We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights at the end of June,3 nights in a garden cottage and 2 nights in an Ocean View cottage. The cottages we the same internally, just the view and location different.
The hotel is 50 years old and it feels it, but the cottages are large and clean and the location on Ka'napali Beach is outstanding. We didn't see the interior of the hotel rooms to compare, but it was really convenient to step out of the cottage and be only a short walk to the beach. Some of the cottages have already been renovated and they are still working on others. We did request one of those, but wasn't lucky enough to get one. Again, we didn't see inside one to compare.
The beach is sensational, lovely to walk along and swim in. This side of Ka'napali Beach is much quieter than the beach on the other side of the point, outside the Sheraton and beyond.
The restaurant / bar is good, although there is only the one servicing the entire hotel. Happy Hour all afternoon with reasonably priced beer at $4 and Mai Tai's for $5. The food is good, all very large serves and quite tasty, but the service here was a bit hit and miss.
The gift shop on site is very reasonably priced and stocks a limited variety of snacks, soft drinks and alcohol, plus all of the usual souvenirs.
There is a free shuttle several times each hour from morning to night that will take you to the Whalers Village shopping area. This area is generally quite busy, but there is a good variety of shops and beach-front restaurants to visit there plus a larger ABC store to stock up on the necessities.
There is also a shuttle that will take you to the Outlets of Maui ($2 each way). It departs once per hour during the day until 10pm. Even if you are not interested in going to shop at the outlets (which were great value), you should take this shuttle as it drops you off right next to Old Lahaina Town. This is a lovely old town which is well worth exploring with lots of cute little shops, galleries and restaurants along Front St to visit.
Lastly, book an afternoon flight out of Maui if possible. Ka'anapali is 45 min from the airport.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Royal Lahaina.

Room Tip: A cottage is spacious and not too far from the beach. Ask for a renovated cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Aloha. Thank you for the positive review. Glad to read that you enjoyed the resort. Many guests find that our location on the north side of Black Rock provides a perfect balance with its quiet and peaceful ambiance which is separated from but in close proximity to the busier shopping and dining facilities at Kaanapali's Whalers Village. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,514
    1,404
    509
    261
    195
See reviews for
725
2,037
87
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (955)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I recently got married on Maui and used the Royal Lahaina as the main hotel for all of our guests. We had over 50 guests who stayed in this hotel over the last weekend in July, and virtually all of them were very happy with the accommodations (including my high-maintenance NY friends who were considering going to the Ritz Carlton in Kapalua). My wife and I had also stayed here last October when we were scouting locations for our wedding. We really like the Royal Lahaina and don't hesitate to recommend it.

The Good:
Uncrowded, local feel. This hotel is probably as close to a “boutique” atmosphere as any hotel in Kaanapali comes. The hotel isn’t trying to be high luxury, but it is very comfortable and feels like Hawaii. The common areas and all the tower rooms were recently renovated – they look great. The hotel sprawls over a lot of land, with many of the rooms in the “cottages” scattered about the property. It probably has the lowest guest/land ratio of any hotel in Kaanapali.

Excellent Beach. This hotel sits on an excellent stretch of Kaanapali Beach, just north of Black Rock. The stretch of beach is especially long, due to the golf course between this hotel and the Sheraton to the south. The beach is never crowded, which is a nice change from all the hotels south of Black Rock. There’s also good snorkeling off of Black Rock from this beach. In our opinion, this is probably the best stretch of beach in Kaanapali.

Excellent Value. You get a lot more bang for your buck here than at the other Kaanapali resorts. The quality of the rooms and the excellent views are really good for the prices charged. There’s no resort fee, which is a good benefit. We got a group rate for our wedding, which was especially good.

Good Service. Nearly everyone in the hotel is super friendly – especially the doormen. The doormen and front desk team were especially helpful with distributing gift bags to all of our guests. Service can be a real problem in Hawaiian hotels (though Maui isn’t nearly as bad as Oahu), so I applaud this hotel for being so friendly.

The Bad:
The Food. We advised all of our wedding guests to skip the hotel’s breakfast buffet, which we think is pretty sad. Luckily, there’s an ice cream shop near the lobby that also serves coffee and basic breakfast items, which most people used. Also, my 81-year-old grandpa also vocally complained that his fish and chips at the restaurant was the absolute worst fish he’s ever had. I ordered room service one morning, which was pretty good. Also, there’s plenty of other great restaurants in the area, so this isn’t that big of an issue.

The Good to Know:
There’s a big difference between the tower rooms and the cottage rooms. Very few of the cottage rooms are renovated, so expect older, more basic furnishings and finishes in the cottages. We had some guests who started out in the cottages but decided to upgrade to the tower. On the flip side, we had some other guests who started out in the tower and decided to move down to the cottages because they preferred the feel and ease of walking through the gardens directly to the beach. The variety of rooms ended up being a really good benefit for the diversity of our wedding group.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nelsonjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Aloha. Thank you for the detailed review and 5-star rating. The ladies in our Romance Center love assisting couples in making their special day perfect. In many cases this involves finding a location which can accommodate a wide variety of desires and needs for family and friends who are joining the celebration. The Royal Lahaina has a large selection of accommodation options, from cottage guestrooms and family suites with kitchens to deluxe guestrooms and luxury suites in our Tower building, making it an "excellent base" for wedding and multi-generational groups. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We went here for our honeymoon. It was a fantastic experience all around!

Pros:
- Convenient location - close to downtown Lahaina and other shopping plazas
- Right on the beach (about 50 yards away)
- Affordable price for such a quality experience
- Very clean and well-decorated rooms (with dark wood, not tacky Hawaiian decor)
- Bar and restaurant were classy and delicious but not over-priced
- 2 pools - both were just a few steps from the beach
- Both the bar and restaurant have ocean views (amazing sunsets!)
- We had a package deal that included 2 mai tai cocktails per day
- View from our balcony room was spectacular - could see mountains, ocean, garden, and golf course
- Staff were friendly and professional
- Grounds and general maintenance was very satisfactory
- Small gift shop on site (with essential trip items you may forget!)
- Luau on site (didn't attend but heard good things)
- Luau performers did a sunset dance by the pool/bar during dinner one night
- Onsite event rooms available for rental (didn't rent but they looked nice)

When we researched this resort we saw some comments about how it's too windy on the beach because of where the resort sits on the island. However, we decided to stay there anyway and had no problem with wind - we didn't notice it at all!

Cons:
- Very nice accommodations but probably not as luxurious as more pricey resorts (such as The Westin or Ritz Carlton)
- Daily parking fee
- No watersport rentals on site
- Somewhat busy in the mornings and evenings as people left and arrived back at the resort

Overall, an excellent stay! We would recommend this resort to anyone and will stay there again when we go back!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a lot of space, request a handicap room if available. We didn't ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheSparahAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Aloha. Thank you for selecting the Royal Lahaina for your honeymoon. Happy to read that you had a fantastic experience and plan on returning. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I celebrated 25 years of marriage here. We were very pleased. The room was great. The view of the ocean was great. The food at the restaurant was very good as well. The staff was friendly. We would come again.

Room Tip: the wifi speeds were slow. We just used our cell phone hotspot instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Aloha Tim. Thank you for selecting the Royal Lahaina to celebrate your 25th anniversary and for the positive review. Happy to hear that you were pleased with the resort. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed for the second time and really enjoyed it despite my last stay being over 2 years ago. The rooms are a good size and well maintained, and the location is great. The beach is beautiful and so close. My only suggestion would be to change up the menu in the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jana430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Aloha Jana. Thank you for returning to the Royal Lahaina on your recent trip. Happy to find that you enjoyed the resort just as much on this second visit. I will be sure to share your feed back about the menu with our Food & Beverage Team. We hope we can welcome you back for a third visit in the very near future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel. Our room was beautifully decorated with wooden shutters and new furnishings. It was immaculate. The breakfast buffet is at the restaurant downstairs is the best I have ever had. Most of the staff have been working for this locally owned hotel for 30 years and the level of service and attention to detail rivals that of a 5 star hotel. After we left Maui, we stayed at a Hilton property on the Big Island, and we couldn't stop talking and comparing our experience at the Royal Lahaina. The luau is amazing, the beach and views spectacular. Thank you, Royal Lahaina for such a perfect experience! We can't wait to return!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaK0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Aloha Donna. Thank you very much for the very kind review. So happy that you had a great experience and plan on returning. We will look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We originally booked one of the cottages, wanting as much ocean as we could get, and based on the recommendation of the phone representative. But when we arrived we found that it wasn't a stand-alone cottage (4 rooms per unit) and it wasn't right on the beach. It was close, but there was a pool in between, and there didn't appear to be a great view. So we switched to a room in the tower and couldn't have been happier. We had a panoramic ocean view, being in the end unit, with a nice balcony overlooking one of the pools. We loved the on-site restaurant - food was good and there was nightly entertainment, including hula dancers and a torch-lighting ceremony. Beach was great! There was shuffle board and bocci ball too. Staff was very efficient and friendly. Our last night there we got to go to a fun cocktail party with free drinks and appetizers. I walked up and down the beach, checking out other hotels, and this one had by far the best views, and was closest to the beach, so big thumbs up.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmj555555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Aloha. Thank you for the review and positive feedback. Glad that we were able to assist you in obtaining the view you desired and that you had a enjoyed the resort. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,888 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Property: Royal Lahaina Resort
Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing