We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful haven...”
Review of Hale Ho'omana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Makawao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Ho'omana
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Makawao
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A peaceful haven...”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

If I had to choose one word for Hale Ho'omana I would choose nurturing. It was an honor to stay here and enjoy the peacefulness of the grounds and even more importantly to be in the company of the owners Justin and Jeana. They welcomed me in like family without hesitation. If I ever find myself in need of accommodation again on Maui I will head directly here. Everything here glows with love...I am thankful!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Hawaiian room which is in the main house with a shared bath. Very clean, shared bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indigoblue33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
15
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Makawao, Hawaii, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Over the last few years I have taught shamanic healing to groups at Hale Ho‘omana. The location in upcountry Maui is very beautiful and peaceful. The studio space overlooks a lovely Hawaiian garden which supports a healing atmosphere. The participants find that the beauty and general tranquility of the land foster an ease of letting go which supports group bonding and an openness to spiritual experiences. Hale Ho‘omana is off the beaten path of tourism which offers a whole new dimension to Maui for visitors and a perfect retreat for local people. The staff and owners offer true aloha in their services, offering hospitality and privacy for our groups as we do our spiritual work.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I've attended a variety of workshops, lectures, massages, and retreats at Hale Ho'omana and I absolutely love the healing atmosphere. The Aloha spirit can be found in every aspect and detail of the property, the rooms, the buildings, the gathering spaces, and the professionals who run this magical facility. I recommend this unique retreat center to anyone who is willing to treat themselves to pure heaven on earth!

Room Tip: All the rooms are charming and delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kecia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comstock, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Thanks so much for the wonderful stay at Hale Ho'omana Spa and Retreat Center. The Bamboo Cottage was an ideal accomodation and location for our Maui stay. We slept so well in the cool, quiet up-country...with the wind in the trees at night and birds to greet the morning.

The physical therapy treatments for Gene's pulled hamstring made all the difference in getting him moving again on our travels. Jeanna...you have magic hands (and professional expertise). The Aloha spirit is alive and well at Hale Ho'omana. Mahalo for the warm hospitality and great accomodations! Gene and Connie Bussewitz

Room Tip: The little kitchentte in the Bamboo Cottage was perfect for a light breakfast or simple meal for two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed with a friend at Hale Ho'Omana in a transitional time of my life, and the spiritual atmosphere in the gorgeous natural setting was just what I needed for rest and reflection. I spent time at the traditional altar in the back, and if I am lucky to return, I will be sure to get a lomilomi massage. Even if one isn't looking for a spiritual atmosphere or spa services, it is just a great place to stay. Makawao is down the hill, and it is a delightful village with art and food; Paia is farther down the road by the ocean and is also an awesome little town. Understand that Hale Ho'Omana is high up in the hills, what the locals call "Upcountry." There are hiking trails and I like being in a mountain retreat with access by car to the beaches. I love the seclusion and the cool evenings, this may not be what some tourists would be looking for, but to me, it is perfect! My trip was July 2010, I am late with a review!

Room Tip: Study the website, there are pictures of the rooms and a map. Call the owners, they will be happy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I stayed with my mom and daughter on a triple goddess trip. The rooms were very spacious, gardens lush and fragrant. The owners were very helpful in giving us a tour, booking excursions, and helping us find our way around. I had a lovely massage with Jeanna,, and would highly recommend her LomiLomi massage. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmonkey108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We wanted to stay close to a party we were attending in upcountry Maui and found this gem of a vacation! We've never tried a B&B before and this was a fantastic choice for our situation.
The price was right and we read other reviews for this place and was not disappointed. We booked the Aloha suite because we wanted to have our own bathroom. The room was big enough for us and it really felt like home. It was fully furnished just like your own house from extra towels to the fully equipt and stocked gourmet kitchen.
We checked out the backyard and it was secluded, quiet and very well maintained. At the time we were there, there was just 1 other couple, but saw them just once because we had stuff to do and so did they. Our room came with breakfast and the owners left out breakfast items: 2 kinds of bread, butter and jelly, 2 types of cereal w/milk, 2 kinds of juices,coffee w/cream and sugar,tea,cocoa,3 types of fresh fruit,yogurt, It was a nice spread considering it is included with the room. We liked that we felt at home, we hung out in the parlor and they had direct tv. The weather at the time felt cool and airy with occassional sprinkles-well it is upcountry after all. The weather up there is so much more cooler and wet anyway.
I highly recommend booking this place because it is just wonderful being in a place that is so relaxed, quiet, secluded and homey. It is well maintained inside and out. The price is great as well. We definitely will be back to stay whenever we visit Maui.

Room Tip: request a private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NNewbie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
20.0 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
12.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
11.3 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
12.6 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Ho'omana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ho'omana

Property: Hale Ho'omana
Address: 1550 Piiholo Rd, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-7246
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Ho'omana spa retreat and guesthouse is an intimate and exclusive get-away located on the slopes of Maui's pristine Mt Haleakala and tucked amidst serene eucalyptus forest. Owned and operated by a native Hawaiian family we provide a unique vacation retreat where you can enjoy the pleasures of a Maui escape while indulging in some healthful rejuvenation. You may visit our lovely spa specializing in Hawaiian healing treatments, partake of our daily yoga classes or book an island adventure tour with our resident Eco tour guide. Our facility is equipped with accommodations for personal, family, or group retreats for up to 15 guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Ho'Omana Maui/Makawao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing