We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Just left the Resort and had a great time, great location, on the beach , good Luau, great base for our trips to Hana, Molikini crater and Lahaina

Staff where excellent and happy hoe from 2pm to 5pm certainly help to relax after day in the sun or adventuring

Tip definitely hire a car

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertfromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Aloha Robert. Thank you for the kind review. Happy to read that you had a great stay and enjoyed the resort. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,555
    1,449
    533
    269
    197
See reviews for
764
2,101
88
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bean Station, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

When we first arrived we were booked for a cottage. OMG...disgusting!!! There was grout missing in the shower, holes in the carpet, cobwebs everywhere. It was nasty!!! I immediately complained, and we were moved into the remodel tower. Once in the tower, it was nice. We were ocean view and had a very comfortable bed, refrigerator, and spacious balcony. It was perfect for our week stay. The room was clean. Staff were not overly friendly, not were they very accommodating to special requests. Parking is horrible here!! We always had to park far away and the spots are tightly packed. It's especially busy during the luau. This place is nice, but I would recommend spending a little extra money and go elsewhere!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BeanStationTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Aloha. Thank you for the feedback. Sorry to read of your disappointment with the cottage rooms, however very happy that we were able to assist in moving you to a tower room and that you were pleased with that accommodation. We have begun a renovation project to upgrade all of our cottage units. At this time three of our 22 cottage buildings are complete and we are working on another building currently. I would advise guests that currently most of the cottage rooms are an older accommodation and are rated as a moderate 3-star accommodation by our travel partners. Many of our guests enjoy the cottage rooms, especially the ambiance offered by the tropical garden setting. Other guests prefer the newer, deluxe 4 star accommodations in our Lahaina Kai Tower. We encourage guests to investigate the many accommodation options available at the Royal Lahaina either on our website or with our reservations specialists, in order to make the most appropriate selection for your holiday. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The ocean front is worth it for the sunset views but if you will be out to eat during that time ocean view is a better option. The beach and surf are great and beach towels are nice. The restaurant is not worth a try so do yourself a favor and go somewhere else. Self parking is free but you'll need some skill to get into the spots that leave, literally inches on each side of your car. To bottom line this hotel it is on a great beach has great views but lacks amenities and could be updated for the price you pay. (Bathrooms need updating and bedding needs upgrading). One last thing, if your looking for internet this isn't the holt for you.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms only lack great sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ezra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Aloha Ezra. Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. Happy to see that you were pleased with our prime Kaanapali location. As you note the oceanfront rooms in our Lahaina Kai Tower offer a great view of Kaanapali Beach and the Islands of Lanai and Molokai. Just as a clarification for others I would like to note that self-parking is not free, there is actually a charge of $10 per day. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed at Royal Lahaina for 5 nights, and had a great time! Our King room was very large, with a good sized bath. The place was built in the early 60's, but just about everything was updated. We stayed on the top floor, 12th., and was very quiet. Great view of the seashore, beach area from our balcony. The room had a small fridge, iron, and board, plus a nice dressing area. We did not eat here, but the food wafting up from the restaurant smelled awfully good! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Aloha. Thank you for the 5 star rating! Glad to read that you enjoyed the resort and found it to be a great vacation value. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno,Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

No review yet , just checked in and was up graded to the 12th floor for a return guest and my husband's 70th birthday. Let this wonderful vacation begin. Dinner tonight at their wonderful restaurant down stairs with the beautiful Hawiian music with a ocean view. Love the Royal Lahaina.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank fishy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Aloha. Happy Birthday to your husband. So happy that you chose to return to the Royal Lahaina to celebrate this special occasion. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This stay was most disappointing. We were not advised of the work being done on the outside of the hotel. We could not be in our room from 10 to 2 Monday through Saturday due to pounding noise. Service in the restaurant is the worst at breakfast time. Can't get coffee. Food is served cold. Only part of the order arrives.
This hotel charges top dollar yet everything is doled out miserably. You have to get a towel card to get a pool towel yet you are limited to 2 per room. When you return your towels, they make you carry them over to the back even though they are just sitting there doing nothing.
I would never return to this property,

Room Tip: Find another property
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seaclusion120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Aloha. Thank you for the feedback on your visit. This is obviously not the type of experience we want for any of our guests and I apologize that we missed the mark in many areas. I will follow up directly with you to review the issues you have outlined and hope that we can regain your confidence. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We were surprised at the standard of the hotel after so many favourable reviews. As they state in their website 'as you enter the understated lobby' we felt the whole thing was understated and uninspiring. We were greeted in the lobby by complaints from other guests of the extra Easter meal charges and greed of the hotel and sighs from staff - what could they do. Not a warm welcome!
Our room was very pleasant and sizeable but tired with peeling paint in the bathroom. Everything was tired, the dining area uninspiring and the pool basic.
If you are looking for a resort holiday, look further, everything is at a charge and uninspiring. We had planned to have our 19 & 20 year old with us but were pleaded they hadn't come as there were few other young people compared to neighbouring less tired resorts.

Room Tip: There is long term building work going on so noisy. South side is better for some sunshine on your b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Aloha Sue. Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit. Glad to read that you found your room to be pleasant, but sorry that overall you were disappointed with the resort. Our resort strives everyday to offer warm, friendly service and great value for money in a world-class setting. We take great interest in all guest feedback, both positive and negative, and anytime we learn that we have been unsuccessful in exceeding our guest's expectations it concerns us. I will be reviewing your feedback with our Management Team and we will continue to strive for continual improvement in our guest satisfaction levels. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Property: Royal Lahaina Resort
Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing