We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever!! (1st time to Maui)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I almost let some of the negative reviews away my decision, but we decided to stay in the Garden Cottages anyway. We were extremely glad we did!!! The Garden Cottages give you sooooooo much more of an. "Island" experience, you get fresh air constantly, you wake up to birds singing right next to your window, and you can sip morning coffee on your own Lanai!!!! We have never slept so good, with all the fresh air!!!! You can stay in a "hotel room" anywhere, but this was truly a unique experience, and felt like our own little place while we were there. It's definitely a more naturalistic experience, but if you don't like "nature", why would you be in Maui anyway??? We already started booking our next trip and intend on staying in the Garden
Cottages again. The staff were so wonderful, anything we needed was provided practically instantaneously. All of the staff was ALWAYS so friendly and so pleasant, just made us feel so welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andreacb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Aloha Andrea. So glad to read that you enjoyed the traditional Hawaiian ambiance of your cottage accommodation and are already planning to return. Especially happy that you were pleased with the service and aloha you received from our staff. We will look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,802 - 1,808 of 4,222 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our room booked 6 months in advance wasn't ready until, wait for it, 9.30 p.m. We were given a $100 credit.
Apart from the lack of $10 per night parking spaces, there are no other cons, from there on it is all uphill, great hotel, extremely helpful staff and for a 8night stay no regrets, close to Kanapali, had dinner there most nights, and local shopping villages. Would stay there again. Draw back, not there fault, local internet provider, Skywave, complicated, frustrating, out of date, in Waikiki, and even Kawuai, such an easy ride

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Annelies F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Aloha. Thank you for the 5-Star rating. Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

we booked an ocean view room but when we got in our room, we were so disappointed. This was the 3rd hotel we have stayed in Hawaii and it was the worst ocean view, all we can see was another buildings roof. After speaking with staff down stairs they offered us another room, and we moved but got another room with no view. When we complained to another staff she said that all the ocean view rooms pretty much have no ocean view unless you get DELUXE ocean view.. if there is no view of the ocean, don't call it the OCEAN VIEW room!! We were unhappy with the result so we emailed the travel agent and straight away the problem was fixed, the manager called us and upgraded us to a deluxe ocean view room the next day.
If you want a view of the ocean I recommend getting the Deluxe.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReynaFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Aloha Reyna. Thank you for the feedback. Sorry that the views offered from the Ocean View rooms that you were originally accommodated in did not meet with your expectations. We have just over 300 guest rooms in our Lahaina Kai Tower, each offering somewhat different views. We have matched, as closely as possible, each room to the descriptive information provided for our 5 designated Tower room categories (Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View, Deluxe Ocean View and Oceanfront). Ocean View rooms are defined as: "rooms located on the 3rd through 12th floors of the 12-story Lahaina Kai Tower with views of the ocean and surrounding areas from inside the guestroom and from the guestroom lanai (patio)". Details on how each category is defined and what guests can anticipate is available on our website. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

10 year anniversary trip, first time to Maui, couldn't have picked a better spot. Located on Kaanapali Beach it is a beautiful location. Upon arrival our room wasn't ready so we were offered a cottage room for one night, $100 voucher and free parking. The cottage is definitely outdated but suited our needs and had patio which we enjoyed. The room we had in the tower 1008 on the 10th floor had a beautiful view, seen many whales and weddings. The room was very nice, modern, beds comfortable, balcony doors open wide. Excellent maid service, anytime we needed something extra it was brought within the hour.
Easy access to walking path which goes behind the resort not through it like all the other resorts. The beach isn't as busy by the Royal Lahaina and the water quite calm. Chairs, umbrellas and anything else you wanted were available for rental for an extra fee. The pools were clean and refreshing and plenty of lounge chairs available.
Front desk service was excellent, we received many helpful tips from Jasper and Mel. We had the buffet breakfast every morning, it provided everything you could want but didn't change from day to day. Waiters/waitresses in restaurant seemed very busy or stressed but friendly.
Coffee shop/ice cream had a variety of sandwiches/salads, snacks.
Any problem we had was promptly dealt with and compensated for.
The beach side bar has a long happy hour 2-6. Because it was our anniversary we were given a free 6X8 picture and option for more pictures taken by the photographer. The pictures turned out amazing.
The only downside to this resort is there is next to none nightly entertainment, the hot tub is across in the tennis court area and the fitness club is only available to those who pay for a class.
We had a wonderful trip and would recommend this resort to anyone although not much to do for the kids entertainment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Aloha Valerie. Thank you for having selected Maui and the Royal Lahaina Resort to celebrate your 10th Anniversary. So glad that you had a wonderful trip. I will be sure to share your kind regards to Jasper and Mel. With regard to nightly entertainment I would like to advise potential guests that every evening we have live music acts performing complimentary at two fdifferent oceanfront locations. By our Beach Bar local professional musicians perform lite acoustic rock and at our Terrace Lounge a solo singer/guitarist performs island/Hawaiian music accompanied by a beautiful Hula Dancer. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My first time to Maui and the Royal Lahaina Resort was heaven on earth. We checked in late because of a 3 hour delay on our flight, when we got there our rooms were not ready but apologies were abundant along with a $100.00 goodwill credit which we used in the restaurant while we waited. The Resort is clean, the staff are friendly, the food in the restaurant is some of the best we had on the Island. The always available, complimentary, ice cold pineapple water in the lobby is a nice touch. Our ocean view rooms were fabulous, we sat on the lanai and watched the Humpback whales play, the patio doors were heavy enough to block the sound of the ocean if that is what you want, but really who would want to? The beach out front of the resort is beautiful, sandy, no rock and extends long beyond the resort. The beach is never packed with people, leaving a person lots of personal space. The reasons I rated this a 4 out of 5, instead of a 5 out of 5 would be that the elevators were always slow, and packed with people, due to the fact that 1 out of the 3 was always broke down, and the other reason would be the lack of wifi in the rooms. With wifi only being available in the lobby it caused a lot of extra congestion of people, and ultimately I am sure added to the extra elevator use. Would I stay here again? In a heartbeat!!!!

Room Tip: Of course the direct ocean view rooms would be the best, but they are pricey, we stayed on the north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Aloha Susan. Thank you very much for the feedback on your recent visit. Glad that you and your family had a great visit to Maui and loved the resort. Sorry for the trouble with the elevators. One of the three elevators in our Lahaina Kai Tower had a mechanical issue and was out of service as we have been waiting for parts to arrive from the mainland. We will be implementing a new free in-room wifi service within the next couple of weeks. We hope you will return soon. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I had the worst flight experience ever getting here. From the moment I walked into the Royal Lahaina it all went away. The staff are incredible and will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. We had room 6022 in the tower and the view was nothing short of spectacular. We saw whales every morning, walked along the perfect sand beach and just unwound. Everyone couldn't do enough for us, they were wonderful. My wife and I have already decided that this is our new winter destination and we won't stay anywhere else but the Royal Lahaina. The beach almost feels private. All the other hotels along the beach were crowded and noisy with people, the Royal Lahaina has a more relaxing feel. Also, I really enjoyed talking Martial Arts with Mel. He took the time out of his day to tell me what was in the area as I fantasized about moving to Maui. I miss it already.

Room Tip: Get a room in the tower, the views are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommyj0428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Aloha Tommy. Thank you very much for the 5-Star rating and favorable review. So happy that you were pleased with the resort and particularly the service that you received and your personal interactions with the staff. I will be sure to pass along your review to Mel. We will look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Maui next winter! Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I was just there last week. This was a present to myself for my 50th birthday this year. My Mom and a friend went with me. We were met without a room to stay in and poor customer service. I will spare you all the details, but let's just say the staff was unfriendly. We felt we were to be on their schedule when we needed things. I understand that it was Valentine's week and the hotel was very busy, but we rarely received a smile from staff or friendly tone when they spoke to us. It took us 2 hours and 3 phone calls to get a working coffee pot - it took 45 minutes for our coffee pot to make 2 cups of coffee. We constantly had to request a third set of towels, cups, etc. I am extremely disappointed in the overall service we received there and especially the way they spoke to my Mom. I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL/RESORT TO ANYONE.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Aloha Melanie. Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry to read that you were displeased with your experience. The management and staff here at the Royal Lahaina enjoy helping guests feel welcomed to Maui and try our very best to provide quality service with a true spirit of Aloha. Anytime we receive feedback that this was not achieved we are concerned and I will contact you directly to try and gain some additional information about what occurred during your visit. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,335 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $236 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing