We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Comfortable and Friendly”
Review of Peace Of Maui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Peace Of Maui
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for a week and loved it! Affordable with prices comparable to hostels, but much cleaner and quieter! Tammi is fabulous and friendly, the atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming, the kitchen and bedrooms comfortable, and the variety of wonderful people to meet amazing. The numerous fruit trees in the yard are icing on the cake! We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 134 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed three nights there and loved it ! The owner was very nice and welcoming and the place is great to meet people. Everybody there was relaxed and we had some good get to know each others chats. There's a super equipped kitchen which was great to prepare lunch and dinners. Unlike what I read on some of the review, the hottub was clean and super hot which was awesome after a day hike on the haleakala ! Tammy, thank you for this very enjoyable stay !

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent83_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I was there for 2 nights and enjoyed it very much. Everything is sparkling clean and the bed super comfortable with nice linnen. There is a nice kitchen and living room where one meets people from all over the world.
And it is close to the beaches and Paia actually close to everything as Maui is a small island

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed here in March of 2012. It was very clean, quiet, and peaceful. The owner is a very kind, chill person. Dinner and a beach sunset are just mere minutes away in Paia Town - very fun atmosphere in the evenings. We enjoyed the hot tub in the late evening, while stargazing and listening to nothing, but the sounds of various wild life chirping all around us. This was the first time I have ever stayed in a place with shared bathrooms and it was such a relief to find several bathroom that were very clean and never unavailable. It was a stay that exceeded our expectations and we will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRYSTALWMTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I stayed at peace of Maui for a week; it was quiet, in a beautiful setting and filled with friendly laid back guests. Most of whom were European. I feel this is partly because European's are perfectly comfortable with a hostel type facility. Peace of Maui is immaculately kept. Tammi does a wonderful job. The rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet. There is a two bedroom cottage available for families, or even couples that would want the space and a private bath. I arrived after dark but easily found it by the lights that twinkled along the top of the fence. Would I go back? Definitely....great price, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Meg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

If your planning a bed and breakfast make sure you are prepared with your own food to cook. There is no meal prepared in the morning for guests. I wanted a break from cooking but that didn't happen. Had to go out for breakfast. Towels and sheets smelled very bad that I had to spray with perfume. Hot tub is dirty and could not use it. If you don't mind a film over top and dirt on the bottom I guess it wouldn't matter. Try getting there in the daylight because the owner is no where to be found to check in.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marlene411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I stayed a couple of nights last week, and honestly, I was a little disappointed, especially after reading some of the more glowing reviews on here.

The biggest thing I can say is, COME HERE WHEN IT'S DAYLIGHT! My first night, it was impossible to find the driveway -- I drove up and down the stretch of road four times and finally pulled off to the side of the road to try to call, but got a voicemail. I actually wound up finding the house itself BEFORE I could find the driveway, and there was a cellphone number posted at the door, thank goodness. The owner picked up, and (after gently chiding me for using "left/right" when the proper terms are "mauka" and "makai" -- sorry, I had no clue which side was mauka since it was pitch black) told me the drive was supposed to have been lighted. But it wasn't, at least not on that night. Eventually, I was able to find it.

Was surprised I never once saw the owner, though in fairness I wasn't there very much. She basically just left a note listing guests' last names and which room they were to go to.

The place is listed as a B&B, but unless I missed a note somewhere, I never saw anything about breakfast being served.

And finally, the jacuzzi was covered. Presumably closed for the season, but the web site should have noted that. (It was definitely warm enough for it, at least during the day.)

That said, it's a great location, not far from the airport and close to the highway to Hana.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drabwastrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
9.1 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,074 reviews
23.7 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
9.3 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Paia Inn
Paia Inn
#1 of 1 in Paia
757 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
533 reviews
4.6 mi away
Nalu Kai Lodge
Nalu Kai Lodge
#3 of 6 in Paia
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Of Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Of Maui

Address: 1290 Haliimaile Rd, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-9611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Makawao
Price Range: $152 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide vacationers with a great experience all around. We have a great location in Maui and very affordable rates. We are located on 2 acres with many fruits trees and views of the ocean and mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Peace Of Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Of Maui Hotel Makawao
Peace Of Maui Makawao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing