We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
VIP experience

You will not find a guide who puts in more love, time and energy into a tour than Pono. The... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Kacorrow1
,
South Burlington, Vermont
Outstanding touring experience with Pono!

Open Eyes Tour in Maui is certainly the most appropriate name for traveling with Pono for a tour... read more

Reviewed January 12, 2020
Flight50
Read all 157 reviews
  
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
156
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
156
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pono fried musical instruments hawaiian culture sea turtles customized tour his knowledge road to hana fruit private tour picnic lunch organic farm black sand beach ginger bread beautiful handmade turtles coming dream vacation off the beaten path
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 157 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2016 via mobile

We wanted to see Maui but only had a day; Pono to the rescue. He created us with the most beautiful leis and off went went. Pono spent time before we arrived learning about us and what we wanted to see and do. He took us to a breathtaking black beach, to the blow home where he and our son sang while he played the Ukele. We learned so much about Maui and the heritage of the people. We saw the most and largest sea turtles we could have imagined, which was an item our son really had hoped to see. Oh, and he even made my husband the best banana bread we have ever eaten as I mentioned how much he loved banana bread. We tried fantastic fruit he had grown. The sights, the sounds and the love Pono brought to our day in Maui can not be matched.

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank mbohreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2016

The four of us had a memorable day in November with Pono Fried. He is knowledgeable, enthusiastic, personable, interesting, and passionate about Hawaii and how he presents its people, culture, sights and products. He gives a very personalized tour after exploring his clients wishes and interests and any concerns. We were greeted with leis and a Hawaiian chant of welcome. He had beverages and Hawaiian snacks for us throughout the day and gifts at the end. He was always happy to allow photo time and to take them of our group. It was so much easier to travel this remarkable area of Maui in his comfortable vehicle than if we had attempted it on our own.
He was highly recommended by a friend, and we would recommend him also.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank dottie322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2016

We received our tour with Pono as a gift for our wedding. It was one of the best gifts we received! We chatted with Pono a few weeks before arriving in Hawaii. He got to know us and planned a personalized tour. During our Road to Hana tour we saw so much of the island of Maui including waterfalls, gorgeous views, caves, lava tubes, sea turtles and tons more. He is so knowledgable about Hawaiian culture and history, which was perfect since my husband loves history! We tried so many different foods that were all delicious, he is a fantastic cook with his own organic farm. I could go on and on, but I won't give too much away! Thank you so much Pono! We loved our day with you and would recommend you to anyone and everyone!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Taylor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016

My husband and I took our 13 year old grandson on a tour in Maui and hired Pono Fried to take us for the day. We were overly pleased on how he could relate to the different generations making it exciting, fun and a highlight of our 3 week Hawaiian stay.
We hiked, we saw turtles, we ate novel fruits from his organic garden. We played games on the ride, we played unusual Hawaiian instruments and learned about the history and culture of Hawaiians.
Pono is extremely knowledgeable, tells great stories and we highly recommend using him for a unique experience.

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank LBW52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016

We had heard rave reviews of Open Eye Tours from a dear friend and Pono lived up to the stories and surpassed every expectation we had. We had one day on Maui, and decided to spend the day with Pono. My wife, and our two kids (10 and 9) were on a cruise in July 2016. We weren't sure what to do on our one day and our friend could not stop talking about his day with Pono and all their experiences. The other reviews were just as glowing online and even though it was our only day on Maui, we had to do it. Before we even arrived, he had emailed and called us to prepare for our day and get to know us and what things we wanted to see and do. The day was amazing and even though we had just met, it was like spending a day with an incredibly knowledgable friend. Pono met us at the cruise terminal with a formal Hawaiian greeting and leis he had made himself. He had planned the day as we traveled the Road to Hana. It had rained heavily the day before and so he altered the route to avoid any delays and give us the best experience. As we traveled the road, we listened to traditional Hawaiian music, he taught us many Hawaiian phrases and words, he sang songs, he talked about the history of Maui. We stopped at several beautiful waterfalls and marveled at them. But at each stop he also talked about the history of the area and the many legends and struggles and changes the natives have had. We visited a taro field and learned how they work and why they are important to the people. We visited a small shrine/church in a small village and we had the place to ourselves. At one stop, we were at a dead end street and we walked down this small winding trail seemingly to no where, and then came out overlooking the coast on our own little cliff. While there he taught us about many of the flowers and trees of the area and we all ate purple flowers and a small fern that was rich in nutrients. For lunch, we sat for a picnic and tried over a dozen different fresh fruits he had grown at his own home in his organic garden. We tried Dragon eyes, guava, pineapple, taro, among others. He played the ukulele for us and the kids played as well. He brought several native instruments including a nose flute that we all played. We visited a beach with Honu (sea turtles), a blow hole and a black sand beach as well. There are too many details of our amazing day to share here. Pono shared his knowledge and his love of Maui showed through. Every place we went it was obvious he has decades of teaching experience and loves his job. As we left he gave us parting gifts to remember our day spent with a guide whom we will always call our friend. I would recommend Pono to any and all. When we return to the islands, we will definitely meet him and spend the day learning again.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank SallyM2115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews