We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Central Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makawao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao
Ranked #2 of 2 Makawao B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good Central Location”
Reviewed September 28, 2004

This is a good, centrally located B&B at a good price, especially for Maui. One suprise is that The Ho-okipa is in more of a resedential area than the website might suggest. Great access to the Volcano and the funky town of Pia'a. 20 minutes to South Maui Beaches.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
83
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ca
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2004

I have stayed at this beautiful Bed and Breakfast many times over the years and it has been a joy to see it grow and mature. The feeling is both cozy and historical. It is decorated with beautiful Hawaiian artifacts and you can almost feel the generations that once called this old farm house a home. Great place to stay on the road to Haleakula, the gateway to the sun!

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2004

We just returned from a delightful visit upcountry Maui and stayed at the Kipa cottage, part of the Halehokipa Bed and Breakfast. The cottage sleeps 4, with a private bedroom and full bath down and sleeping loft and 1/2 bath up. The is a view of the mountain and partial view of the ocean. The cottage is beautifully decorated and has everything you could need, claw foot tub, 2 TV's, one with DVD, stereo, lap top computer with internet access, barbeque, full kitchen, off steet parking and right next to the historic Hale Ho'okipa Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank freedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 6, 2004

Charming location, home-like non commerical atmosphere. Excellant value for a family or group traveling together. Owner knowledgeable, and was very good with the young teenagers traveling with the family. They thought she was pretty cool. Breakfast of bread, jams, ceral and many fruits was also good and healthy. It was not too hot when we visited (about 85 degrees) but a storm was skirting the area. The individual air conditioners in each room were greatly appreciated on a couple of humid nights. Owner also conducts horse rides and tours. It is about 1/2 mile from a small interesting town with some fanastic glass art. I appreciated the Internet cafee in town where I could check my E-mail

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2004

We guessed correctly that staying in upcountry Maui would be more interesting and less congested than the beach resorts. Like-minded folk, not all of them tourists, were at the Hale Hookipa Inn both times we visited, and chatting with them in the large, convivial breakfast room each day was a highlight of the holiday. Rooms in the main house were comfortable, clean, and airy (temperatures in Makawao make air-conditioning unnecessary). Coming from Tokyo we did not find them small, though others might. The cottage in the garden gave more privacy. The inn's greatest asset is its owner, Cherie. An inspirational sport-fisherperson and outrigger kayaker, she made everyone welcome whether they were outward bound or not.

Helpful?
1 Thank middleagedbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Wa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2004

Our family of 4 stayed 4 nights at Hale Ho'okipa Inn in the 2 bedroom Kona Wing and loved it. The house has a lot of character, Cherie is wonderful, and staying in Makawao gives you a real picture of Maui. Cherie is very accomodating, informative, and helpful with sights, places to go, restaurants. Every morning she serves fresh fruit, toast, cereal, yogurt and we enjoyed chatting with her and the other guests. This is a great location for touring Hana, Haleakala, and upcountry. We were really glad that we spent time at Hale Ho'okipa Inn first and then the Marriott on Ka'anapali Beach. We saw most of the island and I highly recommend splitting your time. The beach is beautiful but there is so much more to see. Don't forget to go to the Komoda Bakery for a cream puff.......Aloha!

Helpful?
1 Thank JAAIssaquah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2004

This was our first time in a B&B and I was pretty impressed. The place has a lot of character, a nice selection of books to read and art to look at. Cherie was very helpful. Each morning as I was planning what I'd need for the day she'd magically appear and offer a cooler or boogie board or beach mats. The breakfast was very good and as a bonus included a wide assortment of local jams. Makawao is pretty cool also - a few shops & restaurants worth checking out if you have an hour. We stayed in the Jasmine room. The bed was very comfortable. If I had to offer some critcism it would be that there wasn't much space to put our clothes or bath supplies, and you had to practically crawl over the toilet to get into the shower - but I guess this is what comes with converting an old house to a B&B.
Overall it was an interesting alternative to the beach scene - a totally different side of Maui.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
9.0 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
10.3 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,062 reviews
12.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat
3.3 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
519 reviews
1.8 mi away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#2 of 2 in Makawao
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao

Property: Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao
Address: 32 Pakani Pl, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-9073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hospitality in Upcountry Maui is Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao. The Inn is located on the slopes of Haleakala 50 minutes to the top of the summit of Haleakala crater , 10 minutes to the North Shore beaches and Paia town. The quaint Paniolo and artsy Makawao town with restaurants and shops is a 10 minute walk from the B&B. Bountiful, delicious breakfast is served daily, with the large country kitchen available for light meals. We have warm jackets for the mountain, and coolers for guests convenience. Sip tea or a glass of wine, relaxing in the parlor or on the lanai with books from our well appointed library. Rich is local history and art, Hale Ho'okipa is a comfortable home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Ho`Okipa Inn Makawao Hotel Makawao
Hale Ho'Okipa Inn Makawao Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing