We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Nice place. On a golf course. Good price. Located pretty centrally. Close to good snorkeling. Decent little happy hour as we'll.

Considering prices of all hotels around it, it is pretty well priced. Had an enjoyable time

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J-rod1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Aloha. Thank you for the positive review. Glad to read that you had an enjoyable time and found the Royal Lahaina Resort to be a good value. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,541
    1,436
    523
    268
    195
See reviews for
747
2,085
88
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A bit of a late review...we stayed there December 2012 with our extended family. It was a great hotel. We had an oceanfront room and it was incredible. Worth the extra money. The entire front of the room was glass patio doors that you could open. There was nothing better than opening everything up and having your morning coffee right from your room. The rooms in the towers were very nice and you could tell that they had been recently updated. The cottages were also nice but in need for some updating. We ate quite a few meals at the restaurant in the hotel and absolutely no complaints. Staff were friendly and helpful. The beach was incredible and wasn't too busy at any time. Also you are in walking distance from Whaler's Village a great place to go shopping. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Tower rooms were renovated and updated and are very nice, rather than the cottage rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Aloha Chris. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback from your Dec. 2012 stay. Appreciate the great review and glad to read that you were pleased with the resort and would definitely return. We hope we can welcome you back soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We booked a garden cottage room but when we arrived they said they were full but we could stay in one of their towers. The room obviously had not been updated since the 1970's. we were very tired so stayed anyway. They still charged us $255 ( the price of the garden cottages.) the room was more like you would get in a $69 hotel. Would not recommend staying there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Aloha Bob. Thank you for the review. On behalf of the resort I apologize for the error with your reservation. I will follow up with you directly to review this situation and make proper amends for the relocation you experienced. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Had a good stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort, Ka'anapali beach was stunning and right on our doorstep.. Great snorkelling and swimming and whales

This stay was good and bad

The good

The room was nice, good size and we had a partial see view, we were in the tower which seems to have been modernised, the tower is 90 degrees to the ocean and so most rooms can see some of the ocean from the balcony, however we never saw the sun as we were on the front side

We saw whales from our balcony - fantastic

And the bad

No wi fi in our room, due to weak signal and in this day and age we shouldn't have to pay extra

Almost every evening there was no parking near the hotel but we still have to pay $10 every night for the privilege of a long walk

Checkout was very very slow due to all the tour parties who seemed to get preferential check out, due to the long wait we almost missed our flight

Overall would recommend mainly for the location, it's very expensive for what you get, but I guess most hotels in this area are

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ascot_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Aloha. Thank you for the feedback. Glad to hear that you had a good stay and enjoyed our location. As mentioned in another response we are adjusting our wifi service in March, at which time we will have a free in-room wifi option available for guests. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I was here 2 years ago in the end of April in 2012.. so this is a tad bit late of a review. Don't mind the "when did you travel spot as I couldn't select 2012. Beautiful location! Plus when I arrived this guy next to us didn't want his room location so they upgraded us from the cottages to a partial ocean view room in the tower. That was lucky! The room was lovely. no complaints there. I really loved the local man that would come in to the lobby each day selling some gorgeous hand carved earrings and totems. A tad pricey but I believe it was worth it since I knew they were hand made and not made in china or something. Short walk to the beach through the back entrance of the lobby. I loved the location since it was pretty closed to everything. Short 10 minute walk to Whalers Village with a beautiful view of the beach to your right the whole walk. Alot of shops in Whalers village to choose from when shopping/dining. And we took the bus to Lahaina which was only 2 bucks each way. not bad. I would not recommend renting a car here since things are so close together unless you want to explore the whole island. But after taking a day tour around the whole island, Hana Highway is very dangerous to trek alone on. Very narrow road that mostly fits one car with steep drop offs on the sides. I wouldn't advise it unless you're fearless. But taking a tour bus that drives it everyday was well worth it. I cannot recall his name but he was awesome. I learned so much about Hawaiian history because of him. And I saw so much more of the island that way. I also took a zipline tour with I believe the company was Skyline Eco Adventures. Our guides Ryan and Kent were amazing! love you guys! I would definitely recommend them. So fun. Overall wonderful stay at our hotel. Great service. No complaints or concerns at all. I just didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Our room was really nice. Partial view of the ocean to the left with a view of the below cement entr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamers475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Aloha. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback and information from your 2012 trip. Glad to read that you were pleased with the resort and Maui and we hope that you will come back again. Many visitors chose to sight-see on their own, which is wonderful, as Maui is a very safe exotic destination. As you mention, sometimes local experts can really enhance the sight-seeing experience with their insightful history and knowledge that otherwise you would miss. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Before we booked the Royal Lahaina Resort, I reviewed the comments about the cottages versus the remodeled tower. I understood that the cottages were dated, but didn't realize that they were also poorly maintained both inside and outside. Even the maintenance man told me that "these rooms should have been remodeled 20 years ago". If you do not mind peeling paint, ripped and filthy carpeting, musty and damp indoor air, cracked tiles in the bathroom, damaged wood inside and outside your room, and a very loud "window" AC unit-then the room is OK. On a positive note, the room was large and a very close walk to the beach. However, there are lounge chairs open to other guests less than 10 feet from your lanai and therefore no privacy after about 8 am.
Maid service was very spotty. One day only a only a few bath towels were left-no hand towels, face clothes, etc.- several calls to housekeeping to get this fixed. One day trash and debris just outside our door all day-had to call to get it removed. The bed was OK if you don't mind thin sheets that barely fit the bed.
Fortunately, we did not spend that much time in the room, but it would be nice to have enough hot water for a shower or not have to listen the a rattling AC unit all night (no windows for cross ventilation as there are no windows facing the ocean).

Room Tip: Stay away from the cottages!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Aloha Ron. I am sorry to learn that you were displeased with our cottage accommodations. Although these units are older and are considered a moderate level accommodation, many guests enjoy these units. It sounds as if you were in an oceanfront cottage room, where the lanai's (patio's) face towards our oceanfront lawn and cottage pool. The oceanfront lawn is an area that many guests utilize and enjoy during the daytime hours, so as you mention other guests are visible from the lanai's of these units. I apologize about the Housekeeping issues you mentioned. I will follow up with our Housekeeping Manager and our Housekeeping Team regarding this. Our Lahaina Kai Tower offers renovated, deluxe level accommodation choices. Photographs and descriptions of all available room types can be found on our website and we encourage guests to review the various options available and select that which is most appropriate for their stay. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My wife and I recently concluded our 5th stay in 3 years at the Royal Lahaina Resort. We have thoroughly enjoyed each visit, and will definitely return. Having personally explored the other options along the Ka’anapali beachfront, we feel it’s simply the best overall, particularly in terms of retaining a uniquely Hawaiian flavor. Some of the other nearby hotels are more opulent, but feel much like they were simply transplanted from San Diego. The Royal Lahaina is also able to claim a true beach front location. Our more recent stay in January provided for spectacular whale and dolphin watching right from the lanai. Bring binoculars! The beach itself is routinely calmer than its extension south of an outcropping called Black Rock. Black Rock and the adjoining golf course create a secluded beach setting, one that never feels overcrowded. The beach fronting the hotel is void of coral reef, making swimming safer. Coral locations for excellent snorkeling are just minutes either direction. The resort has various beach items available for rent (umbrella, chairs, snorkels, etc.), though you’ll need to go to other nearby locations to rent stand-on-top paddle boards. The on-site luau is top notch.

The oceanfront and ocean view rooms we have had in the main tower are in excellent condition and afford excellent views. Our family has occupied various rooms in the main tower, as well as one of the many “cottages.” Each was wonderful. Some of the cottages are in need of updating, which is an activity well under way at the resort. The beach walk extends both directions along the beach, including easy walking distance to nearby Whaler’s Village. A free trolley also runs between the resort and Whaler’s Village.

We can’t say enough good about the Royal Lahaina Resort!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BolDert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Aloha. Thank you so much for the positive review and for making the Royal Lahaina your resort of choice on Maui. Appreciate the great description of the Hawaiian flavor of resort. What you have described is exactly what we aim to provide for our guests. We will look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.8 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Property: Royal Lahaina Resort
Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing