We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,821)
Filter reviews
4,821 results
Traveler rating
1,932
1,751
616
298
224
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,932
1,751
616
298
224
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages tower room garden cottage royal scoop pineapple water ocean view black rock our honeymoon whalers village main tower hula dancer breakfast buffet free trolley beach bar kaanapali beach beautiful beach mai tais
Filter
Updating list...
1,484 - 1,489 of 4,821 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

After reading the mixed reviews on TA, I was unsure what to expect. We loved the Royal Lahaina Resort - the location was magic. A beautiful beach and you didn't feel closed in and crowded like we did in Waikiki. We booked a partial ocean view room in the tower and received a complimentary upgrade to an oceanfront room for our first night and then ocean view for the remaining stay. Both rooms were fantastic with good views of the ocean. We saw whales every night from our balcony. The parking spot sizes were fine for parking our mid-size SUV so not sure why there were complaints - we never experienced a problem finding a spot during the peak Christmas break. Happy hour at the beach bar was great each day. We are really pleased we chose Royal Lahaina.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
5  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2016

Aloha. Thank you for the positive review. Great to know you were pleased with your choice of the Royal Lahaina Resort. As you experienced, thousands of humpback whales are now migrating back to the warm waters of Maui, as we enter the peak whale watching season. For the next few months visitors to Maui will enjoy the best whale watching in the world. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

Summary: A vintage property with some cosmetic updates located on a great piece of real estate. Said another way 2.5 star hotel on a 5 star beach.

Our group of 9 adults booked 3 ocean view rooms and one ocean view suite for a 4-night stay during the busy Christmas week. We arrived at the hotel mid afternoon, around 2 and three of the four rooms were ready (promised checkin time is 4 pm) which was helpful. They called me within 30 minutes for the final room. The checkin process was smooth and efficient with Nita at the front desk who was friendly and most helpful.

As for the hotel itself, it is an older property and consists of a 12 story tower set perpendicular to the beautiful Kaanapali beach with balconies. Also there are a number of "cottages" spread across a large grassy area running along the beach. Our room was in one of those. They kindly upgraded us from an ocean view to what they call a "deluxe ocean view" suite. We had two rooms one with a king bed and the other with two queen beds just a few steps from the beach-this was the upstairs of the two story cottage (8146). This room was "updated" with newer beds (quite high off the floor) and carpets and updated bathrooms.

BEST FEATURES of this resort
1. Location-they are located on a great stretch of beach that's not very crowded (even when we visited during Christmas)
2. Some rooms are updated-our suite had a new modern bathroom with marble counter, new fixtures and a big modern shower (8146)
3. Nice restaurant that overlooks the water and a pretty pool- we enjoyed the buffet breakfast
4. Lobby area is updated and nicely furnished

ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT
1. This is an older property and it is easy to find signs of wear and tear- the rooms we had in the tower needed work with a dated tiki motif and some rust and mold in the bathrooms
2. Pool by the pool bar was dark looking (and rather small)
3. Lounge chairs on the large grassy lawn are the old style strap chairs
4. Older rooms-not very sound insulated (we could hear our downstairs neighbors through the floor).
5. PEST CONTROL-found a live cockroach on the bed our first day. Notified the front desk and they came right over and treated the room. Next morning found a couple more dead in the bathroom. Today (3rd morning of our stay)-3 huge mostly dead ones in the bathroom and by the bed. Notified the front desk. They treated again. Today, last day one more big dead one in bathroom (see photo). Perhaps they should consider closing off the 3/4 inch opening under the door.

Check out time is 11 am but you can sign up the night before for a 30 minute slot in a courtesy suite to change if you have one of the common late flights home.

If you want a great beach and are ok with an older hotel at a reasonable price, this place fits the bill.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank JimRiesterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2016

Aloha Jim. Thank you for the feedback. Glad to know you enjoyed the renovated deluxe cottage room that you stayed in. Our tropical island does have its share of pests. To assist we, like most resorts, have regular scheduled professional pest control measures in place and also immediately address individual situations when notified of an issue. I have advised our Engineering Department of the gap you mention under the room door and they are addressing this to prevent further issues. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2016

The beach is very nice, but the hotels can use a small update. The “resort” has one restaurant that closes at 9pm. Our cottage room was next to the delivery gate and therefore it was very noisy all day long (in my opinion, a “resort” should not have rooms close to such a noisy place). The Wi-Fi didn’t work most of the times. The hotel is at a walking distance from a nice snorkeling place (Black Rock) but for anything else you need a car, or wait long times for a shuttle. Hotel personnel was always very helpful. The Luau is very nice, but a tad overpriced in my opinion (just like everything else in Maui). Yes, the pool is small, but who cares? having the Pacific Ocean at 10 footsteps…

Room tip: Cottages are a good option but stay away from the ones close to the entrance (noisy).
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2016

Aloha Juan. Thank you for the review. Happy to know you enjoyed our beautiful beachfront location and the service you received. Many visitors to Maui like to rent cars, as our island has many wonderful beaches, restaurants, historical sites and natural wonders which can be safely and easily enjoyed at a self-guided pace. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

We love this resort...we have stayed there 4 or 5 times over the past 8 years. Wouldn't stay anywhere else on Maui. Best beach front on Kanapali. Never too crowded. Pay for the ocean front view...it's worth every penny.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
5  Thank 253couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2016

Aloha. Thank you for making the Royal Lahaina your resort of choice on Maui. Be sure to check out our hotel website when making reservations, as we will be offering some special added value promotions on our oceanfront rooms and suites in 2016. We will look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2016

Last August we visited the Royal Lahaina Resort to commemorate getting married there 18 years previously. We intended to visit our wedding stone that was created for a pathway. Sadly, it had been removed. In following up on my concern I am very pleased to report that that management of the property has completely made up for my disappointment - making a new stone, identical to the first (I sent a picture) and shipping it to my home in Texas. The email followup and then the attention to detail was incredibly impressive. They were gracious and helpful even when Fed Ex sent the stone back once in error. I am very pleased with the service provided and the willingness to go out of the way to make a former guest very happy. A model for how to make up for an initial problem. The organization is to be commended.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2016

Aloha CT. Thank you very much for the kind review. We were extremely pleased to assist by creating a new wedding stone for you to enjoy and very happy that we have regained your confidence in our resort. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews