We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Place in Upcountry Maui”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makawao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao
Ranked #2 of 2 Makawao B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Dornach, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Beautiful Place in Upcountry Maui”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for three nights at the end of our Hawai'i trip and we loved it! The historic house has been carefully renovated by the owner Cherie and as a guest one can make full use of the living room, kitchen and garden. We stayed in the Rose room and it was very clean and easily big enough for two people. There are lots of books available, from various travel guides to books about Hawai'ian history to art books, etc. I spent two evenings browsing and reading in one of the cosy chairs in the living room. Coffee is available from 7 am onwards and breakfast is served at 8 am. From all the places we stayed at during our 2 weeks of vacation on Moloka'i and Maui, the breakfast buffet prepared by Cherie was by far the best breakfast we had. Lots of fresh fruit from the garden, cereal, toast and various jams from a local producer, the day cannot start any better than this! Take a look at the picture on Cherie´s homepage, the picture of the breakfast there is how it looks like every day, really ;)
The location of this B&B in Makawao is also very convenient. Within 10 to 20 minutes many of the interesting spots on the coast can be reached. You can start your trip to Hana from here or go up to Haleakala. Makawao itself offers some nice little shops and good dining options, both of which are just a short walk away from the Hale Ho'okipa Inn. Cherie is a great host, providing her guests with lots of suggestions and tips on what to do.
As the weather at the summit of Haleakala was always rainy and foggy during our stay we will surely come back to this wonderful place for another stay in the future to give the Volcano another chance.

As a side note: when reading the reviews by other customers for this and other accommodations on Hawai'i I notice that some people complain about critters. No matter how clean a place is kept by the owner (and Cherie takes very good care of her place) you still might encounter ants and other insects, spiders, geckos etc. in and around any house. This is a tropical environment, there is beautiful and (partly) untamed nature all around you, this is why people come to such a place! Enjoy it and don´t leave food out in the open.
Mahalo!
Barbara & Martin

Room Tip: The Rose room is very quiet and at the corner of the house.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
82
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eislingen
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spend 8 Nights, it's a pretty nice House in a pleasent area. Cherie the property owner is a friendly nice person with helpful tips and she prepares a great breakfast each day.
The rooms are beautifully furnished with much of charm.
For the next visit on the Island of Maui we come back.

Room Tip: You dont need a aircondition the tradewinds make it very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 706reneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

reluctantly back on the mainland, all i can do is reminisce about what an amazing experience we had at the Hale Ho'okipa inn! From the second we walked into the front door, Cherie made us feel like family! i am now hooked on passion fruit from her amazing morning spread of fresh local fruits, yogurt, jams and jellies and cant wait for the next time in am able to eat Lillokoi. The Hale Ho'okipa Inn is the true Maui experience that you cant find anywhere else. Cherie knows so many great locally know hikes, beaches and recomendations for the people that want to beat the crowds and discover the true essence of Maui. I cant wait to get back there!

Room Tip: all the rooms are amazing in their own way. get a corner room if you can, with its own door to the b...
See more room tips
Green Features: All food is composted or given to the chickens and everything is recycled. very environmentally conscious.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upcountry, Owner at Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Aloha Matty,
Mahalo for your great review. It was a pleasure to meet you and I look forward to your next visit to Maui! I hope it won't be too long from now. Sooo happy that you enjoyed your stay.
A hui hou, until next time,
Cherie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani Town, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We just returned from a 4-night, 5-adult family vacation to Maui and from the second we walked into Hale Hoʻokipa it was welcomingly warm, charming, and a step back into a time reminiscent of Hawaii when I was growing up. One or more of us got to stay in each of the 3 rooms in one wing of the home--all were cool, clean, and airy with wonderful decor and personal touches. There are little spaces on the lanai or in the lovely yard where we could read a book or work on our laptop. We were refreshingly relaxed there and it felt like home especially with Cherie and friendsʻ inviting and friendly nature. Their extended ʻohana included a pair of ducks and a dog named Annie--all adding to the friendly landscape. Fresh coffee and colorful local fruits started the mornings on a healthy and energetic note. Other guests in the Hale were the nicest and neatest folks, and we are missing them all at the moment. Hale Hoʻokipa will be our first choice when we return to Maui--hopefully not too long from now.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leinui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upcountry, Owner at Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Aloha...meeting you folks was a highlight, and what a wonderful crew we had that week. I am so lucky to have the best guests in the world.
I look forward to your next Maui visit, don't wait another 20 years to come back !! :)
A hui hou,
Cherie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caspar, California
Level Contributor
187 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This out-of-the-way place started its life as the ancestral home for a Portuguese family a century ago, and it still radiates the kind of warmth that only a well-lived-in home can do. The rooms are quirky, bright, and comfortable. Breakfast is delicious, and the "family" you join around the big table is generous with tips about what's best on the island. Owner Cherie is conscious of issues like sustainability and localness that too often get missed in the effort to be accommodating. We wished we had more time to sit in the comfortable living room and browse the books. Just like home, only nicer!

Room Tip: We peeked in all the rooms, and they were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunhawk95420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay before starting our week in Kaanapali and wanted to explore Makawao for a few days first. This was the perfect place. It's located just outside of Makawao in a neighborhood, in an old historic home that has been carefully restored by the owner, Cherie. The rooms are tasteful and comfortable. We were in Jasmine, which is in the middle between two other rooms. Those rooms actually looked a bit nicer/larger than ours, but we were perfectly comfortable. Cherie is very knowledgeable about the area (she's a realtor and long time resident so she knows the area and the history like the back of her hand) and gave us a great tip for a perfect shady hike in the Makawao Forest Reserve. Try this hike - it can be as long or short as you like, in a forested hilly wilderness area with a well marked trail. Another tip - if you're in Makawao on a Saturday morning, get up early (and out the door by 7:15 a.m.) and go to the Upcountry Farmers Market in the parking lot of the Pukalani Long's Drug store
( info@upcountryfarmersmarket.com http://www.upcountryfarmersmarket.com/ ). Spectacular setting among green rolling hills, some local group playing Hawaiian music, mostly locals selling and shopping for excellent upcountry produce. Everyone seemed to know each other, including our friends (who live there) and were the ones who took us there. It was out of a movie, and we bought most of our fruits and vegetables for the week there (including protea flowers, which I try to buy on every trip to Maui). When we go back to Maui, we will plan on coming back to Hale Ho'okipa. Thanks Cherie for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneyearoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Wonderful home away from home in Upcountry Maui...innkeeper Cherie has mastered the art of extending hospitality. This is a beautifully restored traditional Hawaiian home of days past. Cool breezes and great access to the North Shore, stay here for a genuine resort free break. Breakfast is an assortment of breads, cereals, fruits and teas, coffee, juice. Eggs are available for you to cook yourself and Cherie lets you use all facilities to store perishables if you purchase cheese from the Surfing Goat Dairy or visit the Lavender Farm or Maui winery in your upcountry drives. We had dinner "at home" one night after purchasing Indian food at the Makawao farmer's market. Only a short drive to Kihei for all water sports, great launch spot for the Hana drive. We keep returning!

Room Tip: 3 bedrooms for couples each with unique traditional Hawaiian furnishings and decor, one suite area w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cepstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
9.0 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
22.3 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
10.3 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
12.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,114 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao

Property: Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao
Address: 32 Pakani Pl, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-9073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hospitality in Upcountry Maui is Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao. The Inn is located on the slopes of Haleakala 50 minutes to the top of the summit of Haleakala crater , 10 minutes to the North Shore beaches and Paia town. The quaint Paniolo and artsy Makawao town with restaurants and shops is a 10 minute walk from the B&B. Bountiful, delicious breakfast is served daily, with the large country kitchen available for light meals. We have warm jackets for the mountain, and coolers for guests convenience. Sip tea or a glass of wine, relaxing in the parlor or on the lanai with books from our well appointed library. Rich is local history and art, Hale Ho'okipa is a comfortable home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Ho`Okipa Inn Makawao Hotel Makawao
Hale Ho'Okipa Inn Makawao Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing