We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hated the Royal Lahina!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hated the Royal Lahina!”
Reviewed February 17, 2007

We were mislead by the pictures and the descriptions provided of the Royal Lahina on Maui. We were traveling for our honeymoon and did not expect to be so disappointed for what we had paid. Our safe was rusted to the floor of the bathroom. The water was luke warm and had no water pressure. The bed was a taco and the paneling was coming off the walls. It did not feel clean at all!!!!!!! Do NOT stay here!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It was gross!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank afeldpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLRMAUI, Director of Sales at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2007
A 30-Million Dollar renovation to all 333 guestrooms, suites, and guestroom corridors in our Lahaina Kai Tower has just been completed, upgrading the room standard in the Lahaina Kai Tower to a luxury level of accommodation.

We also have 114 cottage rooms, and cottage family suites with kitchens. Our cottage units were fully renovated in 1994, receive soft renovations (paint, carpeting and general maintenance) on an on-going basis, and offer a casual moderate level of accommodation.

Each of these accommodation choices are set on our 27 acre oceanfront property, which is located within Maui's highly regarded Kaanapali Beach Resort.

All guestrooms and cottages receive daily housekeeping service.


Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,524
    1,417
    516
    263
    195
See reviews for
733
2,059
88
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (965)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2007

Stayed here Feb 2007 and we got a newly remodeled tower room which couldn't be nicer nor with a better view of Maui. The dinner food was good. The breakfast buffet was just OK (I had better in the other 2 Hawaii hotels I stayed at on the other islands).

The only negative I have with the RL is that the pools are very small and cheesy. They have 2 pools which are each the size of a backyard pool.

The location and beach at the RL are superb. The Loua at the RL is kind of cheesy too and the buffet food at the loua is not too good.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank kgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2007

This was a family trip taken the 1st 10 days of January and included me, my husband, and our 2 young adult daughters. When we drove onto this property, we were very excited. This came to a quick end when were shown to our room. It was totally removed from all the nice surrounding and in an older section of the resort. (We don't mind older, our favorite place was older) The room was drab and SMELLED BAD! We weren't even sure would we would be able to sleep. I wanted to go complain, but my family said no. There were no curtains, just this sliding wood panel that made you feel like you were in a cave when it was closed. About 2 am, we were woke up from a girl below us cussing a blue streak about her bike being stolen -- 'f' this and 'f' that. She said she had it stolen when she was working at a local resturant. In the morning, when I opened the 'wood curtain/wall', I saw construction workers below us leaving for work!! So it cost us about $300 that night to stay with the laborers!!! What a dive! We couldn't get out of there quick enough!!

  • Disliked — Everything about the room, location, smell, decor
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank sandielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2007

I stayed at the Royal Lahaina Resort for three days in January 2007 with a friend for a relaxing break. We were a little perturbed to see that there was construction/refurbishment work on-going when we arrived but this turned out to have a minimal effect on our stay. Our room was not ready when we arrived after check-in time but we were treated to cocktails in the bar while we waited. The room was in the old annex wing and we were pleased as there was work going on only in the main tower block rooms. We had no view from the balcony but the sun shone there in the afternoon. Due to the refurb. there were not many staying at the resort and so the gardens/pools etc. were quiet (as I like it!). When it is complete it will no doubt be fabulous as the location is on the best beach in Maui. A few minutes walk away (or free trolley shuttle bus) is the Whalers centre with bars, shops and restaurants to satisfy all tastes. Lahaina town is a short bus ride away. We felt that if we were to come again for a longer period then a hire car would offer much more freedom to explore this lovely island. Golfers would be in their element, although I did not find out the costs involved. Overall a pleasant and relaxing short stay.

  • Liked — Superb beach location
  • Disliked — Construction work on going
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2007

I feel many of the reviews of this property are not reflective of my experience. Just stayed Jan. 11-15. Place was great ! My hotel experience runs the whole spectrum. i have stayed at various Hiltons, Embassy Suites, Loews, Sheratons and have stayed at the Maui Westin. I would not hesitate to book the Royal Lahaina again. We had a nicely remodeled partial ocean-view room. Staff was super helpful, always hustling about. Room and property were clean. Pools great. Bar and food,especially the breakfast buffet were also well above average. Beach -beautiful and not as crowded as south of Black Rock.

Some construction still going on but nothing to the point of being upset. Minor elevator issue but dealt with right away. Only possible negative no direct link to town of Lahaina. About a 10 minute walk to Whalers Village or $6.00 cab to the same to get bus/trolley ($1.00) connection.

I would book over Westin anytime. This place was great!!!! You could argue about number of stars or 1 person's bad experience but what is the point? Great property, great servive, great location and great price. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — location/service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
16 Thank vacations2xayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2007

This was our 9th time in Hawaii as a family and I think our 8th time staying at the Royal Lahaina. They are currently working hard to renovate the hotel which was really needed and should really improve the property when completed. We were not aware of the renovations at the time of booking, unfortunately, and were not made aware until we received our final travel documents. But, the renovating noise or potential mess did not cause us any problems. Yes, half the parking lot was taken up with construction equipment, but the parking spaces have always been very small and plans are in the works for a future parking ramp. We stayed in newly remodeled rooms that are very nice. (Check out the Royal Lahaina website to see what the new rooms look like with soothing color schemes and dark woodwork.) Our children had an especially nice room with a bar area with bar stools. Because renovations are still in progress some of the amenities they list on the Royal Lahaina website are not yet available. There were no in-room safes and no wi fi -- yet. That was frustrating as we have always used the safe in the past. Although you can always use the front desk safe, I had no desire to stop there several times a day to drop off valuables. One of the things I like about the Royal Lahaina is the size of the hotel's tower. It is not very large so it is easy to run back up to the room if you have forgotten something. And, one of the things I love is the beach. It is just a beautiful stretch of beach that is not very busy. It is getting busier at the far end where Westin is building. Also, the location is wonderful! It is about a 50 minute drive from the airport. Once at the hotel, you are close to Whalers Village and Lahaina for shopping and restaurants.

We have never stayed in the cottages and I wasn't really aware of the Royal Hale area. If you go, make sure you stay in the main tower.

The biggest downside of the Royal Lahaina -- and this is huge for people like us that are traveling as a larger family -- is that as part of the renovations all the connecting room doors were covered over. There are no adjoining rooms! This was unbelievable to me. Yes, the soundproofing was better, but what are they thinking for families?? And, they assured us before we came that we would have no problems with our reservations yet neglected to tell us that there was no way we could have adjoining rooms. This is enough of a problem for us, even though our four children are a lot older now, that I don't know if we'll go back to this hotel. We may have to investigate condos instead. I say this with sadness because we have stayed there so many times that when we arrive we feel like we've come home and we feel so comfortable there.

  • Liked — The location on the island, the beach, and the size of the hotel. Renovations are improving it.
  • Disliked — No adjoining rooms
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank djsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

We stayed at the Royal Kona Resort on the "Big Island" and the Royal Lahaina on Maui. I believe both resorts are operated by the same group. Our other option was to stay at an Embassy Suites for an extra $60 per day.

I would rate this hotel 2.5 stars. We stayed for a week. The first room we were booked into had 3 inches of water in the bathroom from a leak in a ceiling pipe. We were then given an "upgraded romantic" Cottage room. We did not like the fact that there were 3 roachs in the bathtub and a few in the room, but were tired and understood this was a tropical place ... . Over the next few days we noticed that there were rat droppings in our room. We were about to ditch the place and pay for a second hotel during our stay. After a lot of complaining we were moved back to the tower into a decent room. Overall the service was not attentive and did not want to acknowlege any problems.

I would never stay there again. There are too many other good hotels on Maui. When we go again we will probably stay at Kahana Village, which can be a great deal for a family.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty Rooms and Disrespectful staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TravelingRADMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,930 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
0.8 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Property: Royal Lahaina Resort
Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing