We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little cafe with big taste”

Makawao Garden Cafe
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Makawao
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Castro Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Little cafe with big taste”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We love going out of our way to visit this little cafe in Wakamao when we visit Maui. It is VERY informal and if anything isn't perfect that day, she will not serve it. Also, don't be in a hurry...she always seems to be just barely able to keep up. So just sit back and enjoy the quirky little garden nook and expect some of the most delicious and fresh food on the island. Her vinegarette and curry chicken salad is absolutely amazing. Recommend you make the effort to find this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Choguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    49
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice little family run outdoor cafe”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We got lucky to find this one. We were returning from zip lining and just randomly decided to follow some signs that pointed to a historic town. We found Makawao and almost ate at another place just down the street, but this place happened to be right near the bathrooms.


After I had a snow crab and avocado sandwich on homemade cibatta bread and one of the tastiest banana smoothies I've ever had, we were all very happy we stopped.

If you are in a real hurry this might not be the best spot for you. Everything is made to order and if there are a few people ahead of you or you have 4 or more in your group it could take 15 or 20 minutes to get your food. To me it was worth it though.

Service was friendly and the atmosphere was nice. We would definitely go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JACagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic sandwich”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Darling little outdoor cafe that we can wholeheartedly recommend. It is worth the trip to have lunch here. The owner is a joy. The sandwiches (she makes the foccacia bread daily) were one of the best, if not THE best, we've ever tasted. We had the brie with chopped bacon, turkey and avacado on foccacia. YUM!
Charming little place, delicious food, friendly happy owner, in paradise. What more could you ask for? :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cindylane123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makawao, Hawaii, United States
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hidden jewel is worth looking for. Tucked away behind an art gallery on Baldwin Ave in the heart of Makawao, the seatiing is rustic outdoors and you'll be surrounded by birds and our native chickens to make sure not one bite is wasted. This is a great place for lunch. The owner is full of cheer and genuine friendliness and the dishes served are excellent. The price is quite reasonable. I highly recommend Makawao Garden Cafe for lunch while you wander around beautiful and quaint Makawao town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“cute cafe hiding between several shops”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

this little cafe is hiding between 2 buildings in Makawao. Thank goodness they have a menu board near the sidewalk. There are several tables shaded by umbrellas. The 2 lovely ladies were at the end of the lane busy taking orders and serving clients. I had the ono (fish) sandwich which was moist and delicious. Came with a salad. service was great and the portions were large.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank koabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Makawao Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing