We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing but a bit Pricey”
Review of Market Fresh Bistro - CLOSED

Market Fresh Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Nakui Street
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Relaxing but a bit Pricey”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We decided to eat here for lunch after reading some good reviews. We made reservations an hour before for a party of 10. Not a problem. They sat us in the courtyard area under a tree. Watch for the birds and falling leaves but it's nice to dine outside on a beautiful sunny day. The service is a little slow so be prepared to wait a bit but once they took our orders everything went pretty smoothly and quickly.
We tried the salmon Benedict with roasted potatoes which was fabulous. Eggs done just right. The mini waffles were waffles. The goat cheese omelet was a pretty big portion. Thick omelet enclosed some warm herbed goat cheese. Topped with a few hamakua mushrooms. Yum.
We also tried their Turkey sandwich special which was a thick sammy accompanied by a big dill picked.

Fresh market bistro gets about 90% of their ingredients from Maui and the rest from the outer islands or elsewhere. You can tell when you taste the quality and freshness of whatever you're eating.

Their recipes seem to showcase the food they have in season as their menus are constantly changing.

When you go here, expect to pay a premium for the great food. However, the experience from the food, service, and atmosphere of eating in a quaint but beautiful shaded courtyard are certainly worth it.

Tip: Twice a month, every other Thursday, they offer a showcase of foods where they serve you a set course meal. Make reservations well ahead of time as they are often booked a month or two in advance

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TianaH370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    66
    16
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, service needs improvement”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The wait was very long for being seated and for getting our food. While everyone was pleasant it seems that the staff are not well organized or interested in improving the service. The food was OK, average is accurate. If they can improve on their attitude and look after the customers better they could really improve their ratings. It was busy so perhaps they are not interested in making the experience better for customers?

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cnmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

The food tasted fresh and was well seasoned. If you are on a gluten free diet like me just find something you like on the menu and the chef will let you know if they can accommodate you. Will be back!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GB657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good food, good location, service...not so much”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have eaten here a half dozen time or so. The last two times I have tried to (once with family, once with friends) I have ended up walking away due to a wait that was twice as long as I was told. Mind you, I often don't mind waiting, but how long should be my decision. I also don't like seeing people who obviously know staff arrive significantly after me, being seated and tended to a few minutes after arriving. That being said, The location is great....cool and casual. The food is good (and often interesting). I think an open kitchen keeps you honest, even if that honesty might expose a few issues. It is a bit pricey....but makawao is working to be a tourist destination so..... . All in all with better service and slightly lower prices this would be above average. As is, it is a good place to stop particularly if you don' t let the "human" element get to you too much.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Our second visit to Maui and our second dining experience here, this last time for breakfast on the patio. The food was delicious and the service was great. It is a lovely spot to have a delightful breakfast or lunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Fresh Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing