here will amaze.

Room Tip: They are all spectacular and individual
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TFTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We found our two-night stay at Lumeria to be lovely. The buildings and grounds are truly special and the staff is great. When we first arrived, Christine warmly greeted us and gave us a tour. One of their groundskeepers, Mario, went out of his way to be friendly and helpful. The next day there were a few different staff members on the grounds (I wish I could remember their names, because they were exceptionally welcoming and helpful as well).
We found Lumeria's location to be a great base for exploring. During our stay we went on a hike at Twin Falls, explored the main streets in Pa'ia and Makawao, and went out to eat at Hailimaile General Store and Mamas Fish House, all of these activities and restaurants were close by. I loved the balance between exploring the surrounding areas a bit and then coming back to Lumeria and relaxing by the pool or in a hammock. While I was there I tried 3 different yoga classes and there were just a few people in each ( 2/3 classes had subs so that may not be normal). I enjoyed having yoga right on the property. We also had 2 great massages with Vicky (lomi lomi and hot-stone) while we were there. The rooms are smaller than a standard hotel room, but beautifully appointed, there is also a porch and daybed just outside each room. I highly recommend Lumeria.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KK90405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the Lumeria. The hotel has only been open a year so I think people should cut them some slack as they figure out the kinks. We couldn't have been happier. Everyone was extremely friendly and they went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We spent two nights there then drove to Hana where we had planned to stay for two nights. We were so disappointed by the Travaasa Hana Hotel that we canceled our second night to return to the Lumeria (luckily they had room for us). We couldn't wait to get there. The rooms were spacious, high ceilings, beautiful, comfortable and clean. Our children (6 & 8) loved it as well. The new general manager gave our girls a private 30min yoga session, for free, and just because! Incredible. Also, they just finished the pool 4 months ago and Xorin's plans for the hotel are so exciting. 40 acres of walking and running trails, fruit trees and they'll build another building to use as their restaurant. The only thing I would mention was that I thought the chef didn't need to try so hard to be exotic with the meal. More simple flavors would have been more than sufficient. Let the food quality speak for iteself. It also would have been helpful to have a vegetarian option and to know in advance that it was BYOB. But we will be back for sure. We loved every minute there.

Room Tip: we stayed in a King suite on the edge of the pine tree and hammock "forest". There was no door to separate the king bed from the double bed though, so would only work for a family.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumeriaMaui808, Guest Relations Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Heather!

Thank you so much for your review. It was so nice to have you here, and we are all looking forward to when you all come back to stay with us again! We hope the girls continue to practice yoga - their Tree Poses were amazing - just like our trees in the Whispering Pine Forest behind the Yoga Shala!
We hope that we've planted seeds for their yoga practice to continue throughout their lives!
Have a wonderful rest of the summer!

Aloha,

The Lumeria Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews