We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yoga Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Makawao
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yoga Paradise”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Lumeria in May as a prospective location for our retreats at The Travel Yogi. The location is stunning and zen but at the same time cozy and extremely welcoming. The staff are amazing and the benches outside each room are welcoming for the outdoor relaxation you crave in Hawaii. Paia is a fun visit but leaving the property just isn't necessary :). Needless to say we are pleased and privileged to have our retreats hosted at Lumeria Maui. Thank you Xorin and crew.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    80
    45
    22
    13
See reviews for
61
230
106
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monarch Beach CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have stayed at a lot of resorts on Maui over the past 20 years but this was a whole new experience. It was like seeing the island for the first time. Lumeria was not resorty or commercial but steeped in authenticity and what the Hawaiian's must mean by the Aloha spirit. The retreat is very high-end on every level, except price, but still surprisingly maintains a casual vibe. Going to breakfast in barefeet did not draw attention. Located in a quiet residential/estate area near pineapple and sugar cane fields it's just a quick drive from the airport. The moment we drove through the entry gates we knew we had arrived somewhere special. From the manicured gardens, restored historical buildings to the luxurious rooms nothing has been left to chance. I agree with everyone on this site's positive comments regarding the property including the common areas, food, art, hospitality, yoga and ongoing "wow" factor. You really have to see it to believe it. Also, the warmth and friendliness of the owners and staff can't be overstated. This is a retreat and a great place to just relax and unwind but if you have a car and want to venture out there's beaches, hiking, shopping, galleries and dining nearby. Don't miss Flatbread restaurant just down the hill in Paia, so good we went there twice in one day.

Cant' wait to go back to Lumeria...I've been home for days and I still can't get over it.

Linda M.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

If you're looking for something world-class and unique, but unplugged and in touch, check in to Lumeria. Each detail has been thought-out: from the healthful food to furniture to the healthful yoga classes. I left feeling wonderful and alive. Plus, though the area is rural, it's close to funky Paia and some beaches that are as beautiful as they get. This isn't a place with water slides for the kids. Rather, think retreat center with elegance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

There are not many places like this in the world and I feel truly lucky to have stumbled across it.

When looking for a rather luxurious and interesting hotel to stay for a honeymoon, for curious, design oriented people we face limited options. The world ( and the US in particular) is full of bland chain resort hotels, and while a four seasons may offer comfort, service and wonderful beds, it's drastically expensive and painfully bland.

You find a whole tranche of owner run "boutique" hotels that are either run by clueless but well meaning management at best, or more likely "design hotels" that are missold by businessmen willing to buy a few items from Ikea and a chinese knockoff Barcelona chair to get into the elusive travel market of young designey people.

There are a handful of hotels that offer things as wonderful as beautiful, thoughtful design, wonderful but genuine service, and the use of top class materials, and this is one of them.

Lumeria is a stunning place, a hotel perched on the side of a abundantly green mountain, with great views and a real sense of peace.

It's staffed by warm people and it's clear that others who stay there are happy.

It's full of some of the most beautiful and expensive items I've ever seen, it's more like paying a token amount of money to stay in a billionaire friends house.

It offers a fantastic array of Yoga, Pilates and other classes, each of which was superbly taught.

I can't recommend this place enough, and while I really hate to sound a bit obnoxious, the reality is that this is a rare chance to stay somewhere where you feel good about supporting a relatively small business, where you get a rare mixture of luxury and design and where you get a perfect balance between staying somewhere with a personality and a focus on health and well being, without feeling either like it's a bit of a weird cult or obviously alternative, but also not that rather annoying wealth driven trendy faux hollywood style spirituality.

My only comments are the following.
- This is not about a resort feeling and in many ways a swimming pool would be totally against the spirit of the place, but potential guest should be aware there is a stunning large flat lawn, with a wonderful view, but no swimming pool.
- Given how wonderfully thought through everything was, and given the abundance of amazing local ingredients, the free breakfast is a little uninspired, there are great opportunities to work with locals to get some stunning local fayre to eat.
- It would be great to see the activities develop into a few more things, I feel like guided walks or some kind of cycle trips and similar could be an excellent extension.

Thanks for letting us stay, this was a wonderful few days of our honeymoon in a truly unique place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank themoosieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2012

beautiful place, wonderful staff, great towns nearby, can't wait to go back. something vey special about the energy there....

Room Tip: love the ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica,
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband and I recently returned from our magical stay at Lumeria. Zorin and Jason have created a sacred, healing place where one immediately feels welcomed and at home. The love and intention they have put into the creation and day to day running of Lumeria is evident everywhere you look.
The views are stunning, the rooms beautifully decorated and the beds among the most comfortable I’ve slept on.
The yoga teachers are excellent and the breakfasts delicious.
Were are already planning our summer visit to Lumeria.
Heather and Dan Tormey

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I walked in and was awestruck, by the beauty. I travel on business all the time, but when I got here on vacation, I knew that I had picked the perfect spot. The grounds are lush, the views are gorgeous, and the amentities are first class. The food was fantastic,and their garden as beautiful. The yoga classes were amazing. They:re minutes from the beach that I was able to walk everyday. I had 5 rainbows in 5 days which was awesome. The lobby area was like being in another world. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
24.9 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
15.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
13.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
452 reviews
14.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
15.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumeria Maui Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumeria Maui Retreat

Property: Lumeria Maui Retreat
Address: 1813 Baldwin Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-7710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lumeria Maui Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lumeria Maui, an educational retreat experience that will feed your body, mind and soul while connecting you with the authentic rhythm of Maui island. We offer a nourishing living campus of relaxing beauty for individuals and groups with daily classes and programs in yoga, meditation, healing arts, water sports and much more. Accommodations are included with all classes and programs. Relax, rejuvenate and connect with your unique self as you open your mind and feed your body and spirit. Immerse yourself in one of our signature programs - yoga and or detox/cleanse - inspiring a life in balance. Located on Maui's north shore, our restored historic buildings-with island and ocean vistas-have been designed to envelop you in an intimate, authentic environment. We encourage you to wander through our beautiful organic gardens, which supply our farm-to-table dining and our signature Lumeria Detox-Cleanse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Lumeria Maui Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumeria Maui Retreat Makawao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing