We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Makawao
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Get Away!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is is just the place to get away from the crowd. With only 24 rooms, and most people away on day trips, it is truly serene. Just the place to relax on the porches and lawn, read a good book, enjoy the cool breezes, and not think about work. No fighting for a pool chair here.... The dining room serves delicious, gourmet meals with friendly service - but you come and eat as you are, even barefoot. No dress up here. Up country Maui is beautiful, and the close-by towns of Paia and Makaweo also have good restaurants and shopping. Also, it is a good place to start or end your drive to Haleakula - a national park not to be missed. Even if you don't do yoga, you are welcome in the classes if you want to try. This is more than a yoga retreat - it is a place to kick back and take care of yourself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in building 3 - it has good cross-breeze in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLGhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    82
    46
    22
    13
See reviews for
62
237
108
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and recently returned from our honeymoon at Lumeria Maui and we would definitely say that our stay at Lumeria was wonderfully transformational. Everything there was simply beautiful. From the immaculate grounds, to the decor which includes beautiful pieces of art from many different cultures, to the incredibly comfortable rooms. The level of detail that Xorin put in to the design of Lumeria is incredible. We were able to relax and enjoy ourselves completely. The staff also did a wonderful job of taking care of us. I honestly felt that they enjoyed their jobs and wanted to help you enjoy the experience. Also, the yoga and meditation classes that we took were excellent and my wife and I keep talking about how inspirational the instructors were. We were even able to make friends with a really nice couple from Oakland that I hope will be life-long friends of ours. I do not have a single complaint except that I had to leave, but my wife and I are reading Xorin's book "Soul Space" and trying to incorporate his philosophy on design into our lives as well as the wonderful inspiration that we found while staying at Lumeria. You cannot do better than to stay at Lumeria.

-Linden T.

Room Tip: I liked being on the same side as the yoga room and the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linden T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I didn't sleep over night at Lumeria but did attend some yoga classes at Lumeria. They have done a wonderful job with the interior and exterior design of the building. It is a tranquil, peaceful space and the grounds are incredible. Perfect mix of structure and wild landscaping. The yoga studio is small but fully equipped with mats, bolsters, blocks. There are lots of windows so the breeze can float in all directions. A lovely place to do yoga, if it is not too hot out, I saw some yogis practicing outside on the lawn.
I wish we could of stayed over night in one of the rooms. I saw a few of them as house keeping was working and they do look just as beautiful as the website photos make them out to be.
It is not close to the water and you do need a car. Approximate drive to Paia town and beach is 10-15 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I had planned a 2 week vacation with one week at Lumeria and the second week on the Big Island. We found Lumeria through Groupon. After three days at Lumeria, we decided to cancel our other reservations to remain at Lumeria for the second week and continue to drink in its magical healing power. This is a truly peaceful and inspiring place to spend a vacation. It has an exceptional setting, incredible interior and landscape design, delicious and healthy breakfasts and dinners, a very attentive staff and excellent yoga instruction (and the showers are amazing!) .... Lumeria isn't just a great small hotel, it's a perfect retreat to deeply rest, reflect and re-energize.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I came here with my yoga teacher and 10 others, dubious at first because I have been to some funky yoga retreats.

Lumeria is incredible! It is 7 minutes upcountry from Pa'ia town. the rooms and grounds are gorgeous. Beds comfy, decor elegant. You do need a vehicle!

The grounds are beyond compare. The planting, native foliage sculptures, grasses wafting in the breeze views of the ocean, clouds and mountains are mesmerizing .Lots of elegant oversize outdoor furniture, fire pits at night.

Great place to honeymoon, or have a wedding - old world Hawaiian charm plus there are yoga classes 2 x daily for guests.

It has been open since jan so they are ironing out some kinks, everyone here is warm, helpful, happy to please and smile a lot! Breakfasts are good, healthy buffet with fruit, yogurt breads. Dinner had been ihit or miss.

I will come back for sure especially after the pool/ spa/ amenities. Are in - future plans for lumeria.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank healerdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I just returned from a week-long yoga retreat at Lumeria, situated between Makawao and Paia, two of Maui's quaintest towns. When I tell you this is the most beautiful, tranquil, perfectly conceived and executed property I've ever visited, I'm still not adequately conveying its singularity. Xorin Balbes is not just an aesthetic genius (from architecture & design to museum quality furnishings and art) but someone who clearly understands the essence of contemplative relaxation. The property is surrounded by stunning views of mountain and sea; outdoor areas are serviced by gentle trade winds, hammocks, evening fire pits and refreshing lemon/mint/rosemary water. The food was sublime, prepared each evening by chef Tyler Woodard, a real gem, whose salads, soups, fish and fresh vegetables were exactly what one yearned for at the end of the day. I was particularly drawn to the gray stone Buddha sitting in a bed of lush red vegetation on the courtyard lawn; at night, candles around his base create a magical vision against the backdrop of twinkling Paia under a star-studded sky. Lumeria is Nirvana.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a "bad" room at Lumeria. There is no pool, which is lovely, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liznola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I had a life-changing experience at Lumeria. Xorin Balbes created a perfect sanctuary in Maui. No detail is missed in this breathtaking, immaculate, and meticulously designed retreat center. The cuisine was fresh, tasty and of course health. Everyone at the retreat center took time to make it the best vacation possible.Situated close to Paia, we were able to explore the island of Maui without difficulty. In addition there is so much to do close by, such as hiking, waterfalls, and shopping. I feel so lucky to have experienced such an amazing place. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
24.9 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
15.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
13.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
470 reviews
14.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
15.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumeria Maui Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumeria Maui Retreat

Property: Lumeria Maui Retreat
Address: 1813 Baldwin Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-7710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lumeria Maui Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lumeria Maui, an educational retreat experience that will feed your body, mind and soul while connecting you with the authentic rhythm of Maui island. We offer a nourishing living campus of relaxing beauty for individuals and groups with daily classes and programs in yoga, meditation, healing arts, water sports and much more. Accommodations are included with all classes and programs. Relax, rejuvenate and connect with your unique self as you open your mind and feed your body and spirit. Immerse yourself in one of our signature programs - yoga and or detox/cleanse - inspiring a life in balance. Located on Maui's north shore, our restored historic buildings-with island and ocean vistas-have been designed to envelop you in an intimate, authentic environment. We encourage you to wander through our beautiful organic gardens, which supply our farm-to-table dining and our signature Lumeria Detox-Cleanse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Lumeria Maui Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumeria Maui Retreat Makawao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing