We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unattended, self-service only”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Peace Of Maui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peace Of Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unattended, self-service only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

During my stay there I didn't see the host at all. The rooms are unattended. Everything is self-service by posted signs. You can use the kitchen but you are expected to clean the dishes, dry them, put them back and wipe the counter. Bathroom and shower are down the hall. I saw a male guest come out of his room in his briefs. Price is low though. Wish someone is there taking care of the guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    38
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
13
57
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed in the cottage and it was very comfortable for two. Lots of thoughtful extras for your comfort and cooking while staying here. Host very friendly and knowledgeable. Convenient location upcountry. Bed was comfortable. Seemed a very good value considering other options on Maui. It is not fancy but not contrived either. The cottage was $200 per night including taxes and cleaning. A negative for us was the road noise which was persistent most of the night...only dampened by the pouring rain. It is winter!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGA8401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have stayed at Tammi's place several times.
It is clean and well maintained. It is like a b & b,
except you make your own breakfast. There is a complete
kitchen, open all the time. Just bring and fix your meals.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have stayed at God's peace of Maui numerous times. Each time we enjoyed our experience. There was even one time we had a last minute visitor join us and they were able to accommodate us. We usually make our first night at God's Peace and then head to Hana in the morning. Great location to easily access all parts of Maui. Will definitely stay here again. Great bathrooms/showers/kitchen. Plenty of supplies and even games and books. The fruit trees are always a pleasant treat as well.

Room Tip: If you would like a more private experience the banana hut is the room for you...keep in mind you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelv96744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Myself and my travel buddies loved staying at Peace of Maui during our first Hawaiian vacation! I knew when I was looking for somewhere to stay I did NOT want to stay with a load of other tourists. We are far more interested in the out-in-the-country kind of feel. No, I couldn't walk right out of our room onto a beach from Peace of Maui, but I was looking for something rural and I did not think the distance we had to travel to get to one was terrible at all! I felt like were were central to everything we wanted to do. Go up to Haleakala for a hike, take a scenic drive (like on the Road to Hana, lots to do on that day trip!), and yes, spend some time on the beaches and join in on snorkeling excursions. Our plan from the start was to rent a car so having to drive each day was something we expected and willingly accepted.

For us, booking was easy and the owner was awesome! We stayed for a week in the Cottage so we had essentially a small home to ourselves on the property- its own bathroom, living room with a TV, kitchen, dining room, washer and dryer, porch with seating and covered parking. For this reason I cannot speak to the other accomodation options- I know there was a shared kitchen in the main house for guests. There is a hot tub but we didn't use it. The owner's family lives upstairs and guests stay in rooms downstairs. Awesome views from our porch! Honestly, the mattresses and pillows were the most comfortable I've ever slept on! I felt so rested even when we went to bed late and had to wake up early for our day's adventures. Peace of Maui has a much more rustic, lived-in feel which is completely our taste- not modern and sterile. She also has a large collection of beach accessories (skim boards, boogie boards, snorkel gear, ect) that she gives guests access to for no additional charge that you can use indefinately during your trip.

The only potential drawback that I can assume others might see is "cleanliness". Like I mentioned, it's does not have a sterile feel like most hotels I've stayed in which I was thankful for. We did fine critters inside- salamanders and bugs- but we was not put off by this at all! We thought it was pretty cool to come home from our day trips to find a little lizard sleeping in our fresh cut flowers or a colorful tropical bug on the wall :) It in no way felt unhealthy to us.

We didn't spend much time in the Cottage other than dinner, planning for the next day's adventure and sleeping, but I absolutely loved staying there! I not only recommend it for others but if we go to Maui again I am likely to check availability here first!

VISIT THEIR WEBSITE FOR PICTURES AND MORE INFORMATION!

Room Tip: I would recommend nothing less than the Cottage if you have enough people for that to make sense (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

It's not a bad little out of the way place, don't get me wrong. It's very quiet, and the breeze off the mountain is worth it. However I'd caution that its not a B&B in the traditional sense. You do get a reasonably comfortable bed, but breakfast is instant oatmeal and the like. It's all well organized if you want to go and buy some food for your stay, but be aware that that's pretty pricey as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nejrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The location is great if you're looking for nature, a retreat from the busy touristy areas. You will have to drive a bit to get to the touristy sides of town. Quiet and peaceful and the surroundings are nice. The building itself is a bit rundown inside. It's all relative I suppose, in Hawaii and in Maui things in general are rundown. Self-service and cheap pricing (for Maui) make it a plus. However I don't get all these 5-star reviews for cleanliness. This place is closer to a hostel and not a bed and breakfast. Never stayed in a hostel, but if you value cleanliness this place might not be for you. We stayed in the lodge, so can't comment on the cottage.The room itself was acceptable, but the bathrooms made me feel dirty. I wore shower shoes. I never used the kitchen or living area, it didn't feel clean. Didn't see the other guests much, and they pretty much kept to themselves. Sound between rooms was average, can hear the toilet flushing (next door) and doors shutting. The breeze was nice and could hear birds in the morning. All in all though, I like things to feel and look clean, so I won't be returning here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Island G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
23.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
9.1 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
9.2 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
12.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Of Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Of Maui

Property: Peace Of Maui
Address: 1290 Haliimaile Rd, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-9611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide vacationers with a great experience all around. We have a great location in Maui and very affordable rates. We are located on 2 acres with many fruits trees and views of the ocean and mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Peace Of Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Of Maui Hotel Makawao
Peace Of Maui Makawao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing