We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Makawao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
LA
1 review
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here after a few days on the Maui west coast beach area. It was a central spot for seeing other parts of the island - Halekalea, Paia, Hana. You can walk into the little town of Makawao but there's not much to see other than a few galleries and a few eatiers - an afternoon would be more than enough. The bakery is great but go early as items sell out and we had a nice meal at the Italian restaurant. Halekalea was a disappointment after being on Mauana Kea on the Big Island but still worth a visit if the clouds don't get in the way of the views. On arrival the office was unattended and there was a general note saying to walk around and find Marty or call a phone number, but we had no phone to call with and didn't know where to start looking for Marty so we just found our cottage (I knew which one I had booked) and let ourselves in because it was unlocked. It would have been good to have a note or something addressed to us on the door with the key saying welcome, let yourself in since our arrival was expected given our booking. The cottages seemed very close together when we arrived, but we still enjoyed a great sense of space with few others around. The grounds are lovely. The muffin, juice and fruit breakfast was simple but nice. The pool was too cold for swimming, but it is at elevation so I suppose it is always going to be cooler than the coast. The manager and assistant were pleasant without going out of their way - the most enthusiasm the manager showed was beckoning me to wait before we left - he wanted to give me a standard letter asking guests to leave a tripadvisor review!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    31
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
42
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The Banyan Tree House is the perfect get away for those people looking for non air conditioned, quite and comfy sleeps, friendly and accommodating hosts, and ample privacy. The location is perfect for quick access to the summit of the volcano, Poli Poli State Park for a hike or mountain bike, or a trip to Hana by car or road bike or scooter. Baldwin avenue is a straight shot down 6 miles to Paia for breakfast then a nice stroll on Baldwin Beach, maybe a calm swim at Baby Beach then a quick trip into Costco for a super cheap lunch. Marty can give you the perfect plan for a fun day! The yoga studio with big screen and surround sound makes any movie night spectacular, not to mention a nice cool dip in the pool then a warm up in the hot tub. The cottages and rooms are very clean and the small kitchen amenities are perfect to keep you happy. A 5 minute walk up to Makawao for some snacks, or a steak dinner is very convenient. I have stayed all over Maui and the Banyan is by far my favorite location for relaxing and heading out for some Maui adventures!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed here for 6 days while on vacation in Maui. We were three adults and two kids and we rented two cottages. The grounds are beautiful, as others have said, lush and tropical and with sweeping views down to the ocean. The pool is just big enough for a real swim and there are hammocks and swings nestled in the huge banyan trees. Like other guests who come here, we liked the location, near Makawao and far from the hordes of resort tourists. Makawao is a funky and cool little place and it has one of the best bakerys on the island - Komodo bakery. Watch out, the donuts and guava filled pastries are addictive! The hotel is also close to excellent hikes and is so central that you can get to most beaches in less than 30 minutes.

The host of Banyan Tree is the unflappable Marty - he is very cool, very welcoming and when we had a mini crisis about our flights at the end of our visit, he smoothed the waters and promised to find space for us in his yoga studio if we could not get on the plane.

All in all, this is an excellent choice in Maui unless you just have to be right by the beach. My only recommendation to improve the place is: get new bedding! The cottages are perfectly appointment and very nicely furnished, but the beds would be greatly improved by some new firmer mattresses and a few duvets instead of the blanket and quilt combos on there now.

That's it though - come here, stay here, settle in and enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack9003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martyherling, Owner at Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
We do appreciate all of our guests comments It is difficult to please everyone's preferences We have all new Serta matresses , all less than 1 years old We have tried to find a happy medium in firmness In several other reviews guests rave about our bedding and matresses, so what to do. Our blankets, sheets (fitted and top sheet) and duvet covers with quilt inside are on every bed and are all 100% cotton, bought exclusively in Macy's Bedding is always freshly laundered, using nonperfumed biofriendly detergent Sincerely yours Marty Herling, onsite proprietor and owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The Banyan Tree House is a place you will certainly want to come back to, the hosts, the gardens and the serene setting all make for an exceptional stay, the suites are clean, spacious and comfortable with your own lanai to enjoy your morning breakfast of fresh fruit,- only a few minutes drive from the shops in Makawao, we hope to return with friends from Australia. Mahalo Marty and Mouna for your hospitality and advice.- Russel and Michael 22nd August 2011

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Footey053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Our family with four kids found the Banyan Tree house perfect for our needs with clean well equipped bungaloes set into a beautiful garden. There are many positive reviews we agree with so we make the point that Makawow is a very special place. Rustic, beautiful, and quaint with few tourists and no big hotels. It is up on the hill with cool nights and just a few minutes from Pia- the real maui in our opinion. Banyan is a real winner with it's pool and gardens. The other big advantage is just about the nicest and most accomidating host- Marty who owns the place and is around to help most of the time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2011

For the past 2 yrs. my wife and I have joined a group of triathletes from the US and Canada for 9 wonderful days at the Banyon Tree House. Our group reserves the entire resort and we bring in our own chef for daily meals. The rooms are spacious and clean and the pool and grounds are well kept and inviting. It's a great respite after a full day of biking, swimming and running. Marty is a great host and offers a ready hand when problems arrise, as they usually do. This year it was a dead van battery, amoung other things.

The Banyon Tree House is the perfect place for our group and for that matter anyone who wants to get away from the busy, hi-rise, tourist resort type accommodation. I hope to be back next year for our 3rd year and make this an annual event.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbostick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We've stayed at the Banyan Tree about 5 times since our first visit in 1999, and it just keeps getting better every time! Last summer, my husband, two daughters and I stayed in the Hibiscus Cottage. In past years, we've stayed in the Ginger, Gardenia and Plumeria cottages, as I recall. The beds are comfy, which is important on vacation -- since getting a good night's rest between all the fun activities is a must! I remember our early visits when there was no TV (which I loved, and my husband adjusted to). There have been technology upgrades, and the family enjoyed the nice flat screen TV for catching the weather forecast for the next day, and the wi-fi -- since it's hard to wean everyone in the family "off the grid" these days.

I can't say enough about Marty and Mona as hosts. They are friendly, generous, helpful and simply the best hosts you could dream of. They quietly dropped off a plastic container filled with fresh fruit and English muffins early each morning, leaving it on the patio table just outside our door. Bananas are always hanging outside Marty's office door, where you can grab one for a quick snack. Mona even lent us some of her own puzzles when we inquired if they had any.

We love the laid back feel of Banyan Tree, where it really does feel like home. We take off our flip flops outside the cottage door, hang beach towels on the clothes line out back to dry, and take our recycling out to the collection bins. I appreciate Marty's attention to being environmentally friendly, since that's important to me even on vacation.

The great thing about this place is that even when there are other families or couples in the cottages and house, it never feels crowded or noisy. We love the pool and hot tub, which we usually have to ourselves. What a contrast to the pool at the condos we've stayed at in Kihei, where the pool is crowded, noisy and it's impossible to swim a lap! Here, the pool is clean, uncrowded, and has a beautiful view. The hammock out back is also a great place to relax and chat with a child or spouse, or read a book. The entire grounds are serence, relaxing and rejuvenating.

We love the location of Banyan Tree, which is very centrally located to many of the activities we enjoy -- including light shopping and good eats in Paia, Makawao and Haiku, a day trip to Hana, a drive up Haleakala (and we've done the bike ride down twice), the Kula Botanical Gardens, Alii Kula Lavender Farms, a drive to the Tedeschi Winery and lunch at the Ulupalakua Ranch Store, watching the windsurfers at Ho' Okipa Beach, and hanging out on Baldwin Beach. For other activities, it's a short drive to Kahului for the swap meet, a visit to the Iao Needle, or a trip to the Maui Tropical Plantation.

I'm currently planning our summer vacation, and we're being drawn back to Maui and the Banyan Tree. If your stay here once, be prepared to get hooked! Marty told us "A hui hou" as we departed last summer, which means "Until we meet again." I can hardly wait for summer!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShaunaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makawao
22.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
10.1 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#2 of 2 in Makawao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
12.2 mi away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat

Property: Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat
Address: 3265 Baldwin Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-9629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banyan Tree House, a Maui bed and breakfast with 3 cottages and 4 suites in a wonderful, old plantation house. A quiet retreat in a central island location that is close, yet wonderfully removed from Maui's hotel / resort beachfront crowds. Simply overflowing with Aloha and Hawaii-ana. Giant tropical trees create a peaceful, shady 2.11 Acre oasis a midst giant tropical trees, flowers and sunny open lawns with a 50' swimming pool and Jacuzzi and fully equipped Yoga Studiio There is an additional total $400 cleaning charge when renting the entire property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Tree House Hotel Makawao
Banyan Bed And Breakfast Retreat Maui/Makawao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing