We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High expectations, but...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peace Of Maui

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Peace Of Maui
Certificate of Excellence
arlington, va
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“High expectations, but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

I stayed a couple of nights last week, and honestly, I was a little disappointed, especially after reading some of the more glowing reviews on here.

The biggest thing I can say is, COME HERE WHEN IT'S DAYLIGHT! My first night, it was impossible to find the driveway -- I drove up and down the stretch of road four times and finally pulled off to the side of the road to try to call, but got a voicemail. I actually wound up finding the house itself BEFORE I could find the driveway, and there was a cellphone number posted at the door, thank goodness. The owner picked up, and (after gently chiding me for using "left/right" when the proper terms are "mauka" and "makai" -- sorry, I had no clue which side was mauka since it was pitch black) told me the drive was supposed to have been lighted. But it wasn't, at least not on that night. Eventually, I was able to find it.

Was surprised I never once saw the owner, though in fairness I wasn't there very much. She basically just left a note listing guests' last names and which room they were to go to.

The place is listed as a B&B, but unless I missed a note somewhere, I never saw anything about breakfast being served.

And finally, the jacuzzi was covered. Presumably closed for the season, but the web site should have noted that. (It was definitely warm enough for it, at least during the day.)

That said, it's a great location, not far from the airport and close to the highway to Hana.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drabwastrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    38
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
13
56
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlton, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Quiet area surrounded by farm, nice clean [ small] rooms with totally comfortable bed. Big well equipped kitchen. HOT tub, free internet and/or wifi within 1/4 mile of main road [ Baldwin] with bus service.
Down the hill in Paia has the best organic style grocery store on island while up the hill in Makawao has great deli / gorcery. Price is right !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Me and my boyfriend had wonderfull time on Maui and we are glad we could stay in Peace of Maui. We have been so busy before we came we haven´t book anything. When we arrived I tried to call Tammi (found her number on craigslist) and she gave us great offer for that time period. If you are looking for clean place and low price you should definitely go there. It was 10 min (by car)from kite beach (close to airport) where we spent most of the time. We really enjoyed jacuzzi after each kiteboarding session. We met there only nice and friendly people. Every morning when the sun came up first what we could see was Haleakala mountain. Tammi let us take mangoes and starfruits from her garden for free. We felt absolutely safe there. It was coincidence we found this place and we will be more than happy stay there again. Jana @ Petr

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JanaPetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

We were put off by the name but it truely was a diamond a rough. It was clean with a great kitchen and all the guests were very laid back and friendly. The owner is nice and reasonable. The hostel is close to town by car not by foot, definately worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

I stayed for four nights in early January 2010. I had booked a single and had a wonderful time stying at the Peace of Maui B&B. Tammi runs a very special place. The vibe is super relaxed and easy going although it certainly takes a lot of effort to successfully run it so smoothly and still make it look so easy. The location in Maui's upcountry is secluded, yet most of everything is only a short drive away (Airport, Ho'okipa Beach Park, Pukulani). It's a great location to set out for the trip up to the summit of Mount Haleakala or to head out to the Road to Hana from there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biosfear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay on Apr 30, 2011. Even though we were only here for the one night, the room was perfect. The shared bath and showers were clean and decorated nicely. The community kitchen was stocked with everything you would need if you were to say many days. Ample information available and maps of the island. They also have beach chairs and boogie boards you can use if your headed to the beach, a BBQ grill and hot tub. Waking up to the leaves rustling sounded like we right at the oceans door. I love the Upcountry and when we do return to Maui we will stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarynPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I wanted to experience local Maui without any of the tourist fluff. We initially booked a week, but loved this property so much that we ended up returning multiple times throughout our month-long island stay. The owner offers various options and will work with you to determine what will suite you best. Initially, we were interested in communal living, where we could connect with travelers from all over the world and get recommendations for must-see places. Once we got our bearings (and after we became engaged!), we wanted greater privacy and were provided with a more secluded spot. My recommendation is that visitors truly understand their travel preferences – do you always stay at hotels or are you open to the laid-back environment and shared amenities that a hostel would provide. Either way, let the owner know so she can make appropriate recommendations.

Bonuses of the property: The owner has a GREAT stash of communal beach equipment such as body-boards and bamboo beach mats; the hot tub is very well maintained – great after a long day of walking or surfing; barbeque grill is nice for searing up fresh fish and provides an opportunity to invite other guests to join you; communal internet/computer (although we hardly used it with all there was to do); the location feels remote in that it’s near Haleakela mountain but is only a short drive (maybe 10-15min) to the beach. If you want to wake up and see the mountain from your bed, ask the owner about this special room!

Lastly, I'd recommend that if you have a concern during your visit, don't just keep it to yourself and then grumble about it later. Instead, kindly let the owner know so she can do something about it. We found her to be extremely gracious and genuinely interested in ensuring her guests enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pelagarza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
23.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
9.1 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
9.2 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
7.7 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
1.5 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Of Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Of Maui

Property: Peace Of Maui
Address: 1290 Haliimaile Rd, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-9611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide vacationers with a great experience all around. We have a great location in Maui and very affordable rates. We are located on 2 acres with many fruits trees and views of the ocean and mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Peace Of Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Of Maui Hotel Makawao
Peace Of Maui Makawao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing